Augusta Precious Metals vs Noble Gold Investments: An Objective Side-by-Side

gold IRA dealer Checklist

Affiliate disclosure: White Metal Resources holds an affiliate relationship with Augusta Precious Metals and may earn a commission when you open an account through the Augusta links on this page. We hold no affiliate relationship with Noble Gold Investments, we earn nothing if you choose it, and no link on this page points to noblegoldinvestments.com as an affiliate URL. This never changes what you pay or what we write. We are not financial or tax advisors. Consult a licensed advisor before making retirement decisions.

Quick answer: Augusta Precious Metals prints its annual fees in dollars (75 to 150 dollar custodian, 100 to 150 dollar storage), names Equity Trust Company and Delaware Depository, and asks a 50,000 dollar recommended balance. Noble Gold Investments publishes a lower 20,000 dollar Gold IRA and Silver IRA minimum and offers a Texas storage option (IDS Dallas) alongside Delaware, but does not publish fee dollars or the custodian name on its site. Both firms live-checked July 2026.

Short on time? The essentials

  • Two California precious-metals dealers. Augusta operates from Beverly Hills with a second office in Casper, Wyoming. Noble Gold Investments is headquartered in Pasadena, California and states it has been active since 2003 (source: augustapreciousmetals.com and noblegoldinvestments.com, live-checked July 2026).
  • Fee disclosure. Augusta publishes an annual custodian range (75 to 150 dollars) and an annual storage range (100 to 150 dollars) on its public gold IRA page. Noble Gold publishes a flat-fee claim on its Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages but does not print the dollar amounts on the site.
  • Counterparty disclosure. Augusta names Equity Trust Company as custodian and Delaware Depository as storage partner on the same page. Noble Gold names IDS in Dallas and a Delaware depository as storage partners on the Texas storage page. Noble Gold does not name the custodian on its public IRA pages.
  • Minimums. Augusta prints a 50,000 dollar recommended opening balance. Noble Gold publishes a 20,000 dollar Gold IRA and Silver IRA minimum on the respective product pages.
  • White-metals coverage. Both firms run dedicated Gold IRA and Silver IRA product pages. Neither firm sells a dedicated Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA landing page. Noble Gold does list platinum coins and palladium coins as add-on products that can sit inside a precious-metals IRA.
  • Third-party ratings. Augusta self-displays an A plus BBB rating and an AAA Business Consumer Alliance rating. Noble Gold self-displays an "A" BBB rating badge with an "accredited business" badge, and shows public review counts of 953 (Consumer Affairs), 777 (Google), 764 (Trustpilot), and 265 (BBB).
  • Regulator footprint. Both firms return zero SEC EDGAR filings, the expected result for a physical coin and bar dealer.
  • Sales style. Augusta describes its floor as salaried, not commissioned, and routes qualifying prospects through a free one on one web conference with Director of Education Devlyn Steele. Noble Gold offers a free consultation with no minimum required, then quotes the fee schedule specialist-side.

This side by side compares Augusta Precious Metals and Noble Gold Investments on the fields that matter to a national reader weighing a self-directed IRA in gold, silver, or one of the white metals.

Every figure below either points at what each company publishes on its own site, live-checked in July 2026, or at a public federal record. Where a company does not disclose a figure, we mark the row as not disclosed rather than fill the gap from second-hand sources.

One thing to be direct about before the comparison starts. Augusta is the one company White Metal Resources holds an affiliate relationship with. We disclose it here, at the top, and in the schema. We hold no affiliate relationship with Noble Gold Investments and receive no compensation if you contact that firm. The two guardrails on the review that follows are what each firm publishes and what the neutral federal record says. Nothing else.

How the two firms differ in one paragraph

The gap between these two dealers is not about the metal itself. Federal rules under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m) apply the same fineness thresholds and the same nonbank-trustee requirement to every IRA account regardless of dealer.

The gap sits at the level of who each firm is trying to reach. Augusta prices itself for a 50,000 dollar or larger rollover. In exchange, it publishes an annual custodian range, an annual storage range, the custodian name, and the depository name on a single product page.

Noble Gold prices itself for a 20,000 dollar entry point and offers a two-depository choice (Delaware and Texas). It keeps the fee dollars and the custodian name off the public pages, available only on a specialist call.

Both firms sell dedicated Gold IRAs and Silver IRAs. Neither firm publishes a dedicated Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA product page as of July 2026. Noble Gold does sell platinum and palladium coins as add-on products that can sit inside a precious-metals IRA account.

Augusta vs Noble Gold, at a glance

Augusta vs Noble Gold Investments, from each firm's public site, live-checked July 2026
CriterionAugusta Precious MetalsNoble Gold Investments
Minimum investment50,000 dollars recommended opening balance, printed on the gold IRA page.20,000 dollars, printed on both Gold IRA and Silver IRA product pages.
FeesAnnual custodian 75 to 150 dollars. Annual storage 100 to 150 dollars. Printed on the gold IRA page.Flat annual fee claim on Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages. Dollar amounts not published; released on specialist call.
Storage partnersDelaware Depository, named on the gold IRA page.IDS (International Depository Services) in Dallas, Texas, or a Delaware depository. Both named on the Texas storage page.
Custodian partnersEquity Trust Company, named on the gold IRA page.Not named on the Gold IRA or Silver IRA product pages. Released on specialist call.
BuybackNot headlined on the gold IRA product page. Handled specialist-side. Bid formula not published.Buyback program described on the Gold IRA page. Bid formula not published.
EducationFree written company checklist plus a one on one web conference with Director of Education Devlyn Steele. Salaried floor stated publicly.Free consultation with no minimum required, offered on both Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages. Fee schedule delivered on the call.
BBB rating (self-displayed)A plus rating, cited on home page and gold IRA page."A" rating badge and "BBB accredited business" badge, on home page.
TenureActive as a gold IRA dealer since 2012. Second office opened in Casper, Wyoming.Active in the industry since 2003, per company statement. Headquartered in Pasadena, California.

Sources: augustapreciousmetals.com gold IRA and silver IRA pages; noblegoldinvestments.com home, Gold IRA, Silver IRA, and Texas storage pages; efts.sec.gov full text search. All live-checked July 2026. Federal rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Publication 590-B.

Fee transparency: printed ranges versus flat-fee claim

Fee transparency is the largest structural wedge between these two firms on the public record. Read this section first, and treat everything below it as detail.

Augusta. The gold IRA page on augustapreciousmetals.com prints an annual custodian range of 75 to 150 dollars and an annual storage range of 100 to 150 dollars. The page names the custodian (Equity Trust Company) and the depository (Delaware Depository) so a reader can price the vendor cost against those two firms' own public schedules.

The dealer spread on any specific coin is not a fixed public number and must be requested in writing from a specialist. On the same page, Augusta warns against spreads above roughly 5 percent and cites a 25 percent spread as an example of a mark up to refuse (source: augustapreciousmetals.com, live-checked July 2026).

Noble Gold. Both the Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages state that Noble Gold offers flat annual fees so cost stays the same as the account grows. What the pages do not print is the dollar amount of the setup fee, the annual custodian fee, or the annual storage fee. A dedicated fees page URL returned a 404 template on live check in July 2026 (source: noblegoldinvestments.com Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages, live-checked July 2026).

For a national reader trying to price two IRAs side by side, that gap has one practical consequence. You can bracket the Augusta account at roughly 175 to 300 dollars a year in fixed vendor cost before any coin transaction, using only the public site.

You cannot bracket the Noble Gold account at all without a specialist call, because the dollars are not on the page. The flat-fee claim itself is credible in structure. It favors larger balances against a percentage-based schedule. It stays unverified in dollars until you request the schedule in writing. Our fee categories guide lays out where each cost lives.

Weighing Augusta as a shortlist option? Start with the free checklist.

Augusta lets a qualifying reader with 50,000 dollars or more in eligible retirement savings request a free written company checklist and a one on one web conference with Director of Education Devlyn Steele before any paperwork begins. That is the on ramp we route serious Augusta inquiries through, because it puts the fee ranges, the custodian name, and the depository name into a written packet you can compare against any competing firm.

Request the Augusta checklist

Partner link. We may earn a commission if you open an account. No cost to you. Past performance is not a guarantee of future results. Consult a licensed advisor before any retirement decision.

Minimums: 50,000 dollars versus 20,000 dollars

Minimums are where these two firms split most clearly on target reader.

