Augusta Precious Metals: A Comprehensive Review

Last updated on

Peter

gold IRA dealer Checklist

Affiliate disclosure: White Metal Resources may earn a commission when you open an account through links on this page. This never changes what you pay or what we write. We are not financial or tax advisors. Consult a licensed advisor before making retirement decisions.

Quick answer: Augusta Precious Metals is a Beverly Hills based dealer that has traded under its current name since 2012. It holds an A plus BBB rating and an AAA Business Consumer Alliance rating. One detail sets it apart for a white-metals reader. Its own gold IRA page prints a real fee range in dollars. Custodian: 75 to 150 dollars a year. Storage at Delaware Depository: 100 to 150 dollars a year (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026).

Two limits shape whether Augusta is the right dealer for you. The recommended opening balance sits at 50,000 dollars, published on the same site. The IRA product menu covers gold and silver only. Platinum and palladium are referenced in generic definitions but do not have a dedicated Augusta IRA product line as of July 2026. If a diversified white-metals portfolio matters, that gap decides most of the question before anything else.

Short on time? The essentials

  • Trading name Augusta Precious Metals, LLC, in use since 2012. Head office at 8484 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 515, Beverly Hills, California 90211. Second office in Casper, Wyoming 82609 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026).
  • A plus rating from the Better Business Bureau and AAA rating from the Business Consumer Alliance, both self-attested on the company's gold IRA page (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026). Verify the current standing on each rating body's site before you fund an account.
  • Chief executive Isaac Nuriani. Director of Education Devlyn Steele, positioned as a career market analyst with more than 30 years in the field (source: augustapreciousmetals.com).
  • Positioning phrase used across the site: Learn, Talk, Decide. Sales staff are described as salaried educators rather than commissioned closers, and Augusta claims a zero customer lawsuit record and 4,000 plus five star reviews on its own materials (source: augustapreciousmetals.com).
  • Recommended opening balance printed on the gold IRA page: 50,000 dollars. This is the threshold Augusta uses to invite you to Devlyn Steele's one on one web conference.
  • Custodian named on the same page: Equity Trust Company, described as the nation's largest self-directed IRA custodian.
  • Storage partner named: Delaware Depository, an IRS approved private vault.
  • Published fee ranges: custodian 75 to 150 dollars a year, storage 100 to 150 dollars a year. The dealer spread on individual coins is not a fixed public number and must be requested in writing.
  • Product menu on the IRA nav: Gold IRA and Silver IRA. Platinum and palladium appear only as generic examples of IRS eligible precious metals, not as their own Augusta product page. This is the single largest limitation for a white-metals reader.
  • Award claim used on the site: named Best Overall Gold IRA Company by Money Magazine every year since 2022 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026).
  • Public federal record: SEC EDGAR full text search returned zero filings for Augusta Precious Metals as of July 2026, and no CFTC press release names the company. Both results are expected for a state regulated coin and bar dealer.
  • White Metal Resources holds an affiliate relationship with Augusta. We disclose this openly and cite only public facts on this page.

This review looks at Augusta Precious Metals for a national reader weighing a self-directed IRA held in silver, gold, or one of the white metals. Every dollar figure and every trust claim below either points at what Augusta itself publishes, checked live in July 2026, or at a public federal record. Where a fact could not be verified this session, we mark it as not disclosed rather than fill the gap.

One thing to be direct about before you read on. Augusta is the one company White Metal Resources holds an affiliate relationship with, and we may earn a commission if you open an account through the links on this page. That relationship has no effect on what we cite or the limits we name. The white-metals limit is the honest starting point of this review, not an afterthought.

Considering Augusta? Start with their free company checklist.

Augusta lets a qualifying reader with 50,000 dollars or more in eligible retirement savings request a free written checklist and a one on one web conference with Director of Education Devlyn Steele before any paperwork begins. That is the on ramp we route serious inquiries through.

Request the Augusta checklist

Partner link. We may earn a commission if you open an account. No cost to you. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult a licensed advisor before any retirement decision.

What makes Augusta unusual in one paragraph

Most precious-metals dealers keep their fee schedule off the public site. Every specific number gets routed through a phone call. Augusta prints the annual custodian range and the annual storage range in dollars on its own gold IRA page (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026).

The disclosure is a range rather than a fixed figure. That does not remove the need to get numbers in writing. It does put a rare stake in the ground.

The rest of the reputation is built around a salaried, non commissioned sales floor and repeated recognition from Money Magazine. The one place the pitch narrows is product breadth. Augusta runs a gold IRA product page and a silver IRA product page. Platinum and palladium are cited only as examples of IRS eligible metals, without a dedicated Augusta product line.

Who runs Augusta Precious Metals

Augusta Precious Metals, LLC has traded under the current brand since 2012 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026). The corporate head office sits at 8484 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 515, in Beverly Hills, California. A second office operates in Casper, Wyoming, at ZIP 82609. Two physical addresses on the public site is more corporate footprint than most dealers in this bracket disclose.

Isaac Nuriani leads the company as chief executive. The public educator behind the site's Learn Talk Decide language is Devlyn Steele. Augusta describes him as a career market analyst with more than 30 years in the field. He has personally guided clients through more than 2 billion dollars of asset decisions (source: augustapreciousmetals.com). Steele runs the free one on one web conference the site offers to qualifying prospects.

Two names on the public site matters for a reader trying to judge the human element of a self-directed IRA account. Most operators in this sector do not put a named educator between the phone rep and the closing paperwork. Augusta does. Whether that education layer is meaningful for you depends on how much time you want to spend before deciding, and on whether your own accountant is already involved.

The fee ranges Augusta prints in dollars

The gold IRA page on augustapreciousmetals.com lists three annual cost lines a customer will face on any self-directed IRA held with the firm. Each line is a range, not a fixed figure, and each range is stated in dollars rather than as a percentage. Below is what the page states, unedited except for formatting.

  • Setup and annual custodian fee, paid to the IRS approved trust company that administers the account. Range printed: 75 to 150 dollars a year.
  • Annual storage fee, paid to the insured private vault where the metal actually sits. Range printed: 100 to 150 dollars a year.
  • Dealer spread, the difference between the wholesale price Augusta pays and the retail price you pay per coin or bar. The dealer spread is not a published fixed number and must be requested in writing on the specific coin the specialist recommends. On its own gold IRA page Augusta warns against spreads above roughly 5 percent, using a 25 percent spread as an example of the kind of mark up the buyer should refuse.

Two things this schedule does and one thing it does not. It anchors an annual number: a typical account lands somewhere between 175 dollars and 300 dollars a year before any coin ever changes hands. It confirms the two vendor names. Custodian points at Equity Trust Company. Storage points at Delaware Depository. Both are named on the same page.

It does not print a specific dealer spread on any specific coin. That number is the single largest lifetime cost of any precious-metals IRA account. Ask for it in writing before you fund an account.

Estimate the drag on your balance

Use the White Metal Resources fee-drag calculator to price Augusta's published range (75 to 150 dollars custodian, 100 to 150 dollars storage) against your own balance and holding period. Print the result before you book the education call.

Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator

Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.

Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

The 50,000 dollar threshold and who it disqualifies

Augusta publishes its recommended opening balance on the gold IRA page as 50,000 dollars. That number is the gate to the one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele and, in practice, the gate to the retail relationship. It is not a hard legal minimum. Federal rules under 26 U.S.C. Section 408 impose no dollar floor on a self-directed IRA. Augusta uses the 50,000 dollar number as an operational cutoff.

The disqualification runs the other way too. If your rollover is smaller than 50,000 dollars, Augusta is likely the wrong fit before you even weigh the product menu. The published storage and custodian range of 175 to 300 dollars a year drags harder on a 20,000 dollar account than on a 100,000 dollar one. Layer the dealer spread on top and the gap widens.

A smaller saver may be better served by a dealer that publishes a lower minimum. Taxable ownership of a small coin allocation outside any IRA structure is another route.

The Learn Talk Decide process, described in plain terms

The Augusta home page describes its sales flow with three verbs: learn, talk, decide. In plain terms, that maps to the following sequence on any inbound inquiry.

  1. You request a free written information kit or the company checklist. The site delivers a PDF summarizing the product, the IRS rules, and the Augusta account structure.
  2. You attend a one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele. Augusta positions this as an education session rather than a pitch, with the specific dealer names, spreads, and coin selections handled on a follow up call.
  3. Once you decide, a specialist walks you through the custodian paperwork with Equity Trust Company and the depository agreement with Delaware Depository, then confirms the coin selection at agreed pricing before the wire is sent.

Augusta describes the sales staff as salaried rather than commissioned. That structural detail matters. A commissioned specialist has a direct dollar incentive to steer you toward the coin with the highest dealer spread. That is often a premium or numismatic piece rather than a straight bullion coin.

Salaried compensation removes that per sale incentive. It does not remove every incentive. The firm as a whole still benefits from larger accounts and larger spreads. Ask for the spread in writing regardless of how the person on the phone is paid.

How Augusta handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs

This is the section that decides most white-metals inquiries at Augusta before any other consideration.

Silver. Augusta runs a dedicated Silver IRA product page on the same nav footing as the Gold IRA page. The silver page cites the same custodian, the same depository, and the same dealer education pitch as the gold page.

IRA eligible silver must be at least .999 fine under federal rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m). Augusta stocks common silver bullion coins and refiner bars against that federal standard. The specific coin list and the spread on any given piece are handled on the specialist call, not printed on the public page.

Platinum. As of July 2026, Augusta does not publish a dedicated Platinum IRA product page. Platinum is referenced on the gold page as one of the IRS eligible metals a precious-metals IRA can hold, using the standard federal language.

There is no Augusta platinum product list, no platinum spread illustration, and no platinum specific rollover walk through. If platinum is part of your intended allocation, ask directly on the specialist call whether platinum can be sourced against your account and at what spread. IRA eligible platinum must be at least .9995 fine under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m).

Palladium. Same story as platinum, with the same rule: Augusta names palladium among the four IRS eligible precious metals in generic educational copy, but no Augusta palladium product page exists. IRA eligible palladium must be at least .9995 fine per federal statute. A portfolio built primarily on the palladium leg of the platinum group metals will need to confirm sourcing and spread on a specialist call before it treats Augusta as a viable dealer.

The honest read is that Augusta is a gold and silver specialist, and its white-metals coverage stops at silver on the public site. That is a genuine feature for a saver who wants to stay inside the most liquid two metals, and a genuine gap for a saver whose thesis rests on platinum or palladium. Neither read is a criticism of the company. Both are a statement of what Augusta publishes and what it does not.

Horizontal bar chart of the IRS-recognized minimum fineness for the four IRA-eligible precious metals, referenced through 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3)(B) via the COMEX contract-market delivery standard. Gold minimum fineness 0.995. Silver minimum fineness 0.999. Platinum minimum fineness 0.9995. Palladium minimum fineness 0.9995.
Minimum fineness required for IRA-eligible bullion under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3)(B), which references the COMEX contract-market delivery standard. Augusta names silver, platinum and palladium in its generic IRS eligibility language on the gold IRA page; only gold and silver have a dedicated Augusta product line as of July 2026. Source: Cornell LII 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Investments in Collectibles issue snapshot, checked July 2026.

Public record: BBB, BCA, SEC, CFTC and the Money Magazine claim

Four sets of public record matter for a review of a state regulated coin and bar dealer. Here is what each shows for Augusta, checked live in July 2026.

Better Business Bureau. The Augusta site displays an A plus BBB rating badge on the home page and on the gold IRA page. The BBB profile itself was not directly reachable during this session because bbb.org returned an anti automation response, so the current complaint count and customer review average are not restated here. Verify the live A plus rating and the current complaint volume on the BBB profile before you sign paperwork.

Business Consumer Alliance. The gold IRA page cites an AAA rating from the Business Consumer Alliance, a private consumer rating body based in Los Angeles (source: augustapreciousmetals.com). Verify the current rating on bcaonline.org before you rely on it. A private rating is a signal, not a regulatory license.

Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR. A full text search on the SEC EDGAR system returned zero results for the phrase Augusta Precious Metals as of July 2026 (source: efts.sec.gov). Zero SEC filings is the expected result for a state regulated physical coin and bar dealer. The SEC oversees securities issuers and registered investment advisers, categories that do not include a straight metals merchant.

Commodity Futures Trading Commission. A search of the CFTC press release database returned no press release naming Augusta Precious Metals as of July 2026 (source: cftc.gov). The CFTC oversees futures and swaps and has historically brought fraud cases against leveraged precious-metals schemes rather than against straight cash and carry coin dealers. No press release means no CFTC enforcement history in the public archive.

Money Magazine claim. Augusta states on its own gold IRA page that it has been named Best Overall Gold IRA Company by Money Magazine every year since 2022 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026).

This is a paid or editorial recognition from a private publication, not a regulatory endorsement. It applies to the gold IRA product rather than to a platinum or palladium product. Read it as a trust signal from one editorial reviewer, not as a substitute for the checklist and spread questions you should still ask.

Augusta at a glance

Augusta Precious Metals at a glance, from the public site, live-checked July 2026
ItemWhat Augusta publishesVerify before you fund
Trading name and yearAugusta Precious Metals, LLC, in use since 2012 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Cross check the LLC filing on the California Secretary of State register.
Head office8484 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 515, Beverly Hills, California 90211 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Confirm the current suite number on the site's contact page.
Second officeCasper, Wyoming 82609 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Ask which office handles your paperwork.
Chief executiveIsaac Nuriani (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Standard corporate leadership confirmation.
Director of EducationDevlyn Steele (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Confirm you are booked with Steele, not a delegated specialist, for the education call.
BBB ratingA plus, self displayed on the home page (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Confirm the live rating and complaint volume on bbb.org.
BCA ratingAAA, self displayed on the gold IRA page (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Confirm the live rating on bcaonline.org.
Custodian namedEquity Trust Company (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Read Equity Trust's own fee schedule at trustetc.com.
Storage namedDelaware Depository (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Confirm segregated versus commingled on the account agreement.
Recommended minimum50,000 dollars (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Confirm the current minimum on your intake call.
Annual custodian fee75 to 150 dollars a year (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Ask for the exact number your custodian will bill on your specific account.
Annual storage fee100 to 150 dollars a year (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Ask whether the number covers commingled or segregated storage.
Dealer spreadNot published as a fixed number on the public siteAsk for the exact spread on the recommended coin in writing.
Silver IRA productYes, dedicated Silver IRA page on the IRA nav (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Ask for the specific silver coins and bars stocked.
Platinum IRA productNot offered as a dedicated Augusta product line as of July 2026Ask whether platinum can be sourced against your account and at what spread.
Palladium IRA productNot offered as a dedicated Augusta product line as of July 2026Ask whether palladium can be sourced against your account and at what spread.
SEC EDGARZero filings for Augusta Precious Metals (source: efts.sec.gov)Expected for a physical dealer. Not a red flag on its own.
CFTC press releasesNo press release names Augusta Precious Metals (source: cftc.gov)Expected for a cash and carry coin dealer. Verify future filings periodically.
Money Magazine claimNamed Best Overall Gold IRA Company every year since 2022 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com)Cross reference the current year's Money coverage before you rely on it.

Sources: augustapreciousmetals.com home, gold IRA, and silver IRA pages; efts.sec.gov full text search; cftc.gov press releases. All live-checked July 2026. Federal rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Publication 590-B.

Fee ranges as a percent of five retirement balances

The dollar range Augusta publishes behaves differently depending on the balance the account holds. At the low end of the schedule, the combined custodian plus storage line is 175 dollars a year. At the high end, it is 300 dollars a year. The chart below plots both figures as a percent of five retirement account balances, so you can see how the fixed dollar range lands in real percentage terms.

Grouped bar chart showing Augusta Precious Metals' published annual custodian plus storage fee range as a percentage of five retirement balances. At $25,000, the low-end 175 dollar fee is 0.70 percent and the high-end 300 dollar fee is 1.20 percent. At $50,000, 0.35 percent low and 0.60 percent high. At $100,000, 0.175 percent low and 0.30 percent high. At $250,000, 0.070 percent low and 0.12 percent high. At $500,000, 0.035 percent low and 0.060 percent high.
Augusta's own gold IRA page prints a custodian fee range of 75 to 150 dollars a year and a storage fee range of 100 to 150 dollars a year. Combined, that is 175 dollars at the low end and 300 dollars at the high end. The same dollar range is a very different percentage depending on account size. Source: augustapreciousmetals.com gold IRA page, live check July 2026.

Two takeaways from the numbers. The published range is close to invisible above a 100,000 dollar balance, even at the high end. Below 50,000 dollars, the same range starts to pull noticeably on the account. That is one operational reason Augusta prints a 50,000 dollar recommended minimum.

Neither figure captures the dealer spread on the coin. That cost sits on top of any storage or custodian line and is the biggest single expense you will pay over the life of the account.

Pros and cons drawn from Augusta’s own public site

What Augusta does visibly well

  • Publishes an actual custodian range and an actual storage range on the public gold IRA page, both in dollars. Rare for the sector, useful even as a range.
  • Names both the custodian and the depository on the same page: Equity Trust Company for custody and Delaware Depository for storage. Both are established, IRS approved counterparties.
  • Runs a dedicated Silver IRA product page with the same navigation weight as the Gold IRA page. Silver is not treated as a footnote.
  • Puts a real educator name on the site. Devlyn Steele is the person who leads the free one on one web conference, and the site describes his background in specific terms.
  • Uses a salaried sales structure and states so publicly. Removes the per sale incentive behind coin upsells at the specialist stage.
  • Warns readers on its own gold IRA page against dealer spreads above roughly 5 percent and cites a 25 percent spread as an example of what to refuse. Not many dealers put that number in writing on their own site.
  • Corporate presence is real. Two office addresses on the public site, one in Beverly Hills and one in Casper.

Where the offer narrows

  • Platinum and palladium do not have their own Augusta product pages as of July 2026. Both metals are named only in generic IRS eligibility language on the gold page.
  • The 50,000 dollar recommended minimum rules out savers with smaller rollovers or contribution based IRAs that have not accumulated that balance.
  • The specific dealer spread on the coin is not printed on the public site. That figure drives the majority of your lifetime cost, and the site keeps it off the page.
  • Trust claims sit primarily on private rating bodies (BBB, BCA) and one private publication award (Money Magazine). None of these are regulatory licenses.
  • The fee lines Augusta publishes are ranges rather than a single flat dollar figure. Useful as a bracket, not a substitute for the fee schedule the custodian will issue in writing.
  • The educator centered process suits a saver who wants a longer intake. A reader who already has an accountant and a plan may find the pacing slower than needed.

Opening a precious-metals IRA through Augusta

The mechanics below match the standard self-directed IRA process every compliant dealer follows, adapted to what Augusta itself publishes on its gold IRA page.

  1. Request the Augusta company checklist. Use the partner link earlier on this page or the phone number Augusta prints on its site. Ask for the free information kit, the written fee schedule, and the confirmation that Devlyn Steele will run your one on one web conference.
  2. Attend the one on one web conference. Bring a written list of questions about spread, storage type, and platinum or palladium sourcing if either is relevant. This is the education session, not the closing call.
  3. Confirm your source account is rollover eligible. Traditional, Roth, SEP, and SIMPLE IRAs qualify, along with 401(k), 403(b), 457(b), Thrift Savings Plan, TIAA CREF, pension, and beneficiary IRA balances (source: IRS Publication 590-A).
  4. Open the self-directed IRA with Equity Trust Company. Augusta routes account opening through Equity Trust. Read the Equity Trust fee schedule at trustetc.com before you sign, not only the Augusta storage line.
  5. Fund by direct transfer or direct rollover. A trustee to trustee direct transfer moves money custodian to custodian. It sidesteps both the 60 day deadline and the 20 percent mandatory withholding that apply to indirect rollovers on qualified plan distributions (source: IRS Publication 590-A).
  6. Choose IRS approved metals. Gold must be .995 fine or better, silver .999 fine or better, and platinum and palladium each .9995 fine or better under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m). Favor common bullion coins and approved refiner bars over graded numismatic pieces.
  7. Let Delaware Depository take physical custody. Home storage of IRA metal is not allowed under federal law (source: IRS Investments in Collectibles issue snapshot). The vault is where the metal must live for the account to keep IRA tax treatment.
  8. Read the written trade confirmation before it is executed. The confirmation shows the specific coin, the quoted spot, the dealer spread as a percent, and the total trade dollar figure. Refuse anything you do not recognize on that page.
Watch for

If a specialist calls a premium or graded numismatic coin an IRA upgrade, ask for the melt value of the same weight of common bullion. The gap between the two is the price you would pay for the premium. Common IRA eligible bullion sold at a fair spread is what belongs inside a retirement account, not premium coins priced far above spot.

Worked example: pricing an Augusta rollover at 100,000 dollars

Who this firm fits, and who it does not

Augusta fits a saver rolling 50,000 dollars or more from an eligible retirement account into a gold or silver IRA. This reader values a longer education intake, a named custodian and depository, and one of the few published fee ranges in the sector. The Beverly Hills head office and the Wyoming secondary office give a real corporate footprint. The salaried sales structure removes the per sale coin upsell incentive at the specialist stage.

It also fits a reader who wants to spend an hour on a real education call before deciding. If your accountant and your advisor are already in the loop, the Learn Talk Decide flow adds structure. If they are not, the flow forces you to acquire structure before you sign.

It fits less well for four groups.

  • A saver whose portfolio thesis rests on platinum or palladium, because neither has a dedicated Augusta product page.
  • A saver whose eligible balance is below 50,000 dollars, because that is the published operational minimum.
  • A saver who wants a single flat dollar fee rather than a range, because Augusta publishes a range, not a fixed line.
  • A saver who wants a specific dealer spread on a specific coin printed on a public page, because that number is delivered only on the specialist call, in writing on request.

For those readers, our precious-metals IRA companies list and the dealer selection checklist compare firms side by side, and the white-metals IRA primer covers the platinum and palladium leg in depth.

Situations where any precious-metals IRA is the wrong move

An honest review has to flag when the whole product category is a poor fit, not only when a single dealer is not the right choice. If any of the following describes your situation, slow down and consult a licensed advisor before comparing dealers at all.

  • You may need the cash within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum, and palladium can move sharply in short periods, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again on the way out. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B). Nobody can predict where metal prices will go over any given holding period.
  • Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual fees plus the dealer spread punish small accounts hardest, because the same dollar cost is a much larger percentage of a smaller balance. The chart above shows what a 175 to 300 dollar range does across five balance sizes.
  • You do not have other retirement savings yet. A physical metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base of retirement savings, not in place of one. A diversified plan for the next generation of your family works better than a single asset bet.
  • You are chasing a guaranteed return. Nobody can predict where metal prices will go. Any pitch that promises specific target prices or guaranteed gains is the pattern federal regulators have historically acted on, not an opportunity.
  • You have not talked to your accountant. A rollover has tax reporting steps that flow through Form 5498 and, if the rollover misses the 60 day deadline, through Form 1099-R as a taxable distribution. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before any dollars move.

Augusta questions readers ask most

Is Augusta Precious Metals a legitimate company?

Yes. Augusta Precious Metals, LLC has traded under that name since 2012. Its head office sits in Beverly Hills and a second office in Casper, Wyoming (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026). The company self displays an A plus BBB rating and an AAA BCA rating on its public pages. Whether the account fits your situation is a separate question, for a licensed advisor rather than a website.

What are Augusta Precious Metals IRA fees?

Augusta publishes three cost lines on its gold IRA page. Custodian: 75 to 150 dollars a year, paid to Equity Trust Company. Storage: 100 to 150 dollars a year, paid to Delaware Depository. Dealer spread on the coin: not published as a fixed public figure, must be requested in writing on the specific coin the specialist recommends (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026).

What is the minimum investment for an Augusta IRA?

Augusta publishes a recommended opening balance of 50,000 dollars on its gold IRA page (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026). It is an operational threshold, not a federal legal minimum. Federal rules under 26 U.S.C. Section 408 impose no dollar floor on a self-directed IRA. Confirm the current recommended minimum on your intake call.

Who owns Augusta Precious Metals?

Augusta Precious Metals, LLC lists Isaac Nuriani as chief executive and Devlyn Steele as Director of Education on its public site (source: augustapreciousmetals.com). Corporate ownership beyond the LLC filing is not disclosed on the site as of July 2026.

Does Augusta Precious Metals offer a Silver IRA?

Yes. Augusta runs a dedicated Silver IRA product page on the IRA nav, on the same footing as the Gold IRA page. Custodian and depository are the same on the silver page as on the gold page. Specific silver coins stocked and their spread are handled on the specialist call, not printed on the public page. IRA eligible silver must be at least .999 fine under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m).

Does Augusta Precious Metals offer a Platinum IRA?

Not as a dedicated product line as of July 2026. Platinum is named on the gold IRA page as an IRS eligible metal, but no Augusta Platinum IRA page exists and no platinum product list is on the public site. If platinum is a meaningful part of your allocation, ask on the specialist call whether platinum can be sourced against your account and at what spread. IRA eligible platinum must be at least .9995 fine under federal rules.

Does Augusta Precious Metals offer a Palladium IRA?

Not as a dedicated product line as of July 2026. Palladium is named on the gold IRA page as an IRS eligible metal in the same generic language as platinum. No Augusta Palladium IRA page exists and no palladium product list is on the public site. If palladium is your intended tilt, ask directly whether it can be sourced against your account before you fund it. IRA eligible palladium must be at least .9995 fine under federal rules.

Who is the custodian for an Augusta IRA?

Equity Trust Company, named on Augusta's own gold IRA page as the trust company that administers the self-directed IRA (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026). Read the Equity Trust fee schedule and account agreement at trustetc.com before you sign, not only the Augusta cost lines.

Where does Augusta store IRA metals?

Delaware Depository, named on Augusta's own gold IRA page as the insured private vault where the metal sits (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026). Delaware Depository qualifies as an IRS approved nonbank trustee under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(n). Ask whether the 100 to 150 dollar storage line covers commingled storage, segregated storage, or both.

What is Augusta Precious Metals’ BBB rating?

The company self displays an A plus BBB rating on its home page and its gold IRA page (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026). The BBB profile itself was not directly reachable during this session because bbb.org returned an anti automation response, so the exact current complaint volume and customer review average are not restated in this review. Verify the live rating and complaint count on the BBB profile before you sign paperwork.

Does Augusta Precious Metals have SEC filings?

No. A full text search on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR database returned zero filings for Augusta Precious Metals as of July 2026 (source: efts.sec.gov). Zero SEC filings is the expected result for a state regulated physical coin and bar dealer, since the SEC oversees securities issuers and registered investment advisers, categories that do not include a straight metals merchant.

Is the Money Magazine claim accurate?

Augusta states on its gold IRA page that Money Magazine has named it Best Overall Gold IRA Company every year since 2022 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, checked July 2026). This is a private publication's editorial recognition, not a regulatory endorsement, and it refers to the gold IRA product rather than to a platinum or palladium product. Cross reference the current year's Money coverage before you rely on it in any allocation decision.

Is Augusta a good fit for a white-metals investor?

It depends on which white metal. For silver, yes: Augusta runs a dedicated Silver IRA page and treats silver on the same nav footing as gold. For platinum and palladium, less well: neither has a dedicated Augusta product page as of July 2026, and both are referenced only in generic IRS eligibility language. A portfolio built primarily on platinum or palladium should confirm sourcing and spread on a specialist call before treating Augusta as the primary dealer.

Can I hold platinum with Augusta if I ask?

Ask directly on the intake call. Augusta's public site does not answer that question, so the honest answer here is that the sourcing depends on what a specialist can arrange for your specific account. Get any custom sourcing agreement in writing before you fund the account, including the exact platinum coin or bar, its fineness, and the specific dealer spread.

If Augusta is your shortlist, this is the free next step.

Augusta's free company checklist and one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele is the on ramp we route qualifying inquiries through. It runs before any paperwork, before any spread quote, and before any wire is discussed. The 50,000 dollar recommended balance is the threshold.

Get the Augusta company checklist

Partner link. We may earn a commission if you open an account. No cost to you. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult a licensed advisor before any retirement decision.

Sources

  1. Augusta Precious Metals, gold IRA product page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com/gold-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Cited for the founded 2012 wording, the 8484 Wilshire Boulevard and Casper, Wyoming addresses, and the Isaac Nuriani plus Devlyn Steele leadership names. Also the source for the Learn Talk Decide positioning, the salaried non commissioned sales floor language, the 50,000 dollar recommended minimum, the Equity Trust Company custodian, the Delaware Depository storage, and the 75 to 150 dollar custodian range. Same page for the 100 to 150 dollar storage range and the 5 percent spread reference. The 25 percent spread refuse example, the A plus BBB claim, and the AAA BCA claim are also on the same URL. Same page cites the Named Best Overall Gold IRA Company by Money Magazine every year since 2022 wording.
  2. Augusta Precious Metals, silver IRA product page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com/silver-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Dedicated Silver IRA product page confirmation; same custodian and depository as the gold page.
  3. Augusta Precious Metals, home page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com. Live-checked July 2026. A plus BBB rating badge; Trustpilot review widget; general company positioning language.
  4. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full text search. URL: efts.sec.gov full text search for Augusta Precious Metals. Live-checked July 2026. Zero filings returned.
  5. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, press release search. URL: cftc.gov press releases search. Live-checked July 2026. No press release names Augusta Precious Metals.
  6. Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. URL: law.cornell.edu 26 USC 408. Checked July 2026. Federal IRA fineness minimums under subsection (m) and the nonbank trustee framework under subsection (n).
  7. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. URL: irs.gov Publication 590-A. Checked July 2026. Rollover and direct transfer mechanics, 60 day rule, mandatory 20 percent withholding on qualified plan distributions.
  8. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. URL: irs.gov Publication 590-B. Checked July 2026. Early distribution 10 percent additional tax and Required Minimum Distribution rules.
  9. Internal Revenue Service, Investments in Collectibles issue snapshot. URL: irs.gov collectibles issue snapshot. Checked July 2026. Home storage prohibition; IRS approved trustee requirement.
  10. Better Business Bureau, business ratings framework. URL: bbb.org grade overview. Checked July 2026. Interpretive framework for the A plus letter rating on the Augusta profile.
  11. Business Consumer Alliance, ratings framework. URL: bcaonline.org how we are different. Checked July 2026. Interpretive framework for the AAA rating cited on the Augusta gold IRA page.
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment