Last updated: July 12, 2026 · By White Metal Resources Editorial
Quick answer: American Bullion is a precious-metals dealer that opened in 2009 and positions itself as the pioneer of the modern Gold IRA rollover. Unlike most peers, the company actually publishes a written custodian fee schedule on its FAQ page, works exclusively with STRATA Trust Company, and ships IRA metal to the Delaware Depository.
All four IRS-eligible metals appear in the site navigation. The palladium product page is the outlier. As of July 2026 the visible page ends in placeholder Lorem ipsum copy. A palladium-heavy portfolio here needs to be confirmed with a specialist before you fund anything.
Short on time? The essentials
- Founding year on the company's own About page: 2009, by former commodity brokers Orkan Ozkan and Nevtan Akcora (source: americanbullion.com/about/, checked July 2026).
- Positioning on the About page: "the pioneer and a trusted leader in adding precious metals to your Individual Retirement Account."
- Custodian used exclusively for IRA accounts, per the company's FAQ page: STRATA Trust Company.
- Three STRATA plans are named with real dollar amounts: Precious Metals IRA at $25 set-up plus $160 annual, Basic IRA at $200 annual, Flex IRA at $275 annual. Annual fees may rise above 100,000 dollars invested or with segregated storage.
- IRA metal storage: Delaware Depository, per the FAQ page. Metal is shipped straight to the vault after purchase.
- Recommended minimum rollover published on the FAQ: $10,000 to make the process worth the fees.
- All four IRS-eligible metals are in the top nav: Gold, Silver, Platinum, Palladium. The Palladium IRA product page still contains placeholder Lorem ipsum text as of July 2026 (source: americanbullion.com/palladium-ira/).
- Industry memberships stated on the About page: United States Mint listed dealer, Royal Canadian Mint Registered Bullion DNA Dealer, ANA member, ICTA member, PCGS and NGC authorized dealer.
- Trustpilot rating widget on the site reads "Excellent," but the live Trustpilot page sits behind an AWS bot challenge. Verify the current score at trustpilot.com/review/americanbullion.com.
- Live BBB profile also sits behind a Cloudflare human-verification challenge. Confirm the current letter rating and complaint count at bbb.org before you sign paperwork.
- Risk Disclosure on the site: "American Bullion and its agents are not registered or licensed by any government agencies, and are not financial advisors or tax advisors."
- SEC EDGAR full-text search returns zero filings for American Bullion the LA dealer as of July 2026. That is expected for a physical precious-metals dealer.
Two guardrails frame this review. The first is what American Bullion publishes on its own website, quoted directly and dated. The second is the neutral public record: SEC EDGAR, the Better Business Bureau, industry membership lists, and the federal rulebook every precious-metals IRA has to obey. If a claim below has no URL behind it, we omit it or flag it as "not publicly disclosed."
What actually stands out about American Bullion
Three specific things separate American Bullion from the pattern seen at most competing dealers, based on the company's own site as of July 2026.
The first is a written fee schedule that is actually posted online. On its FAQ page, the company lists three self-directed IRA plans through STRATA Trust Company with dollar amounts attached: a Precious Metals IRA at "$25 set-up fee. $160 annual account fee," a Basic IRA at "$200 annual account fee," and a Flex IRA at "$275 annual account fee." Most peers force you onto a phone call to see these numbers. American Bullion prints them.
The second is the pioneer positioning. The About page states the company was "founded in 2009 by two veteran precious metals traders" and calls itself "the pioneer and a trusted leader in adding precious metals to your Individual Retirement Account." The founders named in the same paragraph are Orkan Ozkan and Nevtan Akcora, described as former commodity brokers.
The third is exclusivity of infrastructure. The FAQ page names STRATA Trust Company as the custodian for every American Bullion account, and the Delaware Depository as the destination for every IRA purchase. That is unusually specific for a public site, and it means the account paperwork you sign is predictable rather than left to the specialist's choice on the day.
The rest of this review looks at the parts of that pitch that matter for a retirement decision. What the STRATA fee schedule really covers. What the pioneer positioning does and does not tell you. Which metals show up as first-class products and which show up as a page still under construction on the live site.
The STRATA fee schedule, in dollars
American Bullion is the rare dealer that publishes an IRA fee schedule anyone can read on a plain URL. On the FAQ page, the company answers the question "Who is the custodian of my Gold IRA and what are their fees?" with three named STRATA Trust Company plans. Direct quotes below.
- Precious Metals IRA (STRATA). "May only hold precious metals. $25 set-up fee. $160 annual account fee."
- Basic IRA (STRATA). "May hold any combination of precious metals, brokerage accounts, public REITs, public LPs and LLCs, Public Note of Debt Offerings, bank CDs, or other publicly registered or available products. No set-up fee. $200 annual account fee."
- Flex IRA (STRATA). "May hold any combination of precious metals, real estate, trust deeds, mortgages, private stocks, REITs, private LPs or LLCs, Private Note of Debt Offerings, or other alternative investments permitted by SDIRA Services. No set-up fee. $275 annual account fee."
An asterisk applies to every plan. The FAQ page adds: "Annual account fees may vary if the amount invested is above $100,000 or if the metals are stored in a segregated storage facility." Segregated storage costs more than commingled storage at Delaware Depository, and larger balances trigger a different fee bracket. The published number is a floor, not a ceiling.
The chart below shows the three annual fees side by side so the STRATA cost gap is easy to read at a glance.

Two categories of cost are not on the public page. First, the Delaware Depository storage line does not appear on the FAQ, and asterisks confirm segregated storage is priced separately. Second, the dealer spread on the actual coins and bars, the gap between what American Bullion pays wholesale and what you pay retail, is not disclosed for any specific product. Both need to be quoted in writing before you fund the account.
Ask a specialist to name each of the following in writing before you move funds. First, the annual Delaware Depository storage fee for your balance. Second, the segregated-storage upcharge if any. Third, any wire fee or account-termination fee. Fourth, the dealer spread on the recommended coins or bars, expressed as a percentage above spot price.
The recommended $10,000 minimum rollover
The company's FAQ answers the minimum-order question in two parts. On direct order minimums, the answer is a plain yes, and specialists set them by product. On rollovers, the FAQ names a specific figure: "American Bullion recommends a minimum rollover amount of $10,000 to account for any fees associated with the process."
That figure is a suggestion rather than a hard gate. It reflects a real cost problem: fixed annual STRATA fees plus storage add up to hundreds of dollars a year. On a $5,000 balance those fixed costs run above three percent of assets before any metal even moves. The dollar hurdle is honest, not arbitrary.
For a rollover between $10,000 and $50,000, the flat $160 STRATA Precious Metals IRA fee is workable but starts to bite. For rollovers above $100,000, the FAQ asterisk kicks in and the number can change. Ask the specialist to write down the total annual dollar cost for your specific balance before you commit.
How this company handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs
American Bullion is one of the few peers to keep dedicated top-nav pages for all four IRS-eligible metals. Whether every page holds up is the question this section answers, one metal at a time.
Silver IRA
The Silver IRA page is genuine editorial, not a placeholder. It defines the account and names Delaware Depository as storage. It lists rollover-eligible source accounts: Traditional, Roth, SEP, SIMPLE, 401(k), 403(b), 457, TSP, TIAA CREF, and pension. A dedicated silver specialist line is published at 1-800-326-9598.
Featured silver products in the top nav include the American Silver Eagle, Canadian Silver Maple Leaf, Austrian Philharmonic, Proof American Eagle, PAMP Suisse bars, Johnson Matthey bars, and Peace Silver Dollar coins.
Platinum IRA
The Platinum IRA page is also real editorial. It cites the .9995 fineness minimum for IRA-eligible platinum under the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997. It discusses the relationship between platinum and gold prices. Two featured platinum IRA products are named: the American Platinum Eagle and PAMP Suisse platinum bars. Verify with a specialist whether the Canadian Platinum Maple Leaf and Proof American Platinum Eagle are stocked and IRA-approved today.
Palladium IRA
This is where the site falls short of the pioneer positioning. The public Palladium IRA page briefly describes two featured products: the Canadian Palladium Maple Leaf and PAMP Suisse palladium bars. The page then closes with placeholder text lifted straight from a WordPress theme demo: "I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit." That copy is on the live page as of July 2026.
Palladium is a real product line on paper, but the marketing content around it has not been finished on the site. If you plan to build any meaningful part of your account around palladium coins or bars, treat this as a signal to press for extra written confirmation before you fund the account.
American Bullion covers silver and platinum with real editorial and named featured products, which sets it apart from peers that treat white metals as a footnote. Palladium is on the menu but the visible product page still contains Lorem ipsum placeholder copy. A palladium-heavy portfolio here needs written confirmation of available coins, order minimums, and the spread above spot before you sign.
The federal rules do not depend on which dealer you pick. Silver must be at least .999 fine to sit in an IRA. Platinum and palladium must be at least .9995 fine. The American Platinum Eagle and Palladium Eagle qualify under a separate United States coin carve-out (source: 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)). See our silver IRA guide, platinum IRA guide, and palladium IRA guide for how each metal behaves inside a retirement account.
Where the metal is stored: Delaware Depository
Every American Bullion IRA purchase ships straight to the Delaware Depository, according to the FAQ. The company says the vault process, "shipping, logging, and moving the metals into the vault," takes about seven business days after purchase. Delaware Depository is one of the two industry-standard IRA vault operators, alongside Brink's, and it is fully IRS-approved as a nonbank trustee under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(n).
What the site does not spell out is the annual storage fee for your balance, or whether that fee changes when you request segregated storage instead of commingled. Both details sit inside STRATA's storage agreement rather than on American Bullion's public site. Request both dollar figures before you fund an account.
The pre-1933 coin catalog and the numismatic question
The About page lists pre-1933 coins prominently in the product mix: "American Bullion carries all U.S. and European pre-1933 coins, as well as modern gold and silver bullion in the full spectrum of currently available coin and bar products." The company is also an authorized dealer for the Professional Coin Grading Service and Numismatic Guaranty Corporation, the two dominant coin-grading houses.
Pre-1933 coins are generally not IRA-eligible under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m). They belong to the taxable side of the business, sold outside an IRA. Federal regulators have historically warned about pitches to buy "premium," "rare," or graded coins at prices well above their bullion melt value. The spread on numismatics is larger and less visible than on standard bullion.
The mere presence of a pre-1933 catalog does not make American Bullion a numismatic upsell operation. But any conversation about "premium" or "collectible" coins for your IRA needs to end with the specialist confirming, in writing, that the coin meets the federal fineness rule. Confirm too that it is not a graded numismatic piece priced above melt.
Public record: BBB, SEC, and industry memberships
Three separate public sources tell you different things about a precious-metals dealer. Read them in sequence, not in isolation.
The BBB signal
American Bullion is headquartered in California and listed on the Better Business Bureau site as a Los Angeles gold-dealer profile. The live BBB profile sits behind a Cloudflare human-verification challenge, so we could not confirm the current letter rating or complaint count via a scripted fetch this session. Third-party comparison sites frequently cite an A-plus BBB rating. The authoritative source is the bbb.org profile itself. Load it in a real browser before you commit funds.
The SEC EDGAR check
A full-text search on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR database returned zero filings for American Bullion the Los Angeles precious-metals dealer as of July 2026 (source: SEC EDGAR full-text search). The only EDGAR match on the phrase belongs to an unrelated defunct Canadian mining company, "American Bullion Minerals Ltd," last active with a revoked filing in 2010.
Zero SEC filings is normal for a physical precious-metals dealer. The coin and bar business is regulated primarily by state consumer-protection law and the Federal Trade Commission rather than by the SEC. The absence of filings is not a red flag on its own.
The industry membership list
The About page states the company is a United States Mint listed dealer and a Royal Canadian Mint Registered Bullion DNA Dealer. It also claims membership in the American Numismatic Association and the Industry Council for Tangible Assets. It is listed as an authorized dealer of both the Professional Coin Grading Service and the Numismatic Guaranty Corporation.
Each membership is verifiable on the parent organization's site. None of them substitutes for reading the current BBB profile and the STRATA custodial agreement.
Trustpilot and other review widgets
The company site displays a "Trustpilot" widget with the word "Excellent" attached. The live Trustpilot page for americanbullion.com sits behind an AWS bot-check screen, so the current star score and review count could not be confirmed by scripted fetch. Load the page directly at trustpilot.com/review/americanbullion.com in a browser. Read a sample of both the five-star and one-star reviews before you decide.
American Bullion at a glance
The table below is a snapshot of what the company publishes on its own site, checked in July 2026. It names no winner. Use it as a checklist for your first written exchange with a specialist.
| Criterion | What the company publishes on its own site | What to press on with a specialist |
|---|---|---|
| Founding year | 2009, per the About page | Ask for the incorporated legal entity name and the year the first IRA account opened. |
| Founders | Orkan Ozkan and Nevtan Akcora, described as veteran precious-metals traders | Ask which of the two is still active in day-to-day operations. |
| Positioning | "The pioneer and a trusted leader in adding precious metals to your Individual Retirement Account" | Confirm the specialist can supply the 2009 press or founding documentation if you want it. |
| Custodian | STRATA Trust Company, exclusively (published on the FAQ) | Verify STRATA's own current BBB profile and complaint history separately. |
| STRATA Precious Metals IRA fee | "$25 set-up fee. $160 annual account fee." (FAQ) | Ask what the annual figure becomes above 100,000 dollars invested. |
| STRATA Basic IRA fee | "No set-up fee. $200 annual account fee." (FAQ) | Ask whether Basic IRA is worth the extra 40 dollars for the flexibility it adds. |
| STRATA Flex IRA fee | "No set-up fee. $275 annual account fee." (FAQ) | Skip unless you actually plan to hold real estate or private notes in the account. |
| Storage | Delaware Depository, per the FAQ. Roughly seven business days from purchase to vault. | Ask for the annual storage fee for your balance, and the segregated-storage upcharge if any. |
| Recommended minimum rollover | $10,000, per the FAQ | Get the specialist to state the specific total annual cost at your target balance. |
| Silver IRA page | Real editorial content, dedicated specialist phone line | Ask which silver bullion coins are IRA-eligible and their typical spread above spot. |
| Platinum IRA page | Real editorial content, .9995 fineness rule cited | Ask which platinum coins beyond the American Eagle and PAMP Suisse are stocked for IRAs. |
| Palladium IRA page | Placeholder "Lorem ipsum" text present as of July 2026 | Ask for a written product list, order minimums, and spread before funding any palladium position. |
| Numismatic exposure | Pre-1933 coin catalog listed on the About page; PCGS and NGC authorized dealer | Confirm any recommended coin meets federal fineness rules and is not a numismatic upsell. |
| BBB signal | Los Angeles gold-dealer profile exists; live page behind Cloudflare challenge | Verify current rating, accreditation date, and complaint volume directly at bbb.org. |
| SEC EDGAR | Zero filings for the LA dealer, as expected for a physical precious-metals firm | No securities filings means the account sits under dealer contract, not SEC rules. |
| Trustpilot | Widget on the site shows "Excellent"; live Trustpilot page behind AWS bot check | Read the raw five-star and one-star review samples at trustpilot.com yourself. |
| Risk disclosure | "American Bullion and its agents are not registered or licensed by any government agencies, and are not financial advisors or tax advisors." | Read the full disclosure and understand you are buying from a merchant, not a fiduciary. |
Sources: americanbullion.com About, Silver IRA, Platinum IRA, Palladium IRA, FAQ, and home pages, all live-checked July 2026. Federal rules apply per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Publication 590-B.
What annual fees cost over ten years
The STRATA line at $160 or $200 sounds modest until you look at it against a modest IRA over a decade. The calculator below lets you see the cost of any annual fee schedule against your balance, without touching the dealer spread separately.
Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator
Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.
Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.
Pros and cons from the public record
What American Bullion does visibly well
- Publishes a real STRATA fee schedule on the FAQ page. Three plans, three dollar amounts, plus a plain asterisk for what changes above 100,000 dollars invested.
- Names the custodian and the depository up front. STRATA Trust Company and Delaware Depository are on the FAQ page, not hidden until the phone call.
- Publishes the recommended minimum rollover ($10,000) with an honest rationale: fixed fees eat small balances alive.
- Silver and Platinum IRA pages are real editorial content, with the federal fineness rules cited correctly.
- Delivery timing is stated: about seven business days from purchase to vault at Delaware Depository, per the FAQ.
- Founder names and 2009 founding year are on the About page. That is more identity disclosure than several peers publish.
Where the public record leaves gaps
- The Palladium IRA page still contains placeholder Lorem ipsum theme text as of July 2026, undercutting the "pioneer" positioning for anyone who wants a palladium-heavy account.
- The Delaware Depository storage fee for your balance is not on the site. Ask in writing, and ask separately for the segregated-storage upcharge.
- The dealer spread on the coins themselves, the gap between what American Bullion pays wholesale and what you pay retail, is not disclosed for any specific product.
- Pre-1933 numismatic coins are prominent on the About page. Any conversation drifting toward "premium" or graded coins for your IRA needs written pushback.
- Live BBB and Trustpilot pages both sit behind bot-check screens, so the current ratings need a real-browser check before you commit.
- The company's Risk Disclosure states plainly that American Bullion and its agents are not registered or licensed by any government agencies and are not financial or tax advisors. Read the full disclosure before you sign.
How to open a precious-metals IRA with American Bullion
The mechanics below match the standard self-directed IRA process used by every compliant precious-metals dealer, adapted to the STRATA and Delaware Depository infrastructure American Bullion has named on its own FAQ.
- Contact American Bullion for a specialist call. The company publishes a general line at 1-800-465-3472 and a dedicated silver line at 1-800-326-9598. Ask up front for the written STRATA fee schedule for your target balance and the Delaware Depository storage fee.
- Confirm your source account is rollover-eligible. Traditional, Roth, SEP, and SIMPLE IRAs qualify, along with 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), Thrift Savings Plan, TIAA CREF, pension, and beneficiary IRA balances (source: IRS Publication 590-A).
- Choose your STRATA plan. Precious Metals IRA at $160 a year is the cheapest and the right pick if you only want physical metal. Basic and Flex plans add asset flexibility you probably do not need if you came here for a rollover into gold or silver.
- Open the STRATA self-directed IRA. STRATA Trust Company will send account-opening paperwork. STRATA is the IRS-approved trustee that holds legal title to the metal and files your annual tax paperwork, per federal rules.
- Fund via direct transfer or direct rollover. A trustee-to-trustee direct transfer moves the money custodian to custodian and avoids both the 60-day deadline and the 20 percent mandatory withholding that apply to indirect rollovers on qualified-plan distributions.
- Pick IRS-approved metals. Choose gold at .995 fine or better, silver at .999 fine or better, and, if you go that route, platinum or palladium at .9995 fine or better. Favor common bullion coins and approved refiner bars over premium numismatic coins.
- Let Delaware Depository take physical custody. Per the FAQ, the coins or bars ship straight to the vault and the logging step takes about seven business days. Home storage of IRA metal is not allowed under federal law (source: IRS collectibles issue snapshot).
If the specialist steers you toward pre-1933 coins, "premium" bullion at an unstated markup, or graded numismatic pieces as an "IRA upgrade," ask for the melt-value comparison and the exact dealer markup in writing. Common IRA-approved bullion at a fair spread is what belongs inside a retirement account.
Who this dealer fits, and who it does not
American Bullion fits savers who value transparency of infrastructure. If you want to know before the first phone call which custodian will hold the account and which vault will hold the metal, this dealer publishes both names on the FAQ. It also fits savers who want a silver-heavy or platinum-inclusive IRA and are comfortable working through a specialist for the palladium side.
It fits less well for three groups. Anyone who wants palladium as a headline holding right now, because the public palladium page still contains placeholder text. Anyone whose rollover total sits below the recommended $10,000, because the fixed STRATA line becomes a serious percentage drag on very small balances. Anyone who wants the dealer spread on specific coins printed on the public site before a specialist call, because that number is not disclosed for any product.
For those preferences, use our precious-metals IRA companies list and the dealer checklist to compare side by side.
When a precious-metals IRA is the wrong move
An honest review has to name the situations where any precious-metals IRA is the wrong choice, not only where a specific dealer is not the right fit. If any of the following describes you, slow down and consult a licensed advisor before comparing dealers.
- You may need the cash within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum, and palladium can move sharply in short periods, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B).
- Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual fees plus the dealer spread punish small accounts hardest, because the same fixed dollar cost is a much larger percentage of a smaller balance. That is exactly why American Bullion recommends a $10,000 rollover minimum on its own FAQ.
- You have no other retirement savings yet. A physical-metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base of retirement savings, not in place of one. A diversified plan for the next generation of your family works better than a single-asset bet.
- You are chasing a guaranteed return. Nobody can predict where metal prices will go in the future. A pitch that promises guaranteed gains or a specific target price is the pattern federal regulators have acted on in the past, not an opportunity.
American Bullion questions, answered
Is American Bullion a legitimate company?
American Bullion is an operating precious-metals dealer. It publishes a 2009 founding year, two named founders (Orkan Ozkan and Nevtan Akcora), a working phone line at 1-800-465-3472, and a specific custodian and depository on its FAQ page. Its industry memberships include the American Numismatic Association, ICTA, PCGS, and NGC, all verifiable on the parent organizations' sites. Whether the account is the right fit for your situation is a separate question, for a licensed advisor rather than a website.
What are American Bullion’s IRA fees?
The FAQ page lists three STRATA Trust Company plans by dollar amount. The Precious Metals IRA is $25 set-up plus $160 annual. The Basic IRA has no set-up fee and runs $200 a year. The Flex IRA has no set-up fee and runs $275 a year. Fees may vary if your balance goes above $100,000 or you request segregated storage at Delaware Depository. Ask a specialist for the total annual cost including the storage line before you fund the account.
What is the minimum investment for an American Bullion IRA?
The FAQ recommends a rollover of at least $10,000 "to account for any fees associated with the process." That is a suggestion, not a hard gate. On a $10,000 balance the flat STRATA line becomes a meaningful percentage of the account, so ask the specialist to write down the total annual dollar cost at your target balance before you commit.
Does American Bullion offer a Silver IRA?
Silver is a first-class product. The Silver IRA page is real editorial content. A dedicated silver specialist line is published at 1-800-326-9598. Top-nav products include the American Silver Eagle, Canadian Silver Maple Leaf, Austrian Philharmonic, Proof American Eagle, PAMP Suisse and Johnson Matthey bars, and Peace Silver Dollar coins.
Does American Bullion offer a Platinum IRA?
Yes. The Platinum IRA page correctly cites the .9995 fineness rule under the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 and names the American Platinum Eagle and PAMP Suisse platinum bars as featured IRA products. The site's top-nav lists two more platinum items (the Canadian Platinum Maple Leaf and the Proof American Platinum Eagle) as well. Confirm current stock and IRA eligibility on the specialist call.
Does American Bullion offer a Palladium IRA?
The company sells palladium on paper. Palladium sits in the site's top navigation with two featured products, the Canadian Palladium Maple Leaf and PAMP Suisse palladium bars. The Palladium IRA page itself still contains placeholder Lorem ipsum theme text as of July 2026. If you want a meaningful palladium position, ask a specialist for a written product list, order minimums, and the spread above spot before you fund the account.
Who is the custodian for an American Bullion IRA?
American Bullion works exclusively with STRATA Trust Company. The FAQ names STRATA as the trustee that holds legal title to your metal and handles the annual tax paperwork. Verify STRATA's own separate BBB profile and any complaint history before you sign the account paperwork.
Where does American Bullion store IRA metals?
Delaware Depository. The FAQ page states that every IRA purchase ships straight to Delaware Depository and the vault logging step takes about seven business days. Ask the specialist for the annual Delaware Depository storage fee for your balance, and for the segregated-storage upcharge if you want your coins held in a separate, dedicated allocation rather than commingled.
Is American Bullion BBB accredited?
American Bullion maintains a Better Business Bureau profile as a Los Angeles gold-dealer listing. The live BBB page sits behind a Cloudflare human-verification challenge, so we could not confirm the current letter rating or complaint count in this session. Load the profile in a real browser at bbb.org and check both fields before you sign anything.
Does American Bullion have any SEC filings?
A full-text search on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR database returned zero filings for American Bullion the Los Angeles dealer as of July 2026. The only match on the phrase is an unrelated Canadian mining company. Zero SEC filings is normal for a physical precious-metals dealer. The coin and bar business is regulated primarily by state consumer-protection law and the Federal Trade Commission rather than by the SEC.
What does the “pioneer” claim actually mean?
The About page positions American Bullion as "the pioneer and a trusted leader in adding precious metals to your Individual Retirement Account." The company opened in 2009. That is seventeen years after the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 first allowed a broader range of bullion coins inside IRAs.
"Pioneer" is a marketing claim about how the founders framed the rollover process. It is not a claim about being the first firm to sell an IRA-eligible coin. Read it as brand voice, not as regulatory precedence.
Sources
- American Bullion, About page. URL: americanbullion.com/about/. Checked July 2026. 2009 founding year, founders Orkan Ozkan and Nevtan Akcora, "pioneer" positioning, pre-1933 coin catalog reference, and full industry membership list.
- American Bullion, FAQ page. URL: americanbullion.com/faq/. Checked July 2026. STRATA Trust Company as exclusive custodian, three named plan fees ($25 setup plus $160 annual, $200 annual, $275 annual), $10,000 recommended minimum rollover, Delaware Depository as destination, seven-business-day vault logging window.
- American Bullion, Silver IRA page. URL: americanbullion.com/silver-ira/. Checked July 2026. Editorial content, rollover-eligible source accounts, silver specialist line at 1-800-326-9598.
- American Bullion, Platinum IRA page. URL: americanbullion.com/platinum-ira/. Checked July 2026. .9995 fineness rule, Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 citation, featured products (American Platinum Eagle, PAMP Suisse bars).
- American Bullion, Palladium IRA page. URL: americanbullion.com/palladium-ira/. Checked July 2026. Two featured products (Canadian Palladium Maple Leaf, PAMP Suisse bars) plus placeholder Lorem ipsum theme text on the live page.
- American Bullion, home page. URL: americanbullion.com. Checked July 2026. "Since 2009" positioning, general phone line 1-800-465-3472, Trustpilot widget with "Excellent" label.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search. Checked July 2026. Zero filings for the Los Angeles precious-metals dealer; only match is an unrelated Canadian mining company.
- Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. Checked July 2026. Federal fineness minimums for IRA-eligible precious metals and the trustee requirement under subsection (n).
- IRS, investments in collectibles issue snapshot. Checked July 2026. Home-storage prohibition and IRS-approved trustee requirement.
- IRS, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Rollover and direct-transfer mechanics for eligible source accounts.
- IRS, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution penalty and Required Minimum Distribution rules.
- Better Business Bureau, American Bullion profile. URL: bbb.org, Los Angeles gold-dealers listing. Profile sits behind a Cloudflare human-verification challenge; verify directly at bbb.org.
- Trustpilot, American Bullion review page. URL: trustpilot.com/review/americanbullion.com. Page returned an AWS bot-verification screen on our scripted fetch in July 2026. Verify directly in a browser.
