American Alternative Assets Review

Last updated on

Quick answer: American Alternative Assets is a small Woodland Hills, California precious-metals dealer. It opened its consumer business in 2020 and earned Better Business Bureau accreditation in December 2021. As of July 2026, it holds an A plus BBB rating on 33 customer reviews. The wedge in its pitch is a single flat 190 dollar annual IRA fee printed on the home page, unusual candor in a sector that usually hides pricing until the phone call.

The line covers storage plus insurance at Delaware Depository. Gold and silver dominate the product menu. Platinum is listed in the FAQ as an eligible metal. Palladium is absent from the site entirely, which itself is a differentiator worth understanding before you fund an account.

Short on time? The essentials

  • Legal name behind the brand: SBR Avery Corp. Inc., corporation registered on 1/6/2016 (source: BBB business profile, checked July 2026). The consumer brand American Alternative Assets began trading in January 2020, per the same profile.
  • Owner named on the BBB profile: Mr. Shanon Davis (Owner). No co-founder is listed. This is a single-principal firm.
  • BBB accreditation dated 12/2/2021 with an A plus rating. 33 customer reviews on the BBB profile at a 4.64 out of 5 average as of July 2026. 2 total complaints filed in the last 3 years, 0 closed in the last 12 months.
  • Headline IRA fee published on the home page: 190 dollars flat annual, described as covering storage and insurance at Delaware Depository. This is the whole fee line the site puts in writing.
  • Depository: Delaware Depository, named on the trust and storage nav item.
  • Custodian: not disclosed by name on the public site. The FAQ says the metal is held by an IRS approved custodian selected by the customer, without naming a specific trust company.
  • Setup fee, wire fee, dealer spread on coins, and account termination fee: none of these are printed on the public site. Ask for each in writing before you fund an account.
  • Minimum investment: no minimum is disclosed anywhere on the public site or the FAQ.
  • Metals in scope per the FAQ answer on Precious Metals IRAs: gold, silver, and or platinum. Palladium is not mentioned on the site as of July 2026, which sets AAA apart from peers that carry all four IRS eligible metals.
  • Third party accreditation claimed: A plus by the BBB and membership in the National Ethics Association. Verify each on the parent organization site before you sign paperwork.
  • SEC EDGAR full text search returned zero filings for American Alternative Assets and zero for SBR Avery Corp as of July 2026. That is expected for a physical precious-metals dealer, not a red flag on its own.
  • Marketing angle: the owner, Shanon Davis, appears in podcast and video interviews on the home page. The company positions itself as a values driven family firm rather than a large brokerage.

This review works from two sources only. The first is what American Alternative Assets prints on its own website, quoted directly and dated. The second is the neutral public record: the Better Business Bureau profile, SEC EDGAR, and the federal rulebook that governs every self-directed IRA. Where the site is silent, we say so plainly.

The one number American Alternative Assets prints on the home page

Most precious-metals dealers save every dollar figure for the specialist call. American Alternative Assets does the opposite on one specific line. On the home page, under the storage section, the site lists a headline IRA charge in plain type: "Flat annual fee: $190 (includes storage + insurance)."

That is the anchor number that shapes the rest of the review. It is a single flat charge, printed on a page any prospect can read before dialing the phone number. It is also the only IRA cost figure the site makes visible. Setup fees, wire fees, dealer spread on the coin or bar, and account termination fees are not listed anywhere on the public site as of July 2026.

The flat 190 dollar line is worth taking seriously as a positive signal. It is also worth reading correctly. A flat fee is not the same as a total fee. The rest of this review works through what the number covers, what it does not, and where the gaps live.

The flat 190 dollar fee, and what it does not include

The exact wording on the home page reads: "IRA Storage (Secure Depository): Stored in IRS-approved, fully insured facilities. Flat annual fee: $190 (includes storage + insurance)." Two things are attached to that number, and several things are not.

Included, per the plain wording: annual storage at an IRS approved depository and the insurance line on the vaulted coins and bars. The company names the Delaware Depository under its Trust and Storage nav, so the reader can reasonably tie the flat 190 dollar line to that vault. Also included in the site's list of no cost account services: custodian coordination, account setup, IRA transfers and rollovers, asset valuation, RMD support, IRS compliance and reporting, and beneficiary designation guidance.

Not included, or simply not disclosed on the public site: several cost lines every prospect should ask about. A setup fee if any exists. The wire fee attached to funding the account. The dealer spread between the wholesale coin price and the price you actually pay. The account termination fee if you close the IRA. Any storage upcharge if you request segregated instead of commingled storage at Delaware Depository.

Ask for these in writing

Before you fund an account, ask a specialist to name four numbers on paper. The setup fee, if any. The wire or ACH fee. The dealer spread as a percentage above spot on the specific coin recommended. The segregated storage upcharge, if that option exists. A flat 190 dollar advertised line is a good start. It is not the whole picture.

The FAQ answer on Precious Metals IRAs adds one more layer. It states that "the physical metals you purchase for your IRA must be held by an IRS-approved custodian responsible for administering your IRA." The word "custodian" appears more than once, but the site never names a specific trust company as its default custodian. That is a real gap, because peers like American Bullion and Noble both name their custodian in writing.

Who runs the firm: Shanon Davis and SBR Avery Corp

Two BBB fields make the identity picture clearer than the marketing pages. The "Business Management" and "Principal Contacts" lines both list a single name: Mr. Shanon Davis, Owner. There is no co-founder disclosed on the BBB profile. This is a single principal firm rather than a partnership.

The BBB "Alternate Names" field also names the underlying corporation: SBR Avery Corp. Inc. The corporation was incorporated on 1/6/2016, per the same profile. The consumer brand American Alternative Assets started operating on 1/1/2020, and the BBB file was opened on 12/2/2021 when accreditation was granted. Read together, these dates say the underlying corporation is older than the retail brand.

The home page reinforces the single principal story in soft form. Shanon Davis appears in three separate podcast and video segments linked from the media section: the Victor Davis Hanson Show, a Cyrus Janssen interview on China's gold reserves, and a segment on Just the News No Noise. The dealer is positioned around the owner's public voice, more than around a large sales team.

None of that is a positive or negative signal on its own. It is context that changes the shape of due diligence. Ask which specialist will be assigned to your account, how long that person has worked with SBR Avery Corp, and what happens to your account if that person leaves the firm.

Public record: BBB accreditation, reviews, and complaints

The BBB profile at bbb.org for American Alternative Assets carries four separate data points that are worth reading together.

The accreditation and rating line reads BBB Accredited Business, A plus rated, accredited since 12/2/2021. That is more than four years of continuous accreditation as of July 2026. The rating is what the BBB algorithm produces from complaint volume, response quality, and business practices. It is not a customer satisfaction score.

The customer reviews line reads 4.64 out of 5 stars on a sample of 33 reviews. The sample size is small compared with peers that show hundreds of BBB reviews. A 4.64 average on 33 records is a positive signal in absolute terms and a modest signal in statistical terms. Read a spread of the actual review text before drawing conclusions.

The complaints line reads 2 total complaints filed in the last 3 years, 0 complaints closed in the last 12 months. A dealer this size with 2 total complaints in 36 months is at the low end of the industry range. Verify the current numbers on the live BBB profile before you sign paperwork, since they update on a rolling basis.

The SEC EDGAR full text search returned zero filings for both "American Alternative Assets" and "SBR Avery Corp" as of July 2026 (source: SEC EDGAR full text search, live check July 2026). Zero SEC filings is expected for a physical precious-metals dealer. The industry is regulated primarily by state consumer protection law and the Federal Trade Commission rather than by the SEC.

How this company handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs

The white metals question does more to differentiate this dealer than any other single answer on the site. AAA is not a full four metal shop. It is a gold and silver shop first, a platinum shop by mention, and not a palladium shop at all as of July 2026.

Silver

Silver is a first class product on the site. There is a dedicated Silver IRA page. The nav lists Gold IRA and Silver IRA under the IRAs menu as equals. The Silver IRA page positions silver as a diversifier tied to industrial demand and mine supply, and it describes the same transfer and rollover mechanics that apply to any IRA. Specific silver coins and bars stocked, and their spread above spot, are not listed on the public page.

Platinum

Platinum appears in one place: the FAQ answer on Precious Metals IRAs. That answer reads "A Precious Metals IRA allows you to own physical, tangible gold, silver, and/or platinum." Platinum is therefore in scope as an eligible metal. There is no dedicated Platinum IRA page in the nav or the sitemap.

Which platinum coins and bars are stocked, and their IRA eligibility under the .9995 federal fineness rule, are not disclosed. If platinum is a meaningful part of your intended allocation, treat it as a specialist call topic rather than a website topic.

Palladium

Palladium is not mentioned on the American Alternative Assets home page, the FAQ answer, the Silver IRA page, the Gold IRA page, or the About page as of July 2026. The site's own scope statement on Precious Metals IRAs names only gold, silver, and or platinum. If palladium is a part of your intended IRA mix, this dealer is likely not the right fit today. Ask directly whether palladium coins can be sourced on request before you fund an account.

If white metals matter to your account

American Alternative Assets is a comfortable choice for a gold and silver IRA. It is a partial fit for a platinum tilted portfolio, since platinum is named in the FAQ but has no dedicated product page. It is a poor fit for any palladium exposure.

Federal fineness rules are set by 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m): silver at .999 or better, platinum and palladium at .9995 or better. See our silver IRA guide, platinum IRA guide, and palladium IRA guide for how each metal behaves inside a self-directed IRA.

Storage: Delaware Depository, and the missing custodian name

American Alternative Assets names Delaware Depository under its Trust and Storage nav item and mentions it in the same section on the home page that carries the flat 190 dollar fee. Delaware Depository is one of the two dominant IRA vault operators in the country and is IRS approved as a nonbank trustee under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(n).

The vault choice is a positive signal. The 190 dollar all in line on storage is another. The gap is the custodian name. Under federal rules, the trustee that holds legal title to your metal and files the annual tax paperwork is not the same entity as the vault. AAA does not name that trustee on the public site.

Peers in this sector typically publish the custodian on the FAQ or the About page. Equity Trust, STRATA, GoldStar, and Kingdom Trust are the four names that recur across the industry. Ask which of these, or any other IRS approved trust company, will hold your account, before the paperwork is drafted.

American Alternative Assets at a glance

The table below is a snapshot of what the company publishes on its own site and what the BBB profile confirms, checked in July 2026. It names no winner. Treat it as the opening checklist for your first written exchange with a specialist.

American Alternative Assets public disclosures, July 2026
CriterionWhat the record saysWhat to press on in writing
Legal corporationSBR Avery Corp. Inc., incorporated 1/6/2016 (source: BBB profile)Ask which entity signs the customer agreement and the storage authorization.
Consumer brand startAmerican Alternative Assets began business on 1/1/2020 (source: BBB profile)Confirm the current staff count and how long the assigned specialist has been with the firm.
OwnerMr. Shanon Davis, Owner (source: BBB Business Management field)Ask which specialist will be your day to day contact.
BBB accreditationAccredited since 12/2/2021, A plus rating (source: bbb.org profile)Confirm the current letter rating in a live browser before you sign.
BBB customer reviews4.64 out of 5 on 33 reviews as of July 2026 (source: bbb.org profile)Read a spread of both five star and one star reviews on bbb.org.
BBB complaints2 total complaints in the last 3 years, 0 closed in the last 12 months (source: bbb.org profile)Ask the specialist how open items are escalated inside the firm.
Headline IRA fee"Flat annual fee: $190 (includes storage + insurance)" on the home pageAsk for a full written schedule that includes setup, wire, dealer spread, and termination charges.
DepositoryDelaware Depository, named on the Trust and Storage nav itemConfirm whether the 190 dollar line is commingled or segregated storage.
CustodianNot named on the public site. The FAQ refers to "an IRS-approved custodian" without a specific trust company.Ask which trust company will hold legal title to your metal before paperwork is drafted.
Minimum investmentNot disclosed on the site or FAQAsk for the minimum in writing at your target balance size.
Gold IRADedicated Gold IRA page, real editorial contentAsk which gold coins and bars are IRA eligible and their spread above spot.
Silver IRADedicated Silver IRA page, real editorial contentAsk which silver bullion coins are stocked and their spread above spot.
Platinum IRANamed in the FAQ answer only, no dedicated pageConfirm whether platinum products are stocked today and which ones qualify at .9995 fine.
Palladium IRANot mentioned anywhere on the public site as of July 2026Ask whether palladium is available on request or not at all.
Home delivery promoHome page: "Qualified orders come with a complimentary secure home safe."Ask how "qualified" is defined and which safe model is included.
Buy back policyHome page: "no pressure, no penalties" buy back assurance on liquidationAsk whether the buy back price is bid at spot or bid at a stated markdown.
Third party accreditation claimsA plus BBB and National Ethics Association membership stated on the About pageVerify each membership on the parent organization's site.
SEC EDGARZero filings under both "American Alternative Assets" and "SBR Avery Corp" (source: SEC EDGAR)Expected for a physical dealer. Not a red flag on its own.
Risk disclosureHome page: "American Alternative Assets does not provide investment, legal, tax, or retirement advice"Read the full disclosure and understand you are dealing with a merchant, not a fiduciary.
You may also like:  Is a Platinum IRA a Good Idea: What to Weigh First

Sources: americanalternativeassets.com home page, gold IRA page, silver IRA page, FAQ page, and about page; and the American Alternative Assets Better Business Bureau profile, all live-checked July 2026. Federal rules apply per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Publication 590-B.

What a flat 190 dollar line costs against different balances

A flat fee behaves very differently across balance sizes. The same 190 dollar line lands as almost 2 percent of a 10,000 dollar account and less than one tenth of one percent of a 250,000 dollar account. The chart below plots that ratio across five balance sizes using only the number the site publishes.

Bar chart showing the American Alternative Assets flat 190 dollar annual IRA storage fee as a percentage of five retirement balances: 1.90 percent on a 10,000 dollar balance, 0.76 percent at 25,000 dollars, 0.38 percent at 50,000 dollars, 0.19 percent at 100,000 dollars, and 0.076 percent at 250,000 dollars.
American Alternative Assets publishes a flat 190 dollar annual fee that covers storage plus insurance at Delaware Depository. The same dollar amount lands as very different percentages of the account depending on size. Source: americanalternativeassets.com home page, live check July 2026.

The calculator below lets you feed your own balance and any fee schedule you get in writing. It does not touch the dealer spread on the coin, which sits on top of any storage figure.

Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator

Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.

Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

Pros and cons drawn from the public record

What American Alternative Assets does visibly well

  • Publishes one real dollar figure on the home page: a flat 190 dollar annual line for storage plus insurance at Delaware Depository. That is more transparency than most peers show on the public site.
  • Holds a BBB A plus rating with continuous accreditation since 12/2/2021 and a low complaint volume for the sector: 2 total in three years, 0 closed in the last 12 months.
  • Names Delaware Depository, one of the two industry standard IRA vaults, as the storage partner.
  • Provides a Silver IRA product on the same nav footing as Gold IRA. Silver is not treated as a footnote.
  • Owner identity is public. Shanon Davis is named on the BBB profile as owner and appears on the site in podcast and video interviews under his own name.
  • The site lists a range of no cost account services: custodian coordination, setup and maintenance, rollovers, RMD support, IRS compliance, and beneficiary designation guidance.
  • A buy back assurance line is stated on the home page for liquidation, phrased as "no pressure, no penalties."

Where the public record leaves gaps

  • The custodian, the trust company that legally holds title to the metal, is not named anywhere on the public site as of July 2026. Peers usually name their custodian on the FAQ.
  • Palladium is absent from the entire site. The FAQ answer names only gold, silver, and or platinum. A palladium tilted portfolio does not fit here.
  • Platinum is mentioned once, in the FAQ, but has no dedicated Platinum IRA page and no product list. Confirm today's platinum inventory before you plan any allocation.
  • Setup fee, wire fee, account termination fee, and dealer spread on the coins are not printed anywhere on the public site. Only the 190 dollar storage line is public.
  • No minimum investment is disclosed. Peers usually publish a recommended rollover minimum. AAA does not.
  • BBB customer reviews sample is small at 33 records. The 4.64 out of 5 average reads well but statistically thin. Read the individual review text before drawing conclusions.
  • The company is young in retail terms. American Alternative Assets started operating in January 2020 per the BBB profile, roughly five and a half years of retail track record.
  • The National Ethics Association claim is repeated in marketing copy but is not, in itself, a regulatory badge. Verify the current membership status separately.

Opening a precious-metals IRA through American Alternative Assets

The mechanics below match the standard self-directed IRA process every compliant precious-metals dealer must follow, adapted to what AAA has published on its own site and FAQ.

  1. Request the written information kit. The home page offers a free wealth protection guide and lists a phone line at 888-503-1553. Ask the specialist for a written fee schedule and a written statement of the custodian trust company before any paperwork is drafted.
  2. Confirm your source account is rollover eligible. Traditional, Roth, SEP, and SIMPLE IRAs qualify, along with 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), Thrift Savings Plan, TIAA CREF, pension, and beneficiary IRA balances (source: IRS Publication 590-A).
  3. Get the custodian named in writing. Under federal rules, the trustee that holds legal title to your metal is an IRS approved trust company. AAA does not name the custodian on the public site. Ask which company will be listed on your account agreement.
  4. Open the self-directed IRA with that custodian. The custodian sends the account opening paperwork. Read the fee schedule the custodian publishes, not only the AAA line, before you sign.
  5. Fund by direct transfer or direct rollover. A trustee to trustee direct transfer moves money custodian to custodian and sidesteps both the 60 day deadline and the 20 percent mandatory withholding that apply to indirect rollovers on qualified plan distributions.
  6. Choose IRS approved metals. Gold must be .995 fine or better, silver .999 fine or better, and platinum .9995 fine or better under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m). Favor common bullion coins and approved refiner bars over graded numismatic pieces.
  7. Let Delaware Depository take physical custody. Home storage of IRA metal is not allowed under federal law (source: IRS collectibles issue snapshot). The vault, not your home safe, is where the metal must live for the account to keep IRA tax treatment.
Watch for

If a specialist mentions "premium" coins, "collectible" coins, or graded numismatic pieces as an "IRA upgrade," ask for the melt value comparison and the exact dealer markup in writing. Common IRA eligible bullion sold at a fair spread is what belongs inside a retirement account, not premium coins priced far above spot.

Who this firm fits, and who it does not

American Alternative Assets fits savers who value a single visible fee line on storage and a small firm relationship with a named owner. If a flat 190 dollar annual figure on the home page is a signal that resonates for you, and the account is meant to hold gold and silver, this dealer merits a written quote.

It also fits savers who like content marketing they can independently sample. Shanon Davis's podcast and video appearances are searchable under his own name.

It fits less well for three groups. Anyone who wants palladium as a real product line, because palladium is absent from the entire site. Anyone who needs a large firm with named staff, published team pages, and a public custodian relationship, because AAA does not disclose those. Anyone whose deal analysis leans on a printed setup fee and a printed dealer spread on specific coins, because none of that is on the site.

For those preferences, use our precious-metals IRA companies list and the dealer checklist to compare firms side by side.

Situations where any precious-metals IRA is the wrong move

An honest review has to flag when the whole product category is a poor fit, not only when a single firm is not the right choice. If any of the following describes your situation, slow down and consult a licensed advisor before comparing dealers.

  • You may need the cash within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum, and palladium can move sharply in short periods, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B).
  • Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual fees plus the dealer spread punish small accounts hardest, because the same dollar cost is a much larger percentage of a smaller balance. The chart above shows what a single 190 dollar line does at 10,000 dollars versus at 250,000.
  • You do not have other retirement savings yet. A physical metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base of retirement savings, not in place of one. A diversified plan for the next generation of your family works better than a single asset bet.
  • You are chasing a guaranteed return. Nobody can predict where metal prices will go. Any pitch that promises specific target prices or guaranteed gains is the pattern federal regulators have historically acted on, not an opportunity.

Answers to the questions readers ask most

Is American Alternative Assets a legitimate company?

American Alternative Assets is an operating precious-metals dealer registered with the Better Business Bureau as a Woodland Hills, California gold buyers profile. The underlying corporation, SBR Avery Corp. Inc., was incorporated on 1/6/2016. Consumer trading under the American Alternative Assets brand began on 1/1/2020.

The BBB profile lists an A plus rating, accreditation since 12/2/2021, and 33 customer reviews at 4.64 out of 5 as of July 2026. Whether the account is the right fit for your situation is a separate question, for a licensed advisor rather than a website.

What are American Alternative Assets IRA fees?

The company publishes one dollar figure on the public site. The home page reads: "IRA Storage (Secure Depository): Stored in IRS-approved, fully insured facilities. Flat annual fee: $190 (includes storage + insurance)." That is the only IRA cost printed on the site. Setup fees, wire fees, the dealer spread on the coins, and account termination fees are not disclosed on the public site as of July 2026. Ask for each in writing before you fund an account.

What is the minimum investment for an American Alternative Assets IRA?

No minimum investment is disclosed on the public site or the FAQ as of July 2026. Peers in the sector usually publish a recommended minimum rollover figure that reflects the point where fixed costs stop dominating the account. Ask the specialist for the recommended minimum in writing at your target balance size.

Who owns American Alternative Assets?

The BBB profile lists Mr. Shanon Davis, Owner, on both the Business Management and Principal Contacts lines. No co-founder is disclosed. The underlying corporation is SBR Avery Corp. Inc. Shanon Davis appears in three separate podcast and video interviews linked from the home page, under his own name, positioning the firm around a single principal voice.

Does American Alternative Assets offer a Silver IRA?

Yes. Silver is a first class product on the site. There is a dedicated Silver IRA page and the top nav lists Gold IRA and Silver IRA under the IRAs menu as equals. Specific silver coins and bars stocked, and their spread above spot, are not on the public page. Ask for the silver product list and the spread in writing.

Does American Alternative Assets offer a Platinum IRA?

Platinum is mentioned once, in the FAQ answer on Precious Metals IRAs: "A Precious Metals IRA allows you to own physical, tangible gold, silver, and/or platinum." There is no dedicated Platinum IRA page and no platinum product list on the public site. If platinum is a meaningful part of your allocation, confirm today's stock and IRA eligibility on a specialist call before you fund an account. IRA eligible platinum must be at least .9995 fine under federal rules.

Does American Alternative Assets offer a Palladium IRA?

Palladium is not mentioned on the American Alternative Assets home page, FAQ, Silver IRA page, Gold IRA page, or About page as of July 2026. The FAQ answer on Precious Metals IRAs names only gold, silver, and or platinum. If palladium is part of your intended IRA mix, this dealer is likely not the right fit. Ask directly whether palladium can be sourced on request before you fund an account.

Who is the custodian for an American Alternative Assets IRA?

The FAQ refers to "an IRS-approved custodian responsible for administering your IRA" without naming a specific trust company. The public site does not name a custodian either. Peers in this sector typically name their custodian on the FAQ or About page. Ask which trust company will hold legal title to your metal before the paperwork is drafted.

Where does American Alternative Assets store IRA metals?

Delaware Depository. The vault is named on the Trust and Storage nav item and referenced in the same home page section that lists the flat 190 dollar annual fee. Delaware Depository is IRS approved as a nonbank trustee under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(n). Ask whether the 190 dollar line covers commingled storage, segregated storage, or both.

What is American Alternative Assets BBB rating?

American Alternative Assets is BBB Accredited with an A plus rating, accredited since 12/2/2021. Customer Review Ratings: 4.64 out of 5 stars on 33 reviews. Customer Complaints Summary: 2 total complaints in the last 3 years, 0 complaints closed in the last 12 months. All figures as of the live check in July 2026. Verify the current numbers on the profile before you sign paperwork.

Does American Alternative Assets have SEC filings?

A full text search on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR database returned zero filings for both "American Alternative Assets" and the underlying corporation "SBR Avery Corp" as of July 2026. Zero SEC filings is normal for a physical precious-metals dealer. The coin and bar business is regulated primarily by state consumer protection law and the Federal Trade Commission rather than by the SEC.

What is the National Ethics Association claim about?

The About page states that American Alternative Assets is "A+ Rated by the Better Business Bureau" and holds "accreditation from both the Better Business Bureau and the National Ethics Association." The National Ethics Association is a private trade group rather than a federal or state regulator. Verify the current membership status on the parent organization's site. Do not read it as a regulatory license.

Sources

  1. American Alternative Assets, home page. URL: americanalternativeassets.com. Checked July 2026. Flat 190 dollar annual IRA storage fee wording; Delaware Depository named on Trust and Storage nav; buy back assurance line; free safe home delivery promo; Shanon Davis media interview links; risk disclosure paragraph.
  2. American Alternative Assets, Precious Metal Investment FAQs. URL: americanalternativeassets.com/precious-metal-investment-faqs/. Checked July 2026. "Physical, tangible gold, silver, and/or platinum" scope statement on Precious Metals IRAs; "IRS-approved custodian" wording without a named trust company.
  3. American Alternative Assets, Silver IRA page. URL: americanalternativeassets.com/silver-ira/. Checked July 2026. Dedicated Silver IRA product page and rollover mechanics.
  4. American Alternative Assets, Gold IRA page. URL: americanalternativeassets.com/gold-ira/. Checked July 2026. Dedicated Gold IRA product page.
  5. American Alternative Assets, About page. URL: americanalternativeassets.com/about-us/. Checked July 2026. A plus BBB claim; National Ethics Association claim; positioning as a values driven family firm.
  6. Better Business Bureau, American Alternative Assets business profile. URL: bbb.org/us/ca/woodland-hills/profile/gold-buyers/american-alternative-assets-1216-1532039. Checked July 2026. A plus rating; accredited since 12/2/2021; SBR Avery Corp. Inc. as alternate corporate name; business incorporated 1/6/2016; business started 1/1/2020; owner Mr. Shanon Davis; local BBB of Los Angeles and Silicon Valley; industry classification gold buyers.
  7. Better Business Bureau, American Alternative Assets customer reviews. URL: bbb.org customer reviews tab. Checked July 2026. 4.64 out of 5 stars average on 33 customer reviews.
  8. Better Business Bureau, American Alternative Assets complaints. URL: bbb.org complaints tab. Checked July 2026. 2 total complaints in the last 3 years; 0 complaints closed in the last 12 months.
  9. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full text search. Checked July 2026. Zero filings for "American Alternative Assets" and zero for "SBR Avery Corp."
  10. Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. Checked July 2026. Federal fineness minimums for IRA eligible precious metals under subsection (m); nonbank trustee requirement under subsection (n).
  11. IRS, investments in collectibles issue snapshot. Checked July 2026. Home storage prohibition; IRS approved trustee requirement.
  12. IRS, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Rollover and direct transfer mechanics for eligible source accounts.
  13. IRS, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Early distribution penalty and Required Minimum Distribution rules.
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment