Affiliate disclosure: White Metal Resources holds an affiliate relationship with Augusta Precious Metals and may earn a commission when you open an account through the Augusta links on this page. We hold no affiliate relationship with Birch Gold Group. This never changes what you pay or what we write. We are not financial or tax advisors. Consult a licensed advisor before making retirement decisions.
Last updated: July 30, 2026 · By White Metal Resources Editorial
Quick answer: Augusta Precious Metals prints an annual custodian range of 75 to 150 dollars and a storage range of 100 to 150 dollars on its gold IRA page, and names Equity Trust and Delaware Depository. Birch Gold Group offers four metals (gold, silver, platinum, palladium) at a lower reported 10,000 dollar minimum, names five depositories including Delaware Depository, and does not publish a written fee schedule (both firms live-checked July 2026).
Short on time? The essentials
- Both firms are California based precious-metals dealers. Augusta operates from Beverly Hills with a second office in Casper, Wyoming. Birch Gold Group operates from Burbank, California (source: augustapreciousmetals.com and birchgold.com, live-checked July 2026).
- Minimum threshold. Augusta publishes a 50,000 dollar recommended opening balance on its gold IRA page. Birch Gold has a widely reported 10,000 dollar minimum, not printed on a public product page.
- Fee disclosure. Augusta prints annual custodian and storage ranges on its gold IRA page in dollars. Birch Gold does not publish a written custodian or storage fee schedule; those figures are quoted by phone.
- White-metals coverage. Augusta markets gold and silver as dedicated IRA products. Birch Gold offers all four IRS-eligible metals (gold, silver, platinum, palladium) inside one self-directed IRA structure.
- Custodian and depository. Augusta names Equity Trust Company as custodian and Delaware Depository as its storage partner. Birch Gold names five depositories on its own storage pages, including Delaware Depository, Brink's, IDS, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository.
- Third-party ratings. Both firms self-display an A plus BBB rating on their public sites. Verify the current profile at bbb.org before you fund.
- Regulator footprint. Both firms return zero SEC EDGAR filings, the expected result for a physical coin and bar dealer.
- Endorsement style. Augusta cites Money magazine editorial recognition every year since 2022. Birch Gold cites an endorsement from Ron Paul and reports over 40,000 customers on its homepage.
- Company age. Birch Gold's own metadata dates the firm to 2003. Augusta Precious Metals opened in 2012 per its About page.
This side by side compares Augusta Precious Metals and Birch Gold Group on the fields that matter to a national reader weighing a self-directed IRA in gold, silver, or one of the white metals.
Every figure below either points at what each company publishes on its own site (live-checked in July 2026) or at a public federal record. Where a company does not disclose a figure, we mark the row as not disclosed rather than fill the gap from second-hand sources.
One thing to be direct about before the comparison starts. Augusta is the one company White Metal Resources holds an affiliate relationship with. We disclose it here, at the top, and in the schema. We hold no affiliate relationship with Birch Gold Group and receive no compensation if you contact that firm. The two guardrails on the review that follows are what each firm publishes and what the neutral federal record says. Nothing else.
How the two firms differ in one paragraph
The gap between these two dealers is not about the metal itself. Federal rules under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m) apply the same fineness thresholds and the same nonbank-trustee requirement to every IRA account regardless of dealer. The gap sits at three levels: the minimum needed to open, the number of metals in the standard IRA menu, and how much each firm chooses to put in public writing.
Augusta publishes an annual custodian range, an annual storage range, the custodian name, the depository name, and a 50,000 dollar recommended opening balance on its own gold IRA page. Birch Gold publishes five depository partners and an all-four metal menu, but not a written fee schedule.
Birch Gold's reported 10,000 dollar minimum opens the door to smaller rollovers that Augusta declines. Both firms sell gold and silver IRAs. Only Birch Gold markets platinum and palladium at IRA-eligible fineness inside its standard IRA structure.
Weighing Augusta as a shortlist option? Start with the free checklist.
Augusta lets a qualifying reader with 50,000 dollars or more in eligible retirement savings request a free written company checklist and a one on one web conference with Director of Education Devlyn Steele before any paperwork begins. That is the on ramp we route serious Augusta inquiries through, because it puts the fee ranges, the custodian name, and the depository name into a written packet you can compare against any competing firm, including Birch Gold.
Partner link. We may earn a commission if you open an account. No cost to you. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult a licensed advisor before any retirement decision.
Minimums: 50,000 versus 10,000
The single most decisive line between these two firms is the minimum to open. It routes different savers to different dealers before any other consideration matters.
Augusta. Publishes a recommended opening balance of 50,000 dollars on its own gold IRA page. That figure is the operational gate to the free one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele and, in practice, to the retail relationship. It is not a hard federal minimum. Federal rules under 26 U.S.C. Section 408 impose no dollar floor on any self-directed IRA. Augusta chooses the 50,000 dollar number as a company threshold and prints it publicly.
Birch Gold. The widely reported minimum to open a precious-metals IRA at Birch Gold is 10,000 dollars. That figure appears across the firm's own communications and third-party review sites. Birch Gold does not print the number on a public product page, so confirm the current threshold on the intake call before funding. A minimum exists at any reputable dealer because fixed annual fees eat a smaller account harder in percentage terms than a larger one.
For a saver with less than 50,000 dollars to move, Birch Gold is often the more workable choice because the door is open. For a saver moving 50,000 dollars or more who wants a written education packet and named counterparties, Augusta's operational gate is exactly the sort of structure that ends up saving time.
Fee transparency: what each firm actually prints
Fee transparency is the second decisive wedge between these firms on the public record.
Augusta. The gold IRA page on augustapreciousmetals.com prints an annual custodian range of 75 to 150 dollars and an annual storage range of 100 to 150 dollars. The page names the custodian (Equity Trust Company) and the depository (Delaware Depository) so a reader can price the vendor cost against those two firms' own public schedules.
The dealer spread on any specific coin is not a fixed public number and must be requested in writing from a specialist. On the same page, Augusta warns against spreads above roughly 5 percent and cites a 25 percent spread as an example of a mark up to refuse (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, live-checked July 2026).
Birch Gold. No written custodian or storage fee schedule is published on the public site. The four cost categories a customer will face are named in the educational copy: a one-time setup fee, an annual custodian fee, an annual storage fee, and the dealer spread on the metal itself. The dollar figures inside each category are quoted by phone case by case.
For a national reader trying to price two IRAs side by side, that gap has one practical consequence. You can bracket the Augusta account at roughly 175 to 300 dollars a year in fixed vendor cost before any coin transaction, using only the public site. You cannot bracket the Birch Gold account at all without a specialist call, because the dollars are not on the page.
Custodian and depository, named or not named
A precious-metals IRA is a three-party arrangement. The dealer sells you the coins. A federally approved trustee holds legal title to the account. A private vault holds physical custody of the metal. Each of the three has its own fee schedule and its own compliance record. Reading only the dealer page misses two thirds of your annual cost.
Augusta. Names Equity Trust Company as the custodian on its own gold IRA page. Names Delaware Depository as the storage partner on the same page. Both are established, IRS-approved counterparties. That two-firm disclosure lets you cross-check the Equity Trust fee schedule at trustetc.com and the Delaware Depository storage terms on that firm's own site before any Augusta paperwork moves.
Birch Gold. Does not name a single default custodian on its public IRA landing page; the custodian assignment is made during account setup. Birch Gold names five depositories on its own storage pages. The list covers Delaware Depository (Wilmington, Delaware), Brink's Global Services (multiple US locations), International Depository Services (New Castle and Dallas or Leander), Texas Precious Metals Depository (Shiner, Texas), and Texas Bullion Depository (Leander, Texas).
The two-Texas storage coverage is unusual across this sector and can matter to savers who want in-state storage. Delaware Depository is the one storage partner both firms explicitly name, which gives a common yardstick if you want to compare storage terms head to head on that vault.
Silver, platinum, and palladium: two different menus
This is the section that decides many white-metals inquiries at either firm before any other consideration.
Silver, both firms. Both dealers run a dedicated silver product line. Augusta has a Silver IRA product page on the same navigation footing as its Gold IRA page, using the same custodian and depository. Birch Gold's IRA program includes the American Silver Eagle at .999 fine and the Canadian Silver Maple Leaf at .9999 fine, plus silver bars from approved refiners. Silver is a first-class product at both firms.
Platinum, split. Augusta does not sell a dedicated Platinum IRA product on the public site as of July 2026. Platinum is referenced only in generic IRS-eligibility copy on its gold IRA page. Birch Gold offers platinum bullion and bars at IRA-eligible fineness (.9995 minimum under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)) inside its standard precious-metals IRA structure.
Palladium, split. Same pattern. Augusta names palladium among the four IRS-eligible metals in generic educational copy but does not run a dedicated Palladium IRA product line. Birch Gold offers palladium bullion and bars at .9995 fine inside the same IRA structure that holds its other three metals.
The honest read is that Augusta is a gold-and-silver specialist with limited public white-metals coverage. Birch Gold markets an all-four-metal menu that fits a saver who wants platinum or palladium in the same account. See our white metals IRA primer, platinum IRA guide, and palladium IRA guide for how each metal behaves inside a retirement account.
Public record: BBB, SEC, and third-party endorsement
Four separate public sources tell you different things about a precious-metals dealer. Read them in sequence, not in isolation, and give the regulatory records more weight than the marketing signals.
Better Business Bureau. Augusta self-displays an A plus BBB rating on its home page and gold IRA page. Birch Gold self-displays an A plus BBB rating on its homepage. The live bbb.org profiles for both firms should be verified directly at bbb.org before you fund, because ratings and accreditation status can change.
SEC EDGAR. A full-text search on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR system returned zero filings for either "Augusta Precious Metals" or "Birch Gold Group" as of July 2026 (source: efts.sec.gov). Zero SEC filings is the expected result for a state-regulated physical coin and bar dealer.
The SEC oversees securities issuers and registered investment advisers, categories that do not include a straight metals merchant. Read the identical result for both firms as neutral, not as a red flag against either one.
Third-party endorsement. Augusta cites Money magazine editorial recognition as Best Overall Gold IRA Company every year since 2022. Birch Gold cites an endorsement from Ron Paul and frames its customer base as "40,000+ Americans since 2011" on the homepage. Both are private third-party recognitions and neither substitutes for a fee schedule, a named custodian, or a current BBB record. Weigh each as one signal, not the deciding factor.
How each firm sells: salaried education versus specialist call
The two firms use noticeably different sales-motion language on their public sites, and that language often shapes what the intake call feels like.
Augusta describes its sales floor as salaried rather than commissioned. It routes serious prospects through a free one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele, its Director of Education, before any coin discussion happens. The pitch verbs used across the site are Learn, Talk, Decide. That structure suits a reader who wants a longer intake and a real education layer between the phone rep and the paperwork.
Birch Gold does not describe its floor compensation on the public site. The intake flow starts with a free investor kit, then a specialist call that walks through metal selection, custodian assignment, and rollover paperwork. The published marketing leans on the Ron Paul endorsement and on the depth of the site's education library rather than on a specific gatekeeper role.
Neither style is inherently better. Augusta forces a slower intake and a specific gatekeeper. Birch Gold gives faster access at a lower minimum but depends more heavily on what the individual specialist chooses to put in writing after the initial contact. Both are consistent with a compliant self-directed IRA sale under 26 U.S.C. Section 408.
Augusta vs Birch Gold at a glance
| Criterion | Augusta Precious Metals | Birch Gold Group |
|---|---|---|
| Headquarters | 8484 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 515, Beverly Hills, CA. Second office in Casper, WY. | Burbank, California. |
| Founded | 2012, per company About page. | 2003, per company metadata. |
| Recommended minimum | 50,000 dollars, printed on the gold IRA page. | 10,000 dollars, widely reported, not on public product page. |
| Annual custodian fee | 75 to 150 dollars a year, printed on the gold IRA page. | Not published. Quoted by phone. |
| Annual storage fee | 100 to 150 dollars a year, printed on the gold IRA page. | Not published. Quoted by phone. |
| Dealer spread | Not a fixed public figure. Site warns against spreads above roughly 5 percent. | Not a fixed public figure. No spread guidance on public site. |
| Custodian named | Equity Trust Company, named on the gold IRA page. | Not named on the IRA landing page. Assigned at setup. |
| Depositories named | Delaware Depository. | Delaware Depository, Brink's, IDS, Texas Precious Metals Depository, Texas Bullion Depository. |
| Silver IRA product | Yes, dedicated Silver IRA page on IRA nav. | Yes, Silver Eagles, Silver Maple Leafs, silver bars from approved refiners. |
| Platinum IRA product | Not offered as a dedicated Augusta product. | Yes, platinum at .9995 fineness in the standard IRA structure. |
| Palladium IRA product | Not offered as a dedicated Augusta product. | Yes, palladium at .9995 fineness in the standard IRA structure. |
| BBB claim | A plus BBB rating, self-displayed on site. | A plus BBB rating, self-displayed on homepage. |
| SEC EDGAR filings | Zero (expected for a coin and bar dealer). | Zero (expected for a coin and bar dealer). |
Sources: augustapreciousmetals.com gold IRA and silver IRA pages; birchgold.com company, IRA program, and storage pages; efts.sec.gov full text search. All live-checked July 2026. Federal rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Publication 590-B.
Fee drag on a 100,000 dollar rollover
Since only Augusta prints annual fee dollars on the public site, the honest way to compare the two firms on cost is to bracket the Augusta number and then ask Birch Gold for its own written schedule. The calculator below lets you run any annual fee schedule against your balance, so you can compare Augusta's published bracket against whatever number a Birch Gold specialist quotes.
Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag. Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator
Pros and cons of each firm
Where Augusta looks visibly stronger
- Prints an annual custodian range and an annual storage range on the public gold IRA page, both in dollars. Rare in this sector.
- Names both counterparties on the same page: Equity Trust Company and Delaware Depository. Both are IRS-approved.
- Runs a dedicated Silver IRA page on the same nav footing as the gold page.
- Publishes a recommended minimum (50,000 dollars) so a smaller saver can rule the firm out or in from the site alone.
- Uses a salaried, non-commissioned sales structure and states so publicly. Removes the per-sale coin-upsell incentive at the specialist stage.
- Warns readers against dealer spreads above roughly 5 percent on its own site.
Where Augusta looks weaker
- Requires a 50,000 dollar operational minimum that rules out smaller rollovers and contribution-based IRAs.
- Fees are ranges rather than single flat numbers. Useful as a bracket, not a substitute for a written schedule.
- No dedicated Platinum or Palladium IRA product on the public site. Both metals appear only in generic IRS-eligibility copy.
Where Birch Gold looks visibly stronger
- Lower reported minimum at roughly 10,000 dollars, which opens the door to modest rollovers Augusta declines.
- All four IRS-eligible metals in one IRA: gold, silver, platinum, and palladium at the required fineness floors.
- Longer operating history under the current brand (2003 per company metadata).
- Five storage partners named on the public site, including two Texas facilities for savers who want in-state storage.
- Deep educational content library and a free investor kit route for early-stage prospects.
Where Birch Gold looks weaker
- Written custodian and storage fee schedule not published on the public site.
- Default custodian is not named on the IRA landing page; assignment is made during setup.
- Minimum is not printed on a public product page. Verify current threshold on the intake call.
- Dealer spread on premium coins is a common industry risk that requires explicit written quotes.
Which reader each firm fits
Augusta fits a saver rolling 50,000 dollars or more from an eligible retirement account into a gold or silver IRA. This reader values a longer education intake, a named custodian and depository, and one of the few published fee ranges in the sector.
If your accountant and your advisor are already in the loop, the Learn Talk Decide flow adds structure. If they are not, the flow forces you to acquire structure before you sign. Augusta fits less well for a portfolio built primarily on platinum or palladium, for savers with less than 50,000 dollars to move, and for readers who want a single flat fee rather than a range.
Birch Gold fits a saver moving 10,000 to 50,000 dollars into an IRA that includes platinum or palladium alongside gold and silver. This reader is comfortable getting the fee schedule on a specialist call rather than from a public page, and values a longer operating history and a wider metal menu.
It fits less well for a reader who wants every fee published on the website before making contact, or who wants a salaried sales-floor structure written into the marketing. Same story for a portfolio built purely on gold at a 50,000 dollar or higher balance, where Augusta's published ranges give a firmer starting point.
For readers whose preferences do not match either firm, our precious-metals IRA companies list is the place to compare firms side by side, and our dealer selection checklist lays out the written criteria we run against every firm.
When any precious-metals IRA is the wrong move
An honest side by side has to flag when the whole product category is a poor fit, not only when one firm beats the other. If any of the following describes your situation, slow down and consult a licensed advisor before choosing between dealers at all.
- You may need the cash within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum, and palladium can move sharply in short periods, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again on the way out. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B). Nobody can predict where metal prices will go over any given holding period.
- Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual fees plus the dealer spread punish small accounts hardest, because the same dollar cost is a much larger percentage of a smaller balance. That is the operational reason Augusta prints a 50,000 dollar minimum and Birch Gold uses a 10,000 dollar floor.
- You do not have other retirement savings yet. A physical-metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base of retirement savings, not in place of one. A diversified plan works better than a single-asset bet.
- You are chasing a guaranteed return. Any pitch that promises specific target prices or guaranteed gains is the pattern federal regulators have historically acted on, not an opportunity (source: SEC investor.gov).
- You have not talked to your accountant. A rollover has tax reporting steps that flow through Form 5498 and, if the rollover misses the 60 day deadline, through Form 1099-R as a taxable distribution. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before any dollars move.
Questions readers ask most about the two firms
Is Augusta or Birch Gold cheaper?
Nobody can answer that from the public sites alone. Augusta publishes an annual custodian range of 75 to 150 dollars and an annual storage range of 100 to 150 dollars on its gold IRA page. Birch Gold does not publish written fee dollars on its public site.
Ask Birch Gold for the full written schedule and compare it against the Augusta bracket. The dealer spread on the coin, not the fixed annual fees, is the largest single lifetime cost at either firm.
Which firm has a lower minimum investment?
Birch Gold does. The widely reported Birch Gold minimum to open a precious-metals IRA is 10,000 dollars, versus Augusta's 50,000 dollar recommended opening balance printed on its own gold IRA page. Birch Gold does not print the 10,000 dollar figure on a public product page, so confirm the current threshold with a specialist before funding. Ask each firm for the minimum by rollover balance and by first metal purchase, both figures, in writing.
Which firm offers a Platinum IRA?
Birch Gold does; Augusta does not, as of July 2026. Birch Gold's IRA program includes platinum bullion and bars at the .9995 fineness floor required under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m). Augusta references platinum only in generic IRS-eligibility copy on its gold IRA page and does not sell a dedicated Platinum IRA product. If platinum is a material part of your intended allocation, ask each firm for current product availability and dealer spread in writing before you fund.
Which firm offers a Palladium IRA?
Same answer as platinum. Birch Gold offers palladium at .9995 fine inside its standard precious-metals IRA structure. Augusta names palladium in generic IRS-eligibility copy but does not sell a dedicated Palladium IRA product. A portfolio built primarily on palladium is a better match for Birch Gold's four-metal menu than for Augusta's gold-and-silver focus.
Who is the custodian at each firm?
Augusta names Equity Trust Company as the custodian on its own gold IRA page. Birch Gold does not name a default custodian on its IRA landing page; the custodian is assigned during the account setup step. Every self-directed precious-metals IRA legally requires an IRS-approved trustee that holds title to the metal and files the annual tax paperwork. Ask Birch Gold which custodian your specific account will sit with, and check that firm's own record and complaint history separately.
Where does each firm store IRA metals?
Augusta names Delaware Depository as the storage partner on its gold IRA page. Birch Gold names five depositories on its own storage pages: Delaware Depository, Brink's Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, and Texas Bullion Depository. Delaware Depository is the one storage partner both firms explicitly name. Home storage of IRA metal is not allowed under federal law (source: IRS collectibles issue snapshot).
Are the BBB ratings comparable?
Both firms display an A plus BBB rating on their public sites. Augusta cites the A plus rating on its home page and gold IRA page. Birch Gold cites the A plus rating on its homepage. Verify each profile directly at bbb.org before you fund either account, because letter ratings and accreditation status can change.
Does either firm have SEC filings?
No. SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero filings for either "Augusta Precious Metals" or "Birch Gold Group" as of July 2026 (source: efts.sec.gov). Zero SEC filings is the expected result for a state-regulated physical coin and bar dealer. The SEC oversees securities issuers and registered investment advisers, categories that do not include a straight metals merchant. Read the identical result as neutral, not as a mark against either firm.
Is Augusta’s Money magazine claim comparable to Birch Gold’s Ron Paul endorsement?
Both are private third-party recognitions rather than regulatory endorsements. Augusta's Money magazine Best Overall Gold IRA Company recognition refers to the gold IRA product. Birch Gold's Ron Paul endorsement is a paid spokesperson relationship rather than an editorial award. Neither substitutes for a written fee schedule, a named custodian, or a current BBB record. Weigh each as one signal alongside the paperwork checklist, not the deciding factor.
Which firm is better for a white-metals investor?
For silver, both firms qualify: each runs a dedicated silver product line under the standard federal .999 fineness rule. For platinum and palladium, Birch Gold is the clearer match because it offers both inside its standard IRA structure at the required .9995 fineness. Augusta does not sell either metal as a dedicated IRA product. See our precious-metals IRA companies list for firms that publish a broader white-metals menu.
If Augusta made your shortlist, this is the free next step.
Augusta's free company checklist and one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele is the on ramp we route qualifying Augusta inquiries through. It runs before any paperwork, before any spread quote, and before any wire is discussed. The 50,000 dollar recommended balance is the threshold. If your rollover clears that number and you want the fee ranges, the custodian name, and the depository name in a written packet you can compare against Birch Gold or any competing firm, this is where to start.
Get the Augusta company checklist
Partner link. We may earn a commission if you open an account. No cost to you. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult a licensed advisor before any retirement decision.
Sources
- Augusta Precious Metals, gold IRA product page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com/gold-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Cited for the published custodian and storage ranges, the Equity Trust Company custodian name, the Delaware Depository storage name, the 50,000 dollar recommended minimum, the A plus BBB claim, the Money magazine editorial-recognition claim, the 5 percent spread reference, and the 25 percent spread refuse example.
- Augusta Precious Metals, silver IRA product page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com/silver-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Dedicated Silver IRA product confirmation; same custodian and depository as the gold page.
- Birch Gold Group, company homepage. URL: birchgold.com. Live-checked July 2026. Founded 2003 per company metadata; Burbank California headquarters; "Endorsed by Ron Paul and trusted by 40,000+ Americans since 2011" homepage claim; self-displayed A plus BBB rating.
- Birch Gold Group, precious-metals IRA program page. URL: birchgold.com/precious-metals-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Four-metal IRA menu (gold, silver, platinum, palladium); free investor kit intake; four fee categories named without dollar amounts; specialist call for pricing.
- Birch Gold Group, storage section. URL: birchgold.com storage pages. Live-checked July 2026. Named depository partners: Delaware Depository, Brink's Global Services, International Depository Services, Texas Precious Metals Depository, Texas Bullion Depository.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search. URL: efts.sec.gov Augusta search and efts.sec.gov Birch Gold search. Both live-checked July 2026. Zero filings returned for each firm, consistent with a physical precious-metals dealer.
- Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. URL: law.cornell.edu 26 USC 408. Checked July 2026. Federal IRA fineness minimums under subsection (m) and the nonbank-trustee framework under subsection (n).
- Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. URL: irs.gov Publication 590-A. Checked July 2026. Rollover and direct-transfer mechanics; 60 day rule; 20 percent mandatory withholding on qualified plan distributions.
- Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. URL: irs.gov Publication 590-B. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution 10 percent additional tax and Required Minimum Distribution rules.
- Internal Revenue Service, Investments in Collectibles issue snapshot. URL: irs.gov collectibles issue snapshot. Checked July 2026. Home-storage prohibition; IRS-approved trustee requirement.
- Securities and Exchange Commission, investor bulletin on precious metals. URL: investor.gov precious metals. Checked July 2026. Regulatory overview of physical-metal investment risks.
- Better Business Bureau, business ratings framework. URL: bbb.org grade overview. Checked July 2026. Interpretive framework for the letter-rating claims on both firms' sites.
- Better Business Bureau, Augusta Precious Metals business profile. URL: bbb.org Augusta profile. Checked July 2026. Verify current letter rating and accreditation before funding.
- Better Business Bureau, Birch Gold Group business profile. URL: bbb.org Birch Gold profile. Checked July 2026. Verify current letter rating and accreditation before funding.
