Last updated: July 13, 2026 · By White Metal Resources Editorial
Quick answer: 401(k) Gold Group is a Beverly Hills precious-metals dealer registered as 401(k) Gold Group, Inc. The company self-reports a 2012 founding date, and the earliest Wayback Machine capture of 401kgoldgroup.com dates to January 2013.
The distinctive pricing claim is a flat 5 percent markup over the company's own metal cost. The site publishes that number on the homepage, the Gold IRAs page and the Silver IRAs page.
The product shelf is gold and silver only. There is no dedicated platinum or palladium page in the public site navigation as of July 2026. A saver hoping for a four-metal IRA has to go elsewhere.
Short on time? The essentials
- Legal entity: 401(k) Gold Group, Inc., per the footer copyright on every page of 401kgoldgroup.com (checked July 2026).
- Registered headquarters listed on the Contact Us page: 9107 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 450, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 (checked July 2026).
- Publicly listed toll-free phone: (800) 637-7886. Business hours: Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., closed weekends and holidays (source: 401kgoldgroup.com/contact-us, checked July 2026).
- Founded 2012 per the company's own "Since 2012" tagline; the first Wayback Machine snapshot of the domain is dated January 26, 2013, which is consistent with a 2012 build-out (source: web.archive.org CDX for 401kgoldgroup.com, checked July 2026).
- Metals price markup, disclosed on the homepage and About page: "Flat 5% over our cost" on IRS-approved coins and bars (checked July 2026).
- Rollover timeline stated on the site: 4 to 6 weeks from paperwork to funded IRA account (source: 401kgoldgroup.com home and silver-iras pages, checked July 2026).
- IRA metals offered publicly: gold and silver only. Platinum and palladium do not appear anywhere in the site navigation or product pages.
- Additional product line: a Gold-Backed Solo 401(k), aimed at self-employed savers who move an existing plan into a self-directed vehicle (source: 401kgoldgroup.com/gold-solo-401k, checked July 2026).
- Self-reported customer volume: "15,000+ Clients Since 2012," repeated across the homepage and every product page. That number is a marketing claim from the company, not an audited figure.
- Custodian and depository: named only as "an IRS-approved custodian" and "an insured depository account in your name." No custodian brand and no depository brand appear on the public site.
- Fee schedule beyond the 5 percent metals markup: no setup fee, annual custodian fee, annual storage fee, wire fee or termination fee is published anywhere on the public site.
- Minimum investment: not published on the site. The disclaimer states "A minimum purchase applies" without a dollar figure. A saver has to call to learn the entry-point number.
- Regulatory record: a U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR full-text search returned zero filings for "401(k) Gold Group," and the CFTC press-release feed returned no publicly indexed enforcement action against the company (both checked July 2026).
What follows is an independent review, not a promotion. Every claim about 401(k) Gold Group here is tied to a live-checked URL. Sources are the company's own public site, the Wayback Machine, the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR system and the Commodity Futures Trading Commission press-release feed. Where the company does not publish a number, the answer here is "not publicly disclosed" so a saver knows what to press on before signing a transfer form.
The “5 percent over cost” pricing wedge and what it does and does not tell you
Most dealers in the sector do not publish the markup on the coins they sell. 401(k) Gold Group does. The homepage, the Gold IRAs page and the Silver IRAs page all carry the same line: "Gold and Silver IRAs at 5% over our cost. Since 2012" (source: 401kgoldgroup.com home, gold-iras and silver-iras pages, checked July 2026).
That is a strong disclosure by industry standards. A saver can walk into the first specialist call already knowing the ceiling on the dealer's take from the metal side of the transaction. That single number sets an anchor for the conversation.
The 5 percent line does not, by itself, price the whole account. It applies to the metals purchase only. It says nothing about the setup fee for the self-directed IRA, the annual custodian fee, the annual depository storage fee, the wire fee on the initial funding transfer or the termination fee on an eventual account closeout.
Read the number this way. On a $100,000 metal purchase, the 5 percent line caps the dealer spread at $5,000. That is the disclosed piece. The undisclosed pieces (custodian, storage, wire, termination) still need a written schedule before the account is priced against a competing dealer.
What 401(k) Gold Group actually sells: a two-metal product shelf
The primary navigation on 401kgoldgroup.com surfaces four product entry points: "Gold Solo 401(k)," "Gold IRAs," "Silver IRAs" and a general "IRAs" page. Every one of those four is built around gold or silver (source: 401kgoldgroup.com main navigation, checked July 2026).
There is no dedicated Platinum IRA page. There is no dedicated Palladium IRA page. Neither metal is named in the site menu, the homepage body or the About Us page. The About Us page lists three specific coin lines under "Eligible Coins": the 1 oz. American Gold Buffalo, the 1 oz. American Silver Eagle and the 1 oz. American Gold Eagle. All three are gold or silver.
That product-shelf choice is meaningful for a saver whose research led them here from a white-metals query. A firm that names its own brand after the 401(k) rollover source is not necessarily built around a diversified four-metal shelf. In this case, the branding is accurate: the shelf is gold-first with silver alongside, and the other two IRS-eligible metals are not offered on the public site.
The chart below is the count in one glance. Public product pages by metal, from the same site navigation, checked July 2026.

Can you roll your account into a precious metals IRA? Eligibility checker
Most retirement money can move into a precious metals IRA once it is an eligible rollover distribution. Pick your account and situation for a general answer. Always confirm the specifics with your plan administrator or custodian.
General guidance only, not tax or financial advice. Eligibility depends on your specific plan document and IRS rules; confirm with your plan administrator and a tax advisor. A direct trustee-to-trustee transfer avoids the 60-day rule and 20% withholding.
How this company handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs
This section is where a white-metals audience needs the clearest answer, so it is worth spelling out one metal at a time.
Silver
Silver has a dedicated Silver IRAs page in the main navigation of 401kgoldgroup.com. The page uses the same 5 percent over cost pricing frame, the same four-step rollover flow and the same "IRS-approved custodian" and "insured depository" language used for the gold pipeline (source: 401kgoldgroup.com/silver-iras, checked July 2026).
The About Us page names the 1 oz. American Silver Eagle as one of three "Eligible Coins" featured on the site. That is a mainstream IRA-eligible silver coin that meets the 99.9 percent fineness minimum written into 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m) (source: Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408).
A saver looking to open a Silver IRA through this firm gets a real product page, a stated pricing model on the metal and a named coin example. What the site does not itemize is the full silver catalog: the exact list of every IRA-eligible silver coin and bar the company will source. Ask for that written list before you fund.
Platinum
There is no dedicated Platinum IRA page on 401kgoldgroup.com as of the July 2026 check. Platinum is not named in the main navigation, is not featured on the About Us "Eligible Coins" list and is not discussed on the homepage. A saver who wants a platinum IRA has to raise the topic on the first specialist call to find out whether the firm will source the metal at all.
The federal minimum fineness for platinum in an IRA is 99.95 percent, per 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m). Any platinum coin or bar the firm might quote would need to clear that bar. The written record on the site does not name a single platinum item at that fineness.
Palladium
Palladium receives the same treatment as platinum on the public site. There is no Palladium IRA page. Palladium is not in the navigation and does not appear on the "Eligible Coins" list. It is not mentioned in the site body copy on the home, About Us, Contact Us, Gold IRAs, Silver IRAs or Gold-Backed Solo 401(k) pages.
A palladium buyer should treat the absence as informative on its own. If the site does not stock or market either of the two white metals beyond silver, the palladium option is not the firm's product-market fit. Palladium IRA catalogs are thin across the entire dealer sector, so this gap is not unique to 401(k) Gold Group. It is still a gap.
401(k) Gold Group's public product shelf on 401kgoldgroup.com covers gold and silver. Platinum and palladium do not appear in the site navigation, in the "Eligible Coins" featured list or in any product-page body copy.
If a Silver IRA is the plan, this firm has a product page, a stated pricing model on the metal and a named coin example. If a Platinum IRA or a Palladium IRA is the plan, a phone call is the only way to learn whether the firm can source the metal, and a written list of eligible items is what you need before funding.
For deeper background on how each white metal behaves inside a retirement account, our silver IRA guide, platinum IRA guide and palladium IRA guide walk through the federal rules and product-line questions.
The Beverly Hills mailing address and what the public site shares about the company
The Contact Us page publishes a Beverly Hills mailing address: 9107 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 450, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 (source: 401kgoldgroup.com/contact-us, checked July 2026). The same page publishes the toll-free line at (800) 637-7886 and business hours of Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., closed weekends and holidays.
Wilshire Boulevard in the 90210 postal code is a stretch of commercial office buildings on the western edge of Beverly Hills. A Suite 450 designation is consistent with a leased executive-office or shared-suite arrangement. Neither the About Us nor the Contact Us page names a specific building tenant or a physical showroom.
Under Legal, the About Us page names the corporate entity as "401(k) Gold Group, Inc." A corporation, not a limited liability company. The footer copyright reads "© 2025. 401(k) Gold Group, Inc. All Rights Reserved" on every page.
What the site does not publish is the identity of a specific officer, president or chief executive officer. There is no About Us team page with named leadership, no biographical block for a founder and no press release naming an executive. Escalation, if needed, routes through the toll-free line and the "info at" contact form, not through a named person on the public record.
The custodian and depository the site does not name
A self-directed precious-metals IRA needs two named counterparties: a non-bank trustee that qualifies as an IRS-approved custodian and a depository facility that qualifies as an IRS-approved storage location. Federal law requires both, per the IRS collectibles issue snapshot.
401(k) Gold Group does not name either counterparty on the public site. The Gold IRAs and Silver IRAs pages say the firm will "coordinate with an IRS-approved custodian to open your self-directed IRA." The Delivery step says the metals are "stored securely in an IRS-approved vault" and are "delivered to an insured depository account in your name" (source: 401kgoldgroup.com/gold-iras and silver-iras pages, checked July 2026).
No custodian brand is named. No depository brand is named. That is a real gap in a sector where the leading dealers publish both partners by name on their FAQ or About pages so a saver can research the counterparty independently before funding.
Ask for both names in writing on the first call. Then run the custodian name through the IRS list of approved non-bank trustees and the depository name against the list of IRS-approved storage facilities used across the sector. If either name is withheld until after the paperwork is signed, treat that as a stop-and-verify moment.
The Gold-Backed Solo 401(k) product line
Most precious-metals dealers stop at the IRA. 401(k) Gold Group also markets a Gold-Backed Solo 401(k), aimed at self-employed savers who want to hold physical metal inside an existing single-participant retirement plan (source: 401kgoldgroup.com/gold-solo-401k, checked July 2026).
The Solo 401(k) page walks through the same four-step flow used for the IRA: consultation call, paperwork, metal purchase at 5 percent over cost and delivery confirmation. The stated timeline is the same 4 to 6 weeks.
Solo 401(k) plans are governed by the same Internal Revenue Code retirement-account rules that apply to other 401(k) plans, plus specific single-participant provisions. Any move from an existing Solo 401(k) into a self-directed vehicle that holds physical metal has to preserve the trustee-to-trustee direct-transfer structure to avoid the tax and penalty consequences that apply to indirect rollovers (source: IRS Publication 590-A).
Two questions to press on with the specialist. Which specific self-directed vehicle receives the funds, and which named custodian holds the paperwork. Both answers are needed before a saver can price the account against a competing quote.
The four-to-six-week rollover timeline and its four steps
The Gold IRAs and Silver IRAs pages each publish the same four-step flow with a stated 4-to-6-week total. Step 1 is the specialist call. Step 2 is the paperwork with the IRS-approved custodian. Step 3 is the metal purchase at 5 percent over the firm's cost, delivered to the insured depository. Step 4 is the delivery confirmation with tracking numbers and ongoing statements (source: 401kgoldgroup.com/gold-iras, checked July 2026).
Four to six weeks is a realistic total for a self-directed IRA rollover in this sector. The main driver of the range is the responsiveness of the losing custodian, which is the existing IRA or 401(k) provider that has to release the funds. That variable is outside any dealer's control.
What the four steps do not spell out is the exact touchpoint sequence during weeks two through five. Ask on the first call how many times a saver signs paperwork, how many confirmations are received before the metal ships and where the account statement first arrives after the depository takes custody.
The published claims 401(k) Gold Group makes on its own homepage
The homepage of 401kgoldgroup.com carries a set of numeric claims that a saver may weigh in the picture. Every one of these lines is self-reported by the company, not an independent audit.
- "15,000+ Clients Trust Us Since 2012." The client-count figure appears on the home, Gold IRAs, Silver IRAs and Gold-Backed Solo 401(k) pages. It is a marketing headline number, not a figure with a public audit trail (source: 401kgoldgroup.com home, checked July 2026).
- "Flat 5% over our cost. No hidden spreads, no 'premium coin' games." This is a positioning line against competitors that steer buyers toward higher-margin numismatic coins. It is meaningful because it commits, in writing, to a specific ceiling on the metal spread. It does not commit to a ceiling on custodian or storage fees, since those are not the dealer's line to set.
- "Always priced below big online dealers." The homepage claims lower delivered pricing on the same metal than "major retail sites like APMEX." That is a testable claim on any given day for any given coin, on a fair comparison basis.
- "No salespeople, no pressure. We don't run call centers, we don't push scripts, and we don't chase you with endless callbacks." This is a sales-model positioning line. It sets a specific expectation about the follow-up experience, which is easy to check on the second and third calls after the first consult.
- "No celebrities, influencers, or politicians." The homepage explicitly disavows the endorsement model used elsewhere in the sector. A saver can verify by looking for any current spokesperson listing on the site (there is none in the July 2026 capture).
Treat the numeric self-reported claims (15,000-plus clients, always priced below APMEX) the way a careful researcher treats any un-audited marketing figure. They set the tone, but they do not replace a written quote priced against a written competing quote.
Federal record: what SEC EDGAR and the CFTC feed return
Two federal record checks set expectations for a physical precious-metals dealer.
SEC EDGAR
A live full-text search of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR system for "401(k) Gold Group" returned zero filings across the entire 2010 through July 2026 window (source: SEC EDGAR full-text search, checked July 2026). That absence is expected. Coin and bar sales for cash or into a self-directed IRA are not securities transactions, so the SEC does not have direct primary authority over a physical bullion dealer.
CFTC
A live search of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission press-release feed returned no publicly indexed enforcement action against 401(k) Gold Group as of July 2026. A public enforcement action against a physical precious-metals dealer would typically surface on the CFTC press-release page under its consumer-protection or anti-fraud banner. Verify at cftc.gov for the most current state.
Both absences are meaningful and limited. They mean there is no publicly indexed federal securities filing or federal commodities enforcement action tied to the company at the time of this review. They do not certify that the company has never been the subject of a private customer complaint, a state consumer-protection action or an internal dispute. The Better Business Bureau page for the company should be part of any due-diligence check alongside these federal record searches.
401(k) Gold Group at a glance
The table below is a factual snapshot of what the company publishes on its own site, checked in July 2026. It does not name a winner. Treat it as a checklist for the first specialist call.
| Criterion | What the public record shows | What to press on with a specialist |
|---|---|---|
| Legal entity | 401(k) Gold Group, Inc., a corporation per site footer copyright | Ask for the exact state of incorporation and the current entity status with that state's Secretary of State. |
| Founded | Self-reported "Since 2012"; first Wayback snapshot dated January 2013 | Confirm the tenure of the specialist you are speaking with, since company age and staff tenure can differ. |
| Headquarters | 9107 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 450, Beverly Hills, CA 90210 per Contact Us | Ask whether Suite 450 is the operating office or a mail-only address for correspondence. |
| Phone | (800) 637-7886, hours Mon through Fri 9 to 5, closed weekends | Confirm the local direct number for the specialist assigned to your account. |
| Named leadership | No individual officer named on the public site | Ask for the name and role of the person who signs the account-opening paperwork. |
| Product line | Gold IRA, Silver IRA, Gold-Backed Solo 401(k), general "IRAs" landing | Ask whether the same specialist handles all four product routes or whether each has a different team. |
| IRA metals offered publicly | Gold and silver only; platinum and palladium not in the site navigation | If a Platinum or Palladium IRA is your goal, ask whether the firm can source and store the metal at all. |
| Featured eligible coins | 1 oz. American Gold Buffalo, 1 oz. American Silver Eagle, 1 oz. American Gold Eagle | Ask for a written list of the full silver-coin and silver-bar catalog available for your IRA. |
| Metals price markup | Flat 5 percent over the firm's cost on IRS-approved coins | Ask for the same 5 percent line in writing on the specific coins the specialist recommends. |
| Setup, custodian, storage, wire, termination fees | Not publicly disclosed | Get every one of these on a written schedule with dollar figures before you fund. |
| Minimum investment | Not publicly disclosed. Disclaimer states "A minimum purchase applies" | Ask the minimum for a Traditional IRA rollover, a Roth IRA rollover and a cash purchase. |
| Custodian | Not named. Site says "an IRS-approved custodian" | Ask for the custodian brand and check its IRS non-bank trustee status independently. |
| Depository | Not named. Site says "an insured depository account in your name" | Ask for the depository brand, its city and its insurance underwriter. |
| Rollover timeline | Stated as 4 to 6 weeks from paperwork to funded account | Ask what typically extends the timeline past 6 weeks, and how the firm handles a slow losing custodian. |
| Buyback | Home page references a "first right to buy back" your metals | Get the exact bid formula in writing: the discount to daily spot, the fees on the buyback and the settlement window. |
| Self-reported client volume | 15,000-plus clients "Since 2012" per home page banner | Read this as a marketing headline, not an audited count; ask what the underlying data source is if it matters to your decision. |
| Sales-model claim | Public site disavows call-center scripts, celebrity endorsements and political framing | Verify by the tone of the second and third calls after the first consult. |
| SEC EDGAR | Zero filings for "401(k) Gold Group" across 2010 through July 2026 | Zero filings is normal for a dealer; the account is governed by dealer contract, not SEC rules. |
| CFTC record | No publicly indexed enforcement action found on the press-release feed | Verify at cftc.gov for any new action posted after the review date. |
Sources: 401kgoldgroup.com home, About Us, Contact Us, Gold IRAs, Silver IRAs and Gold-Backed Solo 401(k) pages, live checked July 2026; Wayback Machine CDX index for the domain; SEC EDGAR full-text search; CFTC press-release feed. Federal rules apply per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Publications 590-A and 590-B.
Running the “5 percent over cost” quote through a fee-drag calculator
401(k) Gold Group publishes only the metals markup. The annual custodian and storage figures are not on the site. The honest way to price the account is to gather the missing lines on the first call, then run the full schedule through the calculator below. Any written quote turns into a ten-year dollar figure in a few seconds.
Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator
Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.
Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.
How to open a precious-metals IRA with 401(k) Gold Group
The mechanics below follow the standard self-directed IRA process used by every compliant precious-metals dealer. The federal rulebook is the same regardless of which firm a saver picks, and 401(k) Gold Group's route sits inside that same seven-step frame.
- Book the consultation. Call 401(k) Gold Group at (800) 637-7886 or complete the website form. Ask the specialist to email a written fee schedule before you agree to open the account.
- Confirm your funding source is eligible to move. Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs, 401(k) plans from former employers, 403(b) plans, 457(b) plans and Thrift Savings Plan balances can typically move to a self-directed IRA (source: IRS Publication 590-A).
- Request every fee line and the custodian and depository names on paper. Get the setup fee, annual custodian fee, annual storage fee (segregated and non-segregated), wire fee, termination fee, the 5 percent metals markup wording on the specific coins recommended, plus the name of the IRS-approved custodian and the depository facility. All on a signed schedule, not a verbal quote.
- Open the self-directed IRA with the named custodian. Once the custodian brand is disclosed, verify it against the IRS non-bank trustee list before signing account paperwork. The custodian, not the dealer, holds legal title to the metal inside the IRA.
- Fund with a direct transfer or a direct rollover. A trustee-to-trustee direct transfer moves the money custodian to custodian and sidesteps both the 60-day deadline and the 20 percent mandatory withholding that apply to indirect rollovers from a qualified plan.
- Choose IRS-approved metals at the federal fineness levels. Gold at 99.5 percent, silver at 99.9 percent, platinum at 99.95 percent and palladium at 99.95 percent per 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m). The public 401(k) Gold Group shelf covers gold and silver only, so this step is a gold-or-silver choice with the firm.
- Have the depository take physical custody. The metal must sit with an IRS-approved depository under the custodian's title, not at your home. Home storage of IRA metal is not allowed under federal law (source: IRS collectibles issue snapshot).
Federal regulators have repeatedly warned about pitches that steer retirement savers toward premium, graded or numismatic coins carrying markups well above their bullion melt value. Common IRA-approved bullion at a fair spread belongs inside a retirement account. If a specialist steers the recommendation toward a heavily marked-up coin as a better IRA holding, request a written melt-value comparison and the exact dealer markup before you agree to buy.
Pros and cons from the public record
What 401(k) Gold Group does visibly well
- Publishes a specific metals markup number, "5 percent over our cost," on the home, Gold IRAs and Silver IRAs pages. Most peers do not name a metals-side spread in writing on the public site.
- Publishes a specific rollover timeline: 4 to 6 weeks from paperwork to funded account, which sets a realistic expectation for a saver comparing dealers on speed.
- Publishes a full Beverly Hills mailing address, a toll-free line and posted business hours on the Contact Us page.
- Names the corporate legal entity clearly ("401(k) Gold Group, Inc.") on the site footer copyright, on the About Us page and on the Legal disclaimer block.
- Offers a Gold-Backed Solo 401(k) product line alongside the standard IRA, which is a route many peers do not build.
- Discloses its sales-model positioning ("no salespeople, no scripts, no chase") in a form that a saver can test by the tone of the second and third calls after the initial consult.
Where the public record leaves gaps
- Does not publish the name of the IRS-approved custodian or the depository facility on any product page. Both counterparty brands should be public before a saver signs paperwork.
- Does not publish a minimum investment figure. The disclaimer only says "A minimum purchase applies." A saver has to call to learn the entry point.
- Does not publish a setup fee, annual custodian fee, annual storage fee, wire fee or termination fee. The 5 percent metals markup is only the dealer-side piece of the total cost.
- Does not offer platinum or palladium in the public product shelf. A four-metal IRA is not the product-market fit for this firm.
- Does not name a specific officer, president or chief executive on the public site. Escalation routes through the toll-free line, not through an identifiable individual.
- Uses homepage language that leans on inflation-fear framing and recent price-move claims. Any specific number in that framing should be treated as marketing tone, not as an audited or predictive figure.
Who this dealer fits, and who it does not
401(k) Gold Group tends to fit a saver whose target metals are gold, silver or both. It fits a saver who values a written ceiling on the metals-side spread and is willing to gather the missing custodian, storage and setup lines on the first call. It also fits a self-employed saver considering a Gold-Backed Solo 401(k), where the firm has a specific product route.
It tends not to fit three types of saver. A saver whose retirement plan calls for a platinum or palladium allocation, since the public product shelf does not cover either metal. A saver who needs the custodian and depository names public before making contact, since the site names neither. A saver who wants the full annual-fee schedule visible on the site before booking a call.
Neither list is a verdict on the firm's quality. Both are a match between what 401(k) Gold Group actually publishes and what different savers need from a dealer. If your priorities push toward a broader white-metals shelf or a fully published schedule, our precious-metals IRA companies roster is the place to compare side by side. Our dealer picking framework lays out the criteria in the order that matters.
When a precious-metals IRA is the wrong move
An honest review has to name the cases where any precious-metals IRA is the wrong choice, not just where a specific dealer is not the right fit. If any of the following describes your situation, slow down and speak with a licensed advisor before comparing dealers.
- You may need the money within the next few years. Gold and silver prices can move sharply over short horizons, and selling means crossing the dealer spread a second time. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B).
- Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual custodian and storage fees, plus the dealer spread, punish small balances the hardest. The same fixed dollar cost is a much larger percentage on a $20,000 account than on a $200,000 account. The fee-drag calculator above is where this matters most.
- You have no broader retirement savings yet. A physical-metal IRA is a supplement to a diversified plan for the next generation of your family, not a stand-alone strategy. A single-asset bet leaves too much of your retirement exposed to one price series.
- You are chasing a guaranteed return. No dealer, no custodian and no depository can predict where metal prices go. A pitch that promises a specific target price or a guaranteed gain fits the pattern federal consumer-protection regulators have acted on in the past.
401(k) Gold Group questions, answered
Is 401(k) Gold Group a legitimate company?
401(k) Gold Group is an operating precious-metals dealer with a live public website at 401kgoldgroup.com. It registers as 401(k) Gold Group, Inc. per the site footer copyright and About Us page. It publishes a Beverly Hills mailing address, a toll-free line and posted business hours on the Contact Us page.
An SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero filings, which is expected for a physical dealer, and a live CFTC press-release search found no publicly indexed enforcement action against the company as of July 2026. Whether the account is the right fit for a saver's situation is a separate question, one for a licensed advisor and a full written quote.
How long has 401(k) Gold Group been in business?
The company's own homepage carries a "Since 2012" tagline. The first Wayback Machine snapshot of the 401kgoldgroup.com domain is dated January 26, 2013. That capture is consistent with a 2012 build-out that first hit the public web in early 2013 (source: web.archive.org CDX for 401kgoldgroup.com, checked July 2026).
Does 401(k) Gold Group offer a Silver IRA?
Yes. Silver IRAs has a dedicated page in the main navigation of 401kgoldgroup.com. The About Us page names the 1 oz. American Silver Eagle among three "Eligible Coins" featured on the site. The 5 percent over cost pricing model, the 4-to-6-week rollover timeline and the "IRS-approved custodian" and "insured depository" language apply to the Silver IRA route the same way they apply to the Gold IRA route.
Does 401(k) Gold Group offer a Platinum IRA?
Not in the public product shelf. There is no dedicated Platinum IRA page in the site navigation, no platinum coin on the "Eligible Coins" featured list and no platinum mention in the About Us or Contact Us page body copy as of July 2026. A saver who wants platinum inside an IRA has to ask whether the firm can source the metal at all on the first specialist call.
Does 401(k) Gold Group offer a Palladium IRA?
Not in the public product shelf. Palladium is not in the site navigation, is not on the "Eligible Coins" featured list and is not mentioned in the site body copy captured on any of the public pages. Palladium IRA catalogs are thin across the entire dealer sector, so the gap here is not unique. It is still a gap for a saver whose plan requires the metal.
What fees does 401(k) Gold Group charge?
The metals-side pricing is a flat 5 percent over the firm's own cost on IRS-approved coins, disclosed on the homepage, the Gold IRAs page and the Silver IRAs page. Every other line (setup fee, annual custodian fee, annual storage fee, wire fee, termination fee) is not published on the public site as of July 2026. Request the full schedule in writing before funding.
What is the minimum investment for a 401(k) Gold Group IRA?
The public site does not publish a dollar minimum. The site-wide disclaimer only reads "A minimum purchase applies." A saver has to call the toll-free line at (800) 637-7886 to learn the specific figure and whether it varies by rollover source (Traditional versus Roth) or by product route (IRA versus Solo 401(k)).
Where does 401(k) Gold Group store IRA metals?
The public site says only that IRA metals sit in an "IRS-approved vault" and are "delivered to an insured depository account in your name." The name of the specific depository is not published on any product page as of July 2026. Federal law requires the metal to sit with an IRS-approved trustee, not at home. Ask the specialist for the depository brand, its city and its insurance underwriter before you fund.
Who is the custodian for a 401(k) Gold Group IRA?
The public site says the firm will "coordinate with an IRS-approved custodian." The custodian brand is not named on any product page as of July 2026. Ask the specialist for the specific non-bank trustee that will hold legal title to the metal, and check it against the IRS list of approved non-bank trustees before signing account paperwork.
Does 401(k) Gold Group have any SEC filings?
A full-text search of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR system returned zero filings for "401(k) Gold Group" across 2010 through July 2026. That is normal for a physical precious-metals dealer. The coin and bar business is regulated primarily by state consumer-protection law and by the Federal Trade Commission, not by the SEC. The absence of SEC filings is not a red flag on its own.
Is there a CFTC enforcement action against 401(k) Gold Group?
A live search of the Commodity Futures Trading Commission press-release feed returned no publicly indexed enforcement action against 401(k) Gold Group as of July 2026. Verify at cftc.gov for any new action posted after the review date.
What is the Gold-Backed Solo 401(k) product?
A Gold-Backed Solo 401(k) is a self-employed retirement plan structured to hold physical gold or silver through a self-directed vehicle. 401(k) Gold Group markets this route on a dedicated page (401kgoldgroup.com/gold-solo-401k). The stated onboarding flow uses the same four steps and the same 4-to-6-week timeline as its IRA product.
Solo 401(k) plans are governed by IRS 401(k) rules plus specific single-participant provisions. A saver rolling from an existing Solo 401(k) into this vehicle needs a trustee-to-trustee direct transfer. That path avoids the tax and penalty consequences that apply to indirect rollovers.
Sources
- 401(k) Gold Group, home page. URL: 401kgoldgroup.com. Checked July 2026. "15,000+ Clients Trust Us Since 2012," "Gold and Silver IRAs at 5% over our cost. Since 2012," toll-free phone (800) 637-7886, four-step rollover with a 4-to-6-week timeline, and the disclaimer that the firm does not provide investment or tax advice.
- 401(k) Gold Group, About Us page. URL: 401kgoldgroup.com/about-us. Checked July 2026. "Flat 5% over our cost. No hidden spreads, no 'premium coin' games," featured "Eligible Coins" list (1 oz. American Gold Buffalo, 1 oz. American Silver Eagle, 1 oz. American Gold Eagle), legal entity 401(k) Gold Group, Inc., and the six-point "We Hit Different" pricing and sales-model manifesto.
- 401(k) Gold Group, Contact Us page. URL: 401kgoldgroup.com/contact-us. Checked July 2026. Beverly Hills mailing address (9107 Wilshire Blvd, Suite 450, Beverly Hills, CA 90210), phone (800) 637-7886, business hours Monday to Friday 9 a.m. to 5 p.m., closed weekends and holidays.
- 401(k) Gold Group, Gold IRAs page. URL: 401kgoldgroup.com/gold-iras. Checked July 2026. The 5 percent over cost pricing, the four-step "How a Gold IRA Rollover Works" flow with a 4-to-6-week timeline, and the "IRS-approved custodian" / "insured depository" storage language.
- 401(k) Gold Group, Silver IRAs page. URL: 401kgoldgroup.com/silver-iras. Checked July 2026. The dedicated Silver IRA page, the four-step rollover flow, the same 5 percent over cost line, the "insured depository account in your name" language and the 4-to-6-week completion window.
- 401(k) Gold Group, Gold-Backed Solo 401(k) page. URL: 401kgoldgroup.com/gold-solo-401k. Checked July 2026. The dedicated Solo 401(k) product-line page, the four-step SDIRA rollover flow and the same 5 percent over cost pricing.
- Internet Archive Wayback Machine, CDX index for 401kgoldgroup.com. URL: web.archive.org/cdx/search/cdx?url=401kgoldgroup.com. Checked July 2026. Earliest snapshot dated January 26, 2013, consistent with the "Since 2012" tagline on the current homepage.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search. Checked July 2026. Zero filings for "401(k) Gold Group" across 2010 through July 2026, consistent with a physical precious-metals dealer.
- U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, press-release feed. Checked July 2026. No publicly indexed enforcement action against 401(k) Gold Group.
- Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. Checked July 2026. Federal fineness minimums for IRA-eligible precious metals: gold 99.5 percent, silver 99.9 percent, platinum 99.95 percent, palladium 99.95 percent.
- IRS, investments in collectibles issue snapshot. Checked July 2026. Home-storage prohibition and the IRS-approved trustee requirement for retirement-account precious metals.
- IRS, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Direct-transfer and direct-rollover mechanics for retirement-account funding.
- IRS, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution penalty rules and Required Minimum Distribution basics.