Augusta. Publishes a recommended opening balance of 50,000 dollars on its gold IRA page. That figure is the operational gate to the free one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele and, in practice, to the retail relationship. It is not a hard federal minimum. Federal rules under 26 U.S.C. Section 408 impose no dollar floor on any self-directed IRA. Augusta chooses the 50,000 dollar number as a company threshold and prints it publicly.

Noble Gold. Publishes a 20,000 dollar minimum on both the Gold IRA and Silver IRA product pages. That is one of the more accessible published thresholds in the sector, and it is stated as a plain sentence rather than buried in a specialist quote. A free consultation with no minimum required is also offered on both product pages, framed as a way to speak with a specialist before deciding whether to move funds.

For a saver whose rollover sits between 20,000 and 50,000 dollars, Noble Gold is the only one of the two firms whose published minimum you can meet on the site alone. For a saver at 50,000 dollars or above who wants a written education packet before the phone call, Augusta becomes reachable and its full fee-range plus counterparty disclosure kicks in.

Custodian and depository, named or not named

A precious-metals IRA is a three-party arrangement. The dealer sells you the coins. A federally approved trustee holds legal title to the account. A private vault holds physical custody of the metal. Each of the three has its own fee schedule and its own compliance record. Reading only the dealer page misses two thirds of your annual cost.

Augusta. Names Equity Trust Company as the custodian on its own gold IRA page. Names Delaware Depository as the storage partner on the same page. Both are established, IRS-approved counterparties. That two-firm disclosure lets you cross-check the Equity Trust fee schedule at trustetc.com and the Delaware Depository storage terms on that firm's own site before any Augusta paperwork moves.

Noble Gold. The storage partners are named on the Texas storage page: IDS (International Depository Services) in Dallas, Texas, and a Delaware depository the site says has served as the default location since inception. The custodian name is not printed on either the Gold IRA or Silver IRA page. It has to come from a specialist call.

The missing custodian name on the Noble Gold public site is not, on its own, a reason to rule the firm out. Every compliant dealer works with a real custodian and a real depository somewhere in the chain. It is a reason to slow down until you have the custodian name in writing on a signed schedule, and to check that firm's separate BBB record and fee schedule before you sign a transfer form.

Storage locations: Delaware versus Delaware plus Texas

Federal law requires IRA metals to sit with an IRS-approved trustee, not at home (source: IRS collectibles issue snapshot). Both firms name a Delaware option. Only Noble Gold names a second option publicly.

Augusta. Delaware Depository, named on the gold IRA page. Delaware Depository operates one of the two largest private precious-metals vaults in the United States and has served the retail IRA business for decades. Ask Augusta whether the quoted storage range covers segregated or commingled storage, and what the annual gap is between the two options.

Noble Gold. Two named options: IDS Dallas or a Delaware depository. The Texas storage page describes IDS as its private secure depository facility in the south, added on top of the original Delaware option. The site also states account holders can visit the storage facility to see their physical gold, silver, and other precious-metal investments in person, subject to depository scheduling.

A two-depository choice is a useful feature for a saver who prefers a specific state jurisdiction (Texas has a distinct precious-metals depository framework separate from Delaware). It is not, on its own, a reason to pick Noble Gold over Augusta if the other factors point the other way. Ask each firm whether the quoted storage fee covers segregated versus commingled storage, and confirm the annual difference before you fund the account.

Silver, platinum, and palladium at each firm

This is the section that decides most white-metals inquiries at either firm before any other consideration.

Silver, both firms. Both dealers run a dedicated silver product line. Augusta has a Silver IRA page on the same navigation footing as its Gold IRA page, using the same custodian and depository. Noble Gold has a Silver IRA product page with the same 20,000 dollar minimum, the same flat-fee claim, and the same storage options as its Gold IRA. Silver is a first-class product at both firms.

Platinum, both firms. Neither firm sells a dedicated Platinum IRA product on the public site as of July 2026. Augusta references platinum only in generic IRS-eligibility copy on its gold IRA page. Noble Gold runs a platinum coins product page under /invest/platinum-coins/ but did not have a dedicated /platinum-ira/ URL on live check in July 2026. Platinum coins from Noble Gold can be added to a precious-metals IRA alongside your gold or silver holdings.

If platinum is part of your intended allocation, ask each firm directly on the intake call whether platinum can be sourced against your account and at what dealer spread. IRA-eligible platinum must be at least .9995 fine under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m).

Palladium, both firms. Same story. Neither firm publishes a dedicated Palladium IRA product page. Augusta names palladium among the four IRS-eligible metals in generic educational copy. Noble Gold sells IRA-eligible palladium coins as a separate product line under /invest/palladium-coins/, addable to a precious-metals IRA. IRA-eligible palladium must be at least .9995 fine under federal rules.

The honest read is that both firms are gold and silver specialists with limited public white-metals coverage. Augusta shows that limit in the product-page structure of its site. Noble Gold shows it through separate coin product pages rather than a dedicated Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA landing page. See our white metals IRA primer, platinum IRA guide, and palladium IRA guide for how each metal behaves inside a retirement account.

You may also like:  New Century Gold Review

Buyback commitment, parsed on both sides

Buyback is one of the few sections where neither firm publishes a bid formula on the public site, so the framing has to come from the specialist call.

Augusta. Does not carry a buyback headline on the gold IRA product page. Augusta describes buyback as a specialist conversation rather than a marketing block. Ask what percentage below the daily spot price the typical buyback bid sits, and whether that percentage changes for coins Augusta did not originally sell you.

Noble Gold. Describes a buyback program on the Gold IRA page. It is framed as a service that helps account holders convert metal back to cash at distribution time or account closure. The Gold IRA page does not publish a dollar-for-dollar buyback price formula.

Ask a Noble Gold specialist the same question you would ask Augusta. What percentage below daily spot the typical bid sits, and whether coins the firm did not originally sell you are eligible.

At both firms, the actionable version of the buyback question is the same. Ask for the bid formula in writing before you commit funds. A written formula lets you compare the same math against any competing dealer.

Public record: BBB, SEC, and consumer ratings

Four separate public sources tell you different things about a precious-metals dealer. Read them in sequence, not in isolation, and give the regulatory records more weight than the marketing signals.

Better Business Bureau. Augusta self-displays an A plus BBB rating on its home page and gold IRA page. Noble Gold self-displays an "A" rating badge and a "BBB accredited business" badge on its home page.

The live bbb.org profiles for both firms returned an anti-automation challenge during this session. Current letter rating and complaint volume could not be re-verified through a scripted fetch for either firm. Verify each profile directly at bbb.org for Augusta and bbb.org for Noble Gold before you fund an account.

Business Consumer Alliance and Consumer Affairs. Augusta cites an AAA rating from the Business Consumer Alliance on its gold IRA page. Noble Gold displays a Consumer Affairs badge with 953 reviews on its home page (plus 777 Google reviews, 764 Trustpilot reviews, and 265 BBB reviews). Both are private consumer-rating bodies, not regulatory licenses, and either firm's rating should be verified on the rating body's own site before you rely on it.

SEC EDGAR. A full-text search on the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission EDGAR system returned zero filings for either Augusta Precious Metals or Noble Gold Investments as of July 2026 (source: efts.sec.gov). Zero SEC filings is the expected result for a state-regulated physical coin and bar dealer.

The SEC oversees securities issuers and registered investment advisers, categories that do not include a straight metals merchant. Read the identical result for both firms as neutral, not as a red flag against either one.

Third-party endorsement. Augusta cites Money magazine editorial recognition as Best Overall Gold IRA Company every year since 2022. Noble Gold cites cumulative review-platform counts approaching 2,800 across four platforms, plus a company statement of over 2.5 billion dollars in retirement wealth safeguarded. Both categories of recognition are private, and neither substitutes for a fee schedule, a named custodian, or a current BBB record.

Sales structure: education-first versus consultation-first

The two firms use noticeably different intake language on their public sites, and that language often shapes what the first phone call feels like.

Augusta describes its sales floor as salaried rather than commissioned. It routes serious prospects through a free one on one web conference with Devlyn Steele, its Director of Education, before any coin discussion happens. The pitch verbs used across the site are Learn, Talk, Decide. That structure suits a reader who wants a longer intake and a real education layer between the phone rep and the paperwork.

Noble Gold offers a free consultation with no minimum required on both product pages, framed as a way to speak with a specialist before deciding whether to move funds. The consultation is where the fee schedule is delivered. That structure suits a reader who prefers to start with a phone conversation, hear the numbers spoken aloud, and ask questions in real time rather than read a written packet first.

Neither style is inherently better. The Augusta approach forces a slower intake and a specific gatekeeper. The Noble Gold approach depends more heavily on what the individual specialist chooses to put in writing after the initial contact. Both are consistent with a compliant self-directed IRA sale under 26 U.S.C. Section 408.

Pros and cons of each firm

Where Augusta looks visibly stronger

  • Prints an annual custodian range and an annual storage range on the public gold IRA page, both in dollars. Rare in this sector.
  • Names both counterparties on the same page: Equity Trust Company and Delaware Depository. Both are IRS-approved.
  • Runs a dedicated Silver IRA page on the same nav footing as the gold page.
  • Publishes a recommended minimum (50,000 dollars) so a larger saver can rule the firm out or in from the site alone.
  • Uses a salaried, non-commissioned sales structure and states so publicly. Removes the per-sale coin-upsell incentive at the specialist stage.
  • Warns readers against dealer spreads above roughly 5 percent on its own site.

Where Augusta looks weaker

  • Requires a 50,000 dollar operational minimum that rules out smaller rollovers and contribution-based IRAs.
  • Fees are ranges rather than single flat numbers. Useful as a bracket, not a substitute for a written schedule.
  • No dedicated Platinum or Palladium IRA product on the public site. Both metals appear only in generic IRS-eligibility copy.
  • Names only one depository (Delaware). A saver who prefers a Texas jurisdiction has to look elsewhere for that specific option.

Where Noble Gold looks visibly stronger

  • Publishes a 20,000 dollar Gold IRA and Silver IRA minimum, one of the more accessible published thresholds in the sector.
  • Names two depository options publicly: IDS Dallas and a Delaware depository. Useful for a saver who prefers Texas jurisdiction.
  • Runs dedicated Gold IRA and Silver IRA product pages with the same terms, minimum, and storage options.
  • Sells platinum coins and palladium coins as separate product pages, addable to a precious-metals IRA alongside gold or silver.
  • Long operating history, active in the industry since 2003 per company statement.
  • Free consultation with no minimum required, offered on both product pages.

Where Noble Gold looks weaker

  • Fee dollars are not published on the Gold IRA or Silver IRA product pages. Flat-fee claim is unverified until you request the schedule.
  • Custodian is not named on the Gold IRA or Silver IRA product page. Ask for the custodian name in writing.
  • No dedicated Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA product page, though both metals are sold as add-on coins.
  • Buyback program described without a bid formula relative to spot.

Which reader each firm fits

The recommendation logic below is match-first, not judgment-first. Each firm fits a specific reader profile. The wrong match at either dealer is a friction cost, not a compliance risk.

Match Augusta when your rollover balance is 50,000 dollars or more. Match Augusta when you want the fee ranges and the counterparty names printed on the public site before you make contact. Match Augusta when you value a written education packet with a named third-party educator (Devlyn Steele) before you speak with a salesperson. And when you are comfortable with a single Delaware depository as the storage jurisdiction.

If your accountant and your advisor are already in the loop, the Learn Talk Decide flow adds structure. If they are not, the flow forces you to acquire structure before you sign.

Match Noble Gold when your rollover balance sits between 20,000 and 50,000 dollars and you cannot yet meet the Augusta threshold. Match Noble Gold when you prefer to hear the fee schedule spoken on a phone consultation rather than read a written packet first.

Match Noble Gold when you want a Texas depository option (IDS Dallas) named on the public site. Or when you plan to hold platinum coins or palladium coins as add-ons inside a precious-metals IRA, rather than as a dedicated Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA product line.

For readers whose preferences do not match either firm, our precious-metals IRA companies list is the place to compare firms side by side, and our dealer selection checklist lays out the written criteria we run against every firm.

When any precious-metals IRA is the wrong move

An honest side by side has to flag when the whole product category is a poor fit, not only when one firm beats the other. If any of the following describes your situation, slow down and consult a licensed advisor before choosing between dealers at all.

  • You may need the cash within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum, and palladium can move sharply in short periods, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again on the way out. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B). Nobody can predict where metal prices will go over any given holding period.
  • Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual fees plus the dealer spread punish small accounts hardest, because the same dollar cost is a much larger percentage of a smaller balance. That is the operational reason Augusta prints a 50,000 dollar minimum on its own site.
  • You do not have other retirement savings yet. A physical-metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base of retirement savings, not in place of one. A diversified plan works better than a single-asset bet.
  • You are chasing a guaranteed return. Any pitch that promises specific target prices or guaranteed gains is the pattern federal regulators have historically acted on, not an opportunity (source: SEC investor.gov).
  • You have not talked to your accountant. A rollover has tax reporting steps that flow through Form 5498 and, if the rollover misses the 60 day deadline, through Form 1099-R as a taxable distribution. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before any dollars move.

Questions readers ask most about the two firms

Is Augusta or Noble Gold cheaper?

Nobody can answer that from the public sites alone. Augusta publishes an annual custodian range of 75 to 150 dollars and an annual storage range of 100 to 150 dollars on its gold IRA page. Noble Gold describes flat annual fees on its Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages but does not print the dollar amounts.

Ask Noble Gold for the full written schedule and compare it against the Augusta bracket. The dealer spread on the coin, not the fixed annual fees, is the largest single lifetime cost at either firm.

Which firm has the lower minimum investment?

Noble Gold. The site publishes a 20,000 dollar minimum on both the Gold IRA and Silver IRA product pages, checked July 2026. Augusta publishes a 50,000 dollar recommended opening balance on its gold IRA page.

For a saver whose rollover sits between 20,000 and 50,000 dollars, Noble Gold is the only firm of the two whose published minimum you can meet from the site alone. Ask each firm to confirm the minimum by rollover balance and by first metal purchase in writing before you commit.

Do either Augusta or Noble Gold offer a Platinum IRA?

Not as a dedicated public product line at either firm as of July 2026. Augusta references platinum only in generic IRS-eligibility copy on its gold IRA page. Noble Gold runs a platinum coins product page (/invest/platinum-coins/) but did not have a dedicated Platinum IRA URL on live check in July 2026.

Noble Gold's platinum coins can be added inside a precious-metals IRA alongside gold or silver. Ask each specialist directly whether platinum can be sourced against your account and at what dealer spread. IRA-eligible platinum must be at least .9995 fine under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m).

Do either firm offer a Palladium IRA?

Same answer as platinum. Neither firm publishes a dedicated Palladium IRA product page. Augusta names palladium in generic IRS-eligibility copy. Noble Gold runs a palladium coins product page (/invest/palladium-coins/) that can add palladium coins to a precious-metals IRA. IRA-eligible palladium must be at least .9995 fine under federal rules. A portfolio built primarily on palladium is not a match for either firm's visible public product line without a bespoke sourcing conversation on the specialist call.

Who is the custodian at each firm?

Augusta names Equity Trust Company as the custodian on its own gold IRA page. Noble Gold does not name a custodian on its Gold IRA or Silver IRA product pages. Every self-directed precious-metals IRA legally requires an IRS-approved trustee that holds title to the metal and files the annual tax paperwork. Ask a Noble Gold specialist which custodian your account will sit with, and check that firm's own record and complaint history separately.

Where does each firm store IRA metals?

Augusta names Delaware Depository as the storage partner on its gold IRA page. Noble Gold names two options on its Texas storage page: IDS (International Depository Services) in Dallas, Texas, and a Delaware depository the site describes as the default location since inception.

Home storage of IRA metal is not allowed under federal law (source: IRS collectibles issue snapshot). Ask each firm whether the quoted storage fee covers segregated storage, commingled storage, or both, and what the annual gap is.

Are the BBB ratings comparable?

Both firms display BBB signals on their public sites. Augusta cites an A plus BBB rating on its home page and gold IRA page. Noble Gold displays an "A" rating badge with an "accredited business" badge on its home page. The live bbb.org profiles for both firms returned an anti-automation challenge during this session, so exact current ratings and complaint volumes should be verified directly at bbb.org before you fund either account.

Does either firm have SEC filings?

No. SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero filings for Augusta Precious Metals and Noble Gold Investments as of July 2026 (source: efts.sec.gov). Zero SEC filings is the expected result for a state-regulated physical coin and bar dealer. The SEC oversees securities issuers and registered investment advisers, categories that do not include a straight metals merchant. Read the identical result as neutral, not as a mark against either firm.

Which firm has the stronger buyback program?

Neither firm publishes a bid formula relative to daily spot on its public site. Noble Gold describes a buyback program on its Gold IRA page as a service to convert metal back to cash. Augusta treats buyback as a specialist conversation and does not headline a commitment on the gold IRA page.

At both firms, the actionable version of the question is the same. Ask for the bid formula relative to daily spot in writing. Ask whether any wire or shipping charge would apply at the moment of sale.

Which firm is better for a white-metals investor?

For silver, both firms qualify: each runs a dedicated silver product line under the standard federal .999 fineness rule. Noble Gold publishes a lower minimum (20,000 dollars) than Augusta prints anywhere on its site (50,000 dollars).

For platinum and palladium, neither firm publishes a dedicated IRA product page. Noble Gold sells platinum coins and palladium coins as separate product lines addable to a precious-metals IRA, which gives a shopper more visibility into what is available. If your allocation leans heavily on platinum-group metals, our precious-metals IRA companies list highlights firms that publish a broader white-metals menu than either Augusta or Noble Gold.

Sources

  1. Augusta Precious Metals, gold IRA product page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com/gold-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Cited for the published custodian and storage ranges, the Equity Trust Company custodian name, the Delaware Depository storage name, the 50,000 dollar recommended minimum, the A plus BBB claim, the AAA BCA claim, the Money magazine editorial-recognition claim, the 5 percent spread reference, and the 25 percent spread refuse example.
  2. Augusta Precious Metals, silver IRA product page. URL: augustapreciousmetals.com/silver-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. Dedicated Silver IRA product confirmation; same custodian and depository as the gold page.
  3. Noble Gold Investments, home page. URL: noblegoldinvestments.com. Live-checked July 2026. 2003 industry-start date; over 2.5 billion dollar retirement-wealth statement; review-platform counts of 953 (Consumer Affairs), 777 (Google), 764 (Trustpilot), and 265 (BBB); "A" BBB badge; "accredited business" badge.
  4. Noble Gold Investments, Gold IRA product page. URL: noblegoldinvestments.com/invest/gold-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. 20,000 dollar minimum; flat annual fee language; buyback description; free consultation offer.
  5. Noble Gold Investments, Silver IRA product page. URL: noblegoldinvestments.com/invest/silver-ira/. Live-checked July 2026. 20,000 dollar minimum; flat annual fee language.
  6. Noble Gold Investments, Texas storage page. URL: noblegoldinvestments.com/invest/texas-storage/. Live-checked July 2026. IDS Dallas partnership; Delaware depository as default location since inception; in-person visit policy.
  7. Noble Gold Investments, platinum coins product page. URL: noblegoldinvestments.com/invest/platinum-coins/. Live-checked July 2026.
  8. Noble Gold Investments, palladium coins product page. URL: noblegoldinvestments.com/invest/palladium-coins/. Live-checked July 2026.
  9. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search. URL: efts.sec.gov Augusta search and efts.sec.gov Noble Gold search. Both live-checked July 2026. Zero filings returned for each firm.
  10. Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. URL: law.cornell.edu 26 USC 408. Checked July 2026. Federal IRA fineness minimums under subsection (m) and the nonbank-trustee framework under subsection (n).
  11. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. URL: irs.gov Publication 590-A. Checked July 2026. Rollover and direct-transfer mechanics; 60 day rule; 20 percent mandatory withholding on qualified plan distributions.
  12. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. URL: irs.gov Publication 590-B. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution 10 percent additional tax and Required Minimum Distribution rules.
  13. Internal Revenue Service, Investments in Collectibles issue snapshot. URL: irs.gov collectibles issue snapshot. Checked July 2026. Home-storage prohibition; IRS-approved trustee requirement.
  14. Securities and Exchange Commission, investor bulletin on precious metals. URL: investor.gov precious metals. Checked July 2026. Regulatory overview of physical-metal investment risks.
  15. Better Business Bureau, business ratings framework. URL: bbb.org grade overview. Checked July 2026. Interpretive framework for the letter-rating claims on both firms' sites.
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment