Augusta Precious Metals vs Goldco: What Actually Differs in 2026

gold IRA dealer Checklist

Affiliate disclosure: White Metal Resources holds an affiliate relationship with Augusta Precious Metals and may earn a commission when you open an account through the Augusta links on this page. We hold no affiliate relationship with Goldco, we earn nothing if you choose it, and no link on this page points to goldco.com. This never changes what you pay or what we write. We are not financial or tax advisors. Consult a licensed advisor before making retirement decisions.

Quick answer: Augusta Precious Metals prints annual fees in dollars (75 to 150 dollar custodian, 100 to 150 dollar storage) and names Equity Trust Company and Delaware Depository on its own gold IRA page. Goldco publishes a 10,000 dollar Silver IRA minimum on its Silver IRA product page but does not print fee dollars, a custodian name, or a depository name on its public pages. Both firms live-checked July 2026.

Short on time? The essentials

  • Both firms are California precious-metals dealers. Augusta operates from Beverly Hills with a second office in Casper, Wyoming. Goldco lists its head office at 24025 Park Sorrento, Suite 210, Calabasas, California 91302 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com and goldco.com structured data, live-checked July 2026).
  • Fee disclosure gap. Augusta publishes annual custodian and storage ranges in dollars on its gold IRA page. Goldco does not publish a dollar fee schedule on its Silver IRA or Gold IRA product pages.
  • Counterparty disclosure gap. Augusta names Equity Trust Company as custodian and Delaware Depository as storage partner on its public IRA page. Goldco names neither on its public IRA product pages.
  • Minimums. Augusta prints a 50,000 dollar recommended opening balance on its gold IRA page. Goldco prints a 10,000 dollar Silver IRA minimum purchase on its Silver IRA product page. Goldco does not print a Gold IRA minimum on the Gold IRA page.
  • White-metals coverage. Both firms run a dedicated silver product. Neither firm publishes a dedicated Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA product page. Both list platinum and palladium at .9995 fineness as IRA-eligible.
  • Third-party ratings. Augusta self-displays an A plus BBB rating and an AAA Business Consumer Alliance rating. Goldco self-displays a BBB A plus badge with 4.8 stars and a Consumer Affairs 4.9 star badge. Verify each profile directly at bbb.org before you fund.
  • Regulator footprint. Both firms return zero SEC EDGAR filings, the expected result for a physical coin and bar dealer.
  • Endorsement style. Augusta cites Money magazine Best Overall Gold IRA Company editorial recognition every year since 2022. Goldco cites Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service, Inc. 5000 nine-year recognition, and a Bronze Stevie Award.
  • Sales structure. Augusta describes its floor as salaried, not commissioned. Goldco does not describe its floor compensation on the public site.
  • Buyback. Augusta does not headline a specific buyback commitment on the gold IRA page. Goldco advertises a guaranteed highest buyback with no fees at liquidation. Neither firm publishes the bid formula relative to spot.

This side by side compares Augusta Precious Metals and Goldco on the fields that matter to a national reader weighing a self-directed IRA in gold, silver, or one of the white metals.

Every figure below either points at what each company publishes on its own site, live-checked in July 2026, or at a public federal record. Where a company does not disclose a figure, we mark the row as not disclosed rather than fill the gap from second-hand sources.

One thing to be direct about before the comparison starts. Augusta is the one company White Metal Resources holds an affiliate relationship with. We disclose it here, at the top, and in the schema. We hold no affiliate relationship with Goldco and receive no compensation if you contact that firm. No link on this page points to goldco.com. The two guardrails on the review that follows are what each firm publishes and what the neutral federal record says. Nothing else.

How the two firms differ in one paragraph

The gap between these two dealers is not about the metal itself. Federal rules under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m) apply the same fineness thresholds and the same nonbank-trustee requirement to every IRA account regardless of dealer.

The gap sits at the level of what each firm chooses to put in public writing before you pick up the phone. Augusta publishes an annual custodian range, an annual storage range, the custodian name, the depository name, and a recommended opening balance on its own gold IRA page. Goldco publishes none of the fee dollars or counterparty names on its public product pages.

Goldco does publish one number Augusta does not print for silver specifically: a 10,000 dollar Silver IRA minimum purchase on the Silver IRA product page FAQ. Both firms sell gold and silver IRAs. Neither sells a dedicated Platinum or Palladium IRA product line as of July 2026.

Weighing Augusta as a shortlist option? Start with the free checklist.

Augusta lets a qualifying reader with 50,000 dollars or more in eligible retirement savings request a free written company checklist and a one on one web conference with Director of Education Devlyn Steele before any paperwork begins. That is the on ramp we route serious Augusta inquiries through, because it puts the fee ranges, the custodian name, and the depository name into a written packet you can compare against any competing firm.

Request the Augusta checklist

Partner link. We may earn a commission if you open an account. No cost to you. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult a licensed advisor before any retirement decision.

Fee transparency: what each firm actually prints

Fee transparency is the single largest wedge between these two firms on the public record. Read this section first, and treat everything below it as detail.

Augusta. The gold IRA page on augustapreciousmetals.com prints an annual custodian range of 75 to 150 dollars and an annual storage range of 100 to 150 dollars. The page names the custodian (Equity Trust Company) and the depository (Delaware Depository) so a reader can price the vendor cost against those two firms' own public schedules.

The dealer spread on any specific coin is not a fixed public number and must be requested in writing from a specialist. On the same page, Augusta warns against spreads above roughly 5 percent and cites a 25 percent spread as an example of a mark up to refuse (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, live-checked July 2026).

Goldco. No fee dollars are printed on the public Silver IRA or Gold IRA product pages. The educational copy names the categories a customer will pay: setup, annual custodian, annual storage, and the dealer spread on the metal itself. The dollar figures are only available on a specialist call (source: goldco.com Silver IRA and Gold IRA product pages, live-checked July 2026).

For a national reader trying to price two IRAs side by side, that gap has one practical consequence. You can bracket the Augusta account at roughly 175 to 300 dollars a year in fixed vendor cost before any coin transaction, using only the public site. You cannot bracket the Goldco account at all without a specialist call, because the dollars are not on the page. Our fee categories guide lays out where each cost lives.

Minimums: 50,000 versus 10,000 versus not disclosed

Minimums split differently at each firm depending on which metal you are asking about.

Augusta. Publishes a recommended opening balance of 50,000 dollars on its gold IRA page. That figure is the operational gate to the free one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele and, in practice, to the retail relationship. It is not a hard federal minimum. Federal rules under 26 U.S.C. Section 408 impose no dollar floor on any self-directed IRA. Augusta chooses the 50,000 dollar number as a company threshold and prints it publicly.

Goldco, silver. Publishes a 10,000 dollar minimum purchase on its Silver IRA product page FAQ. That is one of the more accessible published thresholds in the sector, and it is stated as a plain sentence rather than buried in a specialist quote.

Goldco, gold. Does not publish a Gold IRA minimum on the Gold IRA product page. Third-party review sites often cite around 25,000 dollars, but that figure is review-site reported and not confirmed by Goldco itself. Ask a specialist directly and get the current number in writing before you decide.

For a saver whose main metal is silver and whose rollover balance sits between 10,000 and 50,000 dollars, Goldco is the only one of the two firms whose published minimum you can meet on the site alone. For a saver at 50,000 dollars or above who wants gold or a mixed gold-plus-silver account, Augusta becomes reachable and its full fee-range and counterparty disclosure kicks in.

Custodian and depository, named or not named

A precious-metals IRA is a three-party arrangement. The dealer sells you the coins. A federally approved trustee holds legal title to the account. A private vault holds physical custody of the metal. Each of the three has its own fee schedule and its own compliance record. Reading only the dealer page misses two thirds of your annual cost.

Augusta. Names Equity Trust Company as the custodian on its own gold IRA page. Names Delaware Depository as the storage partner on the same page. Both are established, IRS-approved counterparties. That two-firm disclosure lets you cross-check the Equity Trust fee schedule at trustetc.com and the Delaware Depository storage terms on that firm's own site before any Augusta paperwork moves.

Goldco. The custodian name is not on the Silver IRA or Gold IRA product page. The depository name is not on either page either. Both have to come from a specialist call. Once you have the custodian name in writing, verify its BBB record and read its own fee schedule separately. Once you have the depository name, ask whether storage is segregated or commingled, and what the annual gap is between the two options.

The missing counterparty names on the Goldco public site are not, on their own, a reason to rule the firm out. Every compliant dealer works with a real custodian and a real depository somewhere in the chain. It is a reason to slow down until you have both names in writing on a signed schedule, and to check each firm's separate record before you sign a transfer form.

Silver, platinum, and palladium at each firm

This is the section that decides most white-metals inquiries at either firm before any other consideration.

Silver, both firms. Both dealers run a dedicated silver product line. Augusta has a Silver IRA page on the same navigation footing as its Gold IRA page, using the same custodian and depository. Goldco has a Silver IRA product page at goldco.com/products/silver-ira/ with a published 10,000 dollar minimum, a written rollover walkthrough, and the .999 IRA fineness rule stated directly. Silver is a first-class product at both companies.

Platinum, both firms. Neither firm sells a dedicated Platinum IRA product on the public site as of July 2026. Augusta references platinum only in generic IRS-eligibility copy on its gold IRA page. Goldco's URL goldco.com/products/platinum-ira/ returned a 404 page not found template on live check, and the Gold IRA page confirms platinum at .9995 fineness as IRA-eligible inside a broader precious-metals IRA.

If platinum is part of your intended allocation, ask each firm directly on the intake call whether platinum can be sourced against your account and at what dealer spread. IRA-eligible platinum must be at least .9995 fine under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m).

Palladium, both firms. Same story. Neither firm publishes a dedicated Palladium IRA product page. Augusta names palladium among the four IRS-eligible metals in generic educational copy. Goldco's goldco.com/products/palladium-ira/ URL also returned a 404 template, and palladium at .9995 fineness is listed as IRA-eligible on the Goldco Gold IRA page. IRA-eligible palladium must be at least .9995 fine under federal rules.

The honest read is that both firms are gold and silver specialists with limited public white-metals coverage. Augusta shows that limit in the product-page structure of its site. Goldco shows it through 404 responses at the URLs a shopper would try. See our white metals IRA primer, platinum IRA guide, and palladium IRA guide for how each metal behaves inside a retirement account.

Buyback claim, parsed on both sides

Buyback is one of the few sections where Goldco publishes something Augusta does not headline in the same place.

Goldco. The About page runs a block that reads guaranteed highest buyback with a subheading promising no fees at liquidation (source: goldco.com About page, live-checked July 2026). The no-fees part is testable in writing on the intake call. The highest-buyback part is a comparative claim you cannot verify without the actual bid formula relative to spot, and that number is not published on the site.

Augusta. Does not carry an equivalent buyback headline on the gold IRA product page. Augusta describes buyback as a specialist conversation rather than a marketing block. Ask what percentage below the daily spot price the typical buyback bid sits, and whether that percentage changes for coins Augusta did not originally sell you.

At both firms, the actionable version of the buyback question is the same. Ask for the bid formula in writing before you commit funds. A written formula lets you compare the same math against a competing dealer instead of comparing a marketing block against silence.

Public record: BBB, SEC, and third-party endorsement

Four separate public sources tell you different things about a precious-metals dealer. Read them in sequence, not in isolation, and give the regulatory records more weight than the marketing signals.

Better Business Bureau. Augusta self-displays an A plus BBB rating on its home page and gold IRA page. Goldco self-displays a BBB A plus badge with 4.8 stars on its home page (source: goldco.com, live-checked July 2026).

The live bbb.org profiles for both firms returned an anti-automation challenge during this session, so the current letter rating and complaint volume could not be re-verified through a scripted fetch for either firm. Verify each profile directly at bbb.org before you fund an account with either dealer.

Business Consumer Alliance and Consumer Affairs. Augusta cites an AAA rating from the Business Consumer Alliance on its gold IRA page. Goldco cites a 4.9 star Consumer Affairs badge on its home page. Both are private consumer-rating bodies, not regulatory licenses, and either firm's rating should be verified on the rating body's own site before you rely on it.

SEC EDGAR. A full-text search on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR system returned zero filings for either Augusta Precious Metals or Goldco Precious Metals (or Goldco Direct) as of July 2026 (source: efts.sec.gov). Zero SEC filings is the expected result for a state-regulated physical coin and bar dealer.

The SEC oversees securities issuers and registered investment advisers, categories that do not include a straight metals merchant. Read the identical result for both firms as neutral, not as a red flag against either one.

Third-party endorsement. Augusta cites Money magazine editorial recognition as Best Overall Gold IRA Company every year since 2022. Goldco cites Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service, nine appearances on the Inc. 5000 list, a 2025 Bronze Stevie Award, and an aggregate figure of 8,000-plus five-star customer ratings across platforms. Both categories of recognition are private and neither substitutes for a fee schedule, a named custodian, or a current BBB record.

How each firm sells: salaried education versus buyback headline

The two firms use noticeably different sales-motion language on their public sites, and that language often shapes what the intake call feels like.

Augusta describes its sales floor as salaried rather than commissioned. It routes serious prospects through a free one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele, its Director of Education, before any coin discussion happens. The pitch verbs used across the site are Learn, Talk, Decide. That structure suits a reader who wants a longer intake and a real education layer between the phone rep and the paperwork.

You may also like:  Freedom Gold USA Review

Goldco does not describe its floor compensation on the public site. The public marketing footprint leans on the guaranteed highest buyback headline, on the Silver IRA as a first-class product, and on a dense trust bar of ratings and awards. That style suits a reader who values a specific buyback promise and is comfortable getting the fee schedule, custodian name, and depository name on a phone call rather than from the website.

Neither style is inherently better. The Augusta approach forces a slower intake and a specific gatekeeper. The Goldco approach depends more heavily on what the individual specialist chooses to put in writing after the initial contact. Both are consistent with a compliant self-directed IRA sale under 26 U.S.C. Section 408.

Augusta vs Goldco at a glance

Augusta vs Goldco, from each firm's public site, live-checked July 2026
CriterionAugusta Precious MetalsGoldco
Headquarters8484 Wilshire Boulevard, Suite 515, Beverly Hills, CA. Second office in Casper, WY.24025 Park Sorrento, Suite 210, Calabasas, CA 91302.
Annual custodian fee75 to 150 dollars a year, printed on the gold IRA page.Not published on Silver IRA or Gold IRA product page.
Annual storage fee100 to 150 dollars a year, printed on the gold IRA page.Not published on Silver IRA or Gold IRA product page.
Dealer spreadNot a fixed public figure. Site warns against spreads above roughly 5 percent.Not a fixed public figure. No spread guidance on the public IRA pages.
Silver IRA minimumNot printed as a separate silver figure. 50,000 dollar recommended balance applies to the retail relationship.10,000 dollars, printed on the Silver IRA product page FAQ.
Gold IRA minimum50,000 dollars recommended, printed on the gold IRA page.Not published on the Gold IRA product page.
Custodian namedEquity Trust Company, named on the gold IRA page.Not named on the Silver IRA or Gold IRA product pages.
Depository namedDelaware Depository, named on the gold IRA page.Not named on the Silver IRA or Gold IRA product pages.
Platinum or Palladium IRA productNot offered as a dedicated Augusta product.Both /products/platinum-ira/ and /products/palladium-ira/ URLs returned 404 templates.
Buyback headlineNot headlined on gold IRA page. Handled specialist-side.Guaranteed highest buyback with no fees at liquidation, on About page. Bid formula not published.

Sources: augustapreciousmetals.com gold IRA and silver IRA pages; goldco.com home, About, Silver IRA and Gold IRA product pages, /products/platinum-ira/ and /products/palladium-ira/ URLs; efts.sec.gov full text search. All live-checked July 2026. Federal rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Publication 590-B.

Fee drag on a 100,000 dollar rollover

Since only Augusta prints annual fee dollars on the public site, the honest way to compare the two firms on cost is to bracket the Augusta number and then ask Goldco for its own written schedule. The calculator below lets you run any annual fee schedule against your balance, so you can compare Augusta's published bracket against whatever number a Goldco specialist quotes.

Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator

Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.

Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

Pros and cons of each firm

Where Augusta looks visibly stronger

  • Prints an annual custodian range and an annual storage range on the public gold IRA page, both in dollars. Rare in this sector.
  • Names both counterparties on the same page: Equity Trust Company and Delaware Depository. Both are IRS-approved.
  • Runs a dedicated Silver IRA page on the same nav footing as the gold page.
  • Publishes a recommended minimum (50,000 dollars) so a larger saver can rule the firm out or in from the site alone.
  • Uses a salaried, non-commissioned sales structure and states so publicly. Removes the per-sale coin-upsell incentive at the specialist stage.
  • Warns readers against dealer spreads above roughly 5 percent on its own site.

Where Augusta looks weaker

  • Requires a 50,000 dollar operational minimum that rules out smaller rollovers and contribution-based IRAs.
  • Fees are ranges rather than single flat numbers. Useful as a bracket, not a substitute for a written schedule.
  • No dedicated Platinum or Palladium IRA product on the public site. Both metals appear only in generic IRS-eligibility copy.
  • No headline buyback commitment on the gold IRA page. The bid formula still lives on the specialist call.

Where Goldco looks visibly stronger

  • Publishes a 10,000 dollar Silver IRA minimum purchase on the Silver IRA product page FAQ, one of the lower published silver thresholds in the sector.
  • Silver IRA has its own dedicated product page with a full rollover walkthrough and the .999 IRA fineness rule stated directly.
  • Publishes a guaranteed highest buyback commitment with no fees at liquidation on the About page. Specific written promise a shopper can hold the firm to.
  • Dense trust bar with BBB A plus (4.8 stars self-attested), Consumer Affairs 4.9 stars, Trustpilot widget, Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service, nine Inc. 5000 appearances, and a 2025 Bronze Stevie Award.

Where Goldco looks weaker

  • Fee dollars are not published on the Silver IRA or Gold IRA product pages. Full schedule requires a specialist call.
  • Custodian is not named on the Silver IRA or Gold IRA product page.
  • Depository is not named on the Silver IRA or Gold IRA product page.
  • Gold IRA minimum is not published on the Gold IRA product page. Third-party figures are second-hand.
  • Platinum and palladium product URLs both return 404 templates. Neither has a dedicated IRA product page.
  • Guaranteed highest buyback is a comparative claim without a published bid formula relative to spot.

Which reader each firm fits

Augusta fits a saver rolling 50,000 dollars or more from an eligible retirement account into a gold or silver IRA. This reader values a longer education intake, a named custodian and depository, and one of the few published fee ranges in the sector.

If your accountant and your advisor are already in the loop, the Learn Talk Decide flow adds structure. If they are not, the flow forces you to acquire structure before you sign. Augusta fits less well for a portfolio built primarily on platinum or palladium, for savers with less than 50,000 dollars to move, and for readers who want a single flat fee rather than a range.

Goldco fits a saver whose main IRA metal is silver, whose rollover balance sits between 10,000 and 50,000 dollars, and who wants a dedicated Silver IRA product with a published minimum. It also fits a saver who values a specific buyback headline and is comfortable getting the fee schedule, custodian name, and depository name on a phone call.

Goldco fits less well for a reader who requires every fee to be published on the public website before making contact. Same story for a portfolio built primarily around platinum or palladium in a dedicated product line, or for a reader who wants a written education packet from a named third-party educator before speaking with a salesperson.

For readers whose preferences do not match either firm, our precious-metals IRA companies list is the place to compare firms side by side, and our dealer selection checklist lays out the written criteria we run against every firm.

When any precious-metals IRA is the wrong move

An honest side by side has to flag when the whole product category is a poor fit, not only when one firm beats the other. If any of the following describes your situation, slow down and consult a licensed advisor before choosing between dealers at all.

  • You may need the cash within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum, and palladium can move sharply in short periods, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again on the way out. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B). Nobody can predict where metal prices will go over any given holding period.
  • Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual fees plus the dealer spread punish small accounts hardest, because the same dollar cost is a much larger percentage of a smaller balance. That is the operational reason Augusta prints a 50,000 dollar minimum on its own site.
  • You do not have other retirement savings yet. A physical-metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base of retirement savings, not in place of one. A diversified plan works better than a single-asset bet.
  • You are chasing a guaranteed return. Any pitch that promises specific target prices or guaranteed gains is the pattern federal regulators have historically acted on, not an opportunity (source: SEC investor.gov).
  • You have not talked to your accountant. A rollover has tax reporting steps that flow through Form 5498 and, if the rollover misses the 60 day deadline, through Form 1099-R as a taxable distribution. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before any dollars move.

Questions readers ask most about the two firms

Is Augusta or Goldco cheaper?

Nobody can answer that from the public sites alone. Augusta publishes an annual custodian range of 75 to 150 dollars and an annual storage range of 100 to 150 dollars on its gold IRA page. Goldco does not publish fee dollars on its Silver IRA or Gold IRA product pages.

Ask Goldco for the full written schedule and compare it against the Augusta bracket. The dealer spread on the coin, not the fixed annual fees, is the largest single lifetime cost at either firm.

Do either Augusta or Goldco offer a Platinum IRA?

Not as a dedicated public product line at either firm as of July 2026. Augusta references platinum only in generic IRS-eligibility copy on its gold IRA page. Goldco's /products/platinum-ira/ URL returned a 404 template, and its Gold IRA page lists platinum at .9995 fineness as IRA-eligible inside a broader account. Ask each specialist directly whether platinum can be sourced against your account and at what dealer spread. IRA-eligible platinum must be at least .9995 fine under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m).

Do either firm offer a Palladium IRA?

Same answer as platinum. Neither firm publishes a dedicated Palladium IRA product page. Augusta names palladium in generic IRS-eligibility copy. Goldco's /products/palladium-ira/ URL returned a 404 template. IRA-eligible palladium must be at least .9995 fine under federal rules. A portfolio built primarily on palladium is not a match for either firm's visible public product line without a bespoke sourcing conversation on the specialist call.

Which firm has a lower minimum investment?

It depends on the metal. Goldco publishes a 10,000 dollar Silver IRA minimum purchase on its Silver IRA product page FAQ, which is lower than any figure Augusta publishes. Augusta publishes a 50,000 dollar recommended opening balance on its gold IRA page. Goldco does not publish a Gold IRA minimum. Ask each firm for the minimum by rollover balance and by first metal purchase (both figures), and get the answer in writing before you commit.

Who is the custodian at each firm?

Augusta names Equity Trust Company as the custodian on its own gold IRA page. Goldco does not name a custodian on its Silver IRA or Gold IRA product pages. Every self-directed precious-metals IRA legally requires an IRS-approved trustee that holds title to the metal and files the annual tax paperwork. Ask a Goldco specialist which custodian your account will sit with, and check that firm's own record and complaint history separately.

Where does each firm store IRA metals?

Augusta names Delaware Depository as the storage partner on its gold IRA page. Goldco does not name a depository on its public IRA product pages. Home storage of IRA metal is not allowed under federal law (source: IRS collectibles issue snapshot). Ask each firm whether the quoted storage fee covers segregated storage, commingled storage, or both, and what the annual gap is.

Are the BBB ratings comparable?

Both firms display BBB signals on their public sites. Augusta cites an A plus BBB rating on its home page and gold IRA page. Goldco displays an A plus BBB badge with 4.8 stars on its home page. The live bbb.org profiles for both firms returned an anti-automation challenge during this session, so exact current ratings and complaint volumes should be verified directly at bbb.org before you fund either account.

Does either firm have SEC filings?

No. SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero filings for Augusta Precious Metals, Goldco Precious Metals, and Goldco Direct as of July 2026 (source: efts.sec.gov). Zero SEC filings is the expected result for a state-regulated physical coin and bar dealer. The SEC oversees securities issuers and registered investment advisers, categories that do not include a straight metals merchant. Read the identical result as neutral, not as a mark against either firm.

Which firm has the stronger buyback promise?

Goldco publishes a specific headline. The About page advertises a guaranteed highest buyback with no fees at liquidation. Augusta does not headline an equivalent buyback commitment on its gold IRA page and treats buyback as a specialist conversation. At both firms, the actionable version of the question is the same. Ask for the bid formula relative to daily spot in writing, and ask whether any wire or shipping charge would apply at the moment of sale.

Which firm is better for a white-metals investor?

For silver, both firms qualify: each runs a dedicated silver product line under the standard federal .999 fineness rule, and Goldco publishes a lower minimum (10,000 dollars) than Augusta prints anywhere on its site.

For platinum and palladium, neither firm publishes a dedicated IRA product page, so both require a bespoke sourcing conversation with a specialist. If your allocation leans heavily on platinum-group metals, our precious-metals IRA companies list highlights firms that publish a broader white-metals menu than either Augusta or Goldco.

If Augusta made your shortlist, this is the free next step.

Augusta's free company checklist and one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele is the on ramp we route qualifying Augusta inquiries through. It runs before any paperwork, before any spread quote, and before any wire is discussed. The 50,000 dollar recommended balance is the threshold. If your rollover clears that number and you want the fee ranges, the custodian name, and the depository name in a written packet you can compare against any competing firm, this is where to start.

Get the Augusta company checklist

Partner link. We may earn a commission if you open an account. No cost to you. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult a licensed advisor before any retirement decision.

Sources

  1. Augusta Precious Metals, gold IRA product page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com/gold-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Cited for the published custodian and storage ranges, the Equity Trust Company custodian name, the Delaware Depository storage name, the 50,000 dollar recommended minimum, the A plus BBB claim, the AAA BCA claim, the Money magazine editorial-recognition claim, the 5 percent spread reference, and the 25 percent spread refuse example.
  2. Augusta Precious Metals, silver IRA product page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com/silver-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Dedicated Silver IRA product confirmation; same custodian and depository as the gold page.
  3. Goldco Precious Metals, home page and structured data at goldco.com. Live-checked July 2026. Head office 24025 Park Sorrento, Suite 210, Calabasas, California 91302; sales line 855-450-1394; A plus BBB badge with 4.8 stars; Consumer Affairs 4.9 star badge; 8,000-plus five-star customer ratings marketing figure; Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service; Inc. 5000 nine-year recognition; 2025 Bronze Stevie Award. Not linked out per this review's editorial policy.
  4. Goldco Precious Metals, About page. Live-checked July 2026. Guaranteed highest buyback headline and no-fees-at-liquidation promise; identity statement centered on gold and silver. Not linked out per editorial policy.
  5. Goldco Precious Metals, Silver IRA product page. Live-checked July 2026. 10,000 dollar minimum purchase in the FAQ; .999 IRA fineness rule; rollover mechanics. Not linked out per editorial policy.
  6. Goldco Precious Metals, Gold IRA product page. Live-checked July 2026. Gold at .995, silver at .999, platinum and palladium at .9995 fineness minimums confirmed; no dollar fee schedule; no custodian name; no depository name. Not linked out per editorial policy.
  7. Goldco Precious Metals, /products/platinum-ira/ and /products/palladium-ira/ URLs. Live-checked July 2026. Both returned HTTP 404 templates. Not linked out per editorial policy.
  8. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search. URL: efts.sec.gov Augusta search and efts.sec.gov Goldco search. Both live-checked July 2026. Zero filings returned for each firm.
  9. Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. URL: law.cornell.edu 26 USC 408. Checked July 2026. Federal IRA fineness minimums under subsection (m) and the nonbank-trustee framework under subsection (n).
  10. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. URL: irs.gov Publication 590-A. Checked July 2026. Rollover and direct-transfer mechanics; 60 day rule; 20 percent mandatory withholding on qualified plan distributions.
  11. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. URL: irs.gov Publication 590-B. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution 10 percent additional tax and Required Minimum Distribution rules.
  12. Internal Revenue Service, Investments in Collectibles issue snapshot. URL: irs.gov collectibles issue snapshot. Checked July 2026. Home-storage prohibition; IRS-approved trustee requirement.
  13. Securities and Exchange Commission, investor bulletin on precious metals. URL: investor.gov precious metals. Checked July 2026. Regulatory overview of physical-metal investment risks.
  14. Better Business Bureau, business ratings framework. URL: bbb.org grade overview. Checked July 2026. Interpretive framework for the letter-rating claims on both firms' sites.
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment