Last updated: July 13, 2026 · By White Metal Resources Editorial
Quick answer: Freedom Shield Capital was a Los Angeles precious-metals dealer that sold gold and silver, and marketed a Crypto IRA alongside its precious-metals IRA. As of July 2026 the live domain freedomshieldcapital.com does not resolve. The only company-authored record available to a prospective buyer is a Wayback Machine capture carrying a 2023 imprint (per web.archive.org, checked July 2026, and DNS resolution failure locally, checked July 2026).
What makes this review different is that the fee schedule, the custodian, and the depository were never fixed in a written dollar figure on the archived site. A third-party review desk described the model as a one-time service fee. It said storage was waived for first-time investors committing 50,000 dollars or more, and shipping was free above 10,000 dollars (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review dated November 18, 2023, checked July 2026).
We report both halves of the record, and we do not link out to the company site.
Short on time? The essentials
- Public brand: Freedom Shield Capital, at freedomshieldcapital.com. The live domain did not resolve during our July 2026 session (local DNS lookup returned name not known, checked July 2026).
- Archived headquarters, per the 2023 Wayback Machine capture of the company home page: 12100 Wilshire Blvd Suite 800, Los Angeles, CA 90025, with sales phone 855-341-9222 and fax 888-312-4369 (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026).
- Founder, per a competing review desk that ran an editorial profile in November 2023: Cody Roeder (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026). Not independently verified from an SEC or state-registry document this session.
- Metals sold on the archived home page: gold and silver. Platinum coin listings on the home page: 0. Palladium coin listings on the home page: 0 (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026).
- Third product category on the archived site: a Crypto IRA marketed alongside the gold and silver IRAs (per web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026).
- Fee model as summarized by a third-party review desk in November 2023: a one-time service fee, no commission, storage fees waived for a first-time investor committing 50,000 dollars or more, and free shipping on orders over 10,000 dollars (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026). The dollar amount of the one-time service fee was not published.
- Guarantee language present on the archived home page: “100 percent forever guaranteed on their principal” (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026). Precious metals cannot honestly be principal-guaranteed at the retail level, which is why the CFTC customer advisory below matters here.
- Product listed on the archived home page but not IRA-eligible in that form: the Gold Krugerrand, at 22-karat, does not meet the 0.995 IRA-fineness floor under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3) (per Cornell Legal Information Institute, checked July 2026).
- Third-party reputation footprint as summarized in November 2023: one BBB customer review, six Trustpilot reviews averaging 4.2, five Google reviews averaging 5.0, two Yelp reviews averaging 3.0, and one ConsumerAffairs review averaging 5.0 (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026). This desk could not verify any of these figures directly during our July 2026 session, since bbb.org, trustpilot.com and consumeraffairs.com all returned bot-challenge responses.
- Corporate footprint as summarized in November 2023: 11 to 50 employees and 76 followers on LinkedIn, 48 subscribers and 13 videos with 545,248 total views on a YouTube channel opened February 4, 2022 (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026).
- Federal record: 0 filings under the exact string “Freedom Shield Capital” on SEC EDGAR full-text search across January 2020 to July 2026, checked July 2026.
- Not publicly disclosed anywhere in the record we could review this session: the named self-directed IRA custodian, the named depository, the dollar amount of the one-time service fee, the annual storage fee, the dealer spread above spot, and the buyback pricing formula.
Most precious-metals-dealer reviews start with a live website and end with a footnote about fees. This one starts with a domain that no longer resolves. Freedom Shield Capital was a small Los Angeles precious-metals firm that opened around 2021, and its own public site is no longer reachable from an ordinary connection in July 2026. That fact reshapes the review, because a prospective buyer cannot open the company's fee page tonight and read it.
What follows is built from three sources: the Wayback Machine capture of freedomshieldcapital.com carrying a 2023 imprint, a competing review desk that ran an editorial profile in November 2023, and public federal databases we could reach directly this session. Everything else is either not disclosed publicly or was not verifiable this session, and we say so.
The archived record is the record
The live domain freedomshieldcapital.com did not resolve during our July 2026 session. A Python socket lookup on the domain returned the error “Name or service not known,” and a curl request timed out with exit code 6 for the same reason (checked July 2026 from this desk). We ran the same lookup on google.com from the same environment as a control, and google.com resolved normally.
The Wayback Machine at web.archive.org holds captures of the company home page carrying a 2023 imprint. That home page describes a Los Angeles precious-metals dealer selling Gold IRA, Silver IRA and Crypto IRA products. The archived sales phone is 855-341-9222. The archived corporate address is 12100 Wilshire Blvd Suite 800, Los Angeles, CA 90025 (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026).
A prospective buyer looking at this dealer today has three data problems in one. The company site cannot be read live. The fee schedule was never published as a dollar figure even when the site was up. And a third-party review desk that profiled the firm in November 2023 already flagged the site as “non-functioning” at that time (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026).
A US precious-metals-IRA transaction moves five figures or six figures of tax-advantaged money into a physical asset held by a third-party trustee. That kind of transfer belongs on paper: a written fee schedule, a named custodian, a named depository, and a written buyback formula. When those items live only in an archived screenshot, treat the transaction as high-friction until the company itself re-publishes them on a live site or on a signed engagement letter.
How this company handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs
White-metals coverage is where precious-metals dealers actually differ, and this review is written for a whitemetalres.com reader. Freedom Shield Capital, on the archived home page, offered two of the four precious metals commonly named in the sector, and the two white metals that carry the highest statutory purity floors were absent.
Silver. Silver was on the menu. The archived home page lists four silver items by product name. They are Silver ATB (America the Beautiful), a Silver Round priced at 39.99 dollars, a Silver Freedom Girl Shield coin, and a Silver Monster Box priced at 20,199.99 dollars (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026).
Silver bullion coins and bars at 0.999 fineness meet the IRA-purity floor under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3) (per Cornell Legal Information Institute, checked July 2026). The archived listings do not print the exact fineness on the home page.
Platinum. Platinum was absent from the home-page product menu, the top navigation, and the “Shop Our Selection of Precious Metals” block on the archived home page. No platinum coin and no platinum bar appear in the archived home-page inventory (per web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026). A reader building a platinum sleeve should therefore not treat this dealer as an option, based on the archived record.
Palladium. Palladium was also absent from the home-page product menu, the top navigation, and the archived shop block. No palladium coin and no palladium bar appear in the archived home-page inventory (per web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026). Palladium coins and bars at 0.9995 fineness are permitted in a self-directed IRA under federal statute (per Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3), checked July 2026). A reader building a palladium sleeve should look elsewhere.
Crypto IRA. The archived home page separately marketed a Crypto IRA product alongside the Gold IRA and the Silver IRA. That is a different asset class with a different custodian and a different depository model, and it does not belong in the same evaluation as physical white-metals coverage.
Read our silver IRA guide, platinum IRA primer and palladium IRA primer before you compare dealers. Statutory purity, refiner recognition and the segregated-versus-commingled decision matter more for the two absent white metals, because the retail float is thinner and the buyback markets are narrower.
The fee model, as it was described in 2023
The archived home page does not print a fee schedule as dollar figures. It uses the phrase “transparent one-time service fee model” in narrative language, without printing the amount of that fee (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026).
A competing review desk that ran an editorial profile of the company in November 2023 summarized the fee structure in four lines. A one-time service fee at account initiation, with no commission on the purchase. Storage fees waived for a first-time investor committing 50,000 dollars or more, per the same summary. Free shipping on physical-delivery orders over 10,000 dollars, and a shipping fee on smaller orders (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026).
Two questions the summary does not answer. First, the dollar amount of the one-time service fee. Second, the storage-fee rate that would apply to a first-time investor committing less than 50,000 dollars, or to any client renewing storage after year one.
Six operational items were still off the archived public site as of the 2023 imprint. The named self-directed IRA custodian. The named IRS-approved depository. The dollar amount of the setup or service fee. The annual storage fee once the first-year waiver expires or does not apply. The dealer spread above the same-day spot price on each metal. And the buyback pricing formula on a same-day sale (per web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026).
A guarantee sentence that does not belong on this kind of page
One line in the archived home-page copy is worth pulling out in full, because it sits at the edge of what the CFTC and the FTC will accept in retail precious-metals marketing. The archived page reads that clients have “worry-free reassurance that their affluence is absolutely insured and 100 percent forever guaranteed on their principal” (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026).
Physical gold, silver, platinum and palladium cannot be principal-guaranteed at the retail level. The metal price rises and falls with the spot market, and a physical position sold in a down market realizes a loss on the sale. The CFTC publishes a standing customer advisory titled “Beware of Gold and Silver Schemes Designed to Drain Your Retirement Savings,” which addresses exactly this class of assurance in retail marketing (per cftc.gov, checked July 2026).
A second concern sits in the same archived inventory. The home page lists a Gold Krugerrand as a featured product at 2,500 dollars (per web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026). The South African Krugerrand is a 22-karat coin at 91.67 percent gold fineness.
It does not meet the 0.995 IRA-fineness floor under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3), and it is not IRA-eligible in that form (per Cornell Legal Information Institute, checked July 2026). A retirement-money buyer therefore should not treat that specific listing as an IRA vehicle without confirming it in writing.
Rare coins and numismatic coins were also part of the product mix, per the third-party summary. Rare coins carry a premium above bullion melt value that is separate from the metal spot price. That premium is where numismatic upsell risk sits in this sector, and the standard defense is to buy only sector-standard bullion coins with a documented spot-plus spread (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026).
Reputation snapshots as summarized in November 2023
A prospective buyer today cannot pull the same third-party reputation scores this desk could pull in November 2023. Direct fetches to bbb.org, trustpilot.com and consumeraffairs.com during our July 2026 session returned bot-challenge responses on each attempt, and no rating score could be verified from this desk. Any reader can enter the exact string “Freedom Shield Capital” on each of those three sites from a personal browser to read the current record.
What can be reported second-hand, with attribution, is the snapshot that a competing review desk documented on the same platforms in November 2023. On the Better Business Bureau: an A rating with no accreditation, and one customer review at 5 stars. On Trustpilot: a 4.2 average across six reviews, on a verified profile.
On Google Reviews: a 5.0 average across five reviews. On Yelp: a 3.0 average across two reviews. On ConsumerAffairs: a 5.0 average across one review (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026).
Two structural signals sit inside those numbers. First, the total number of third-party reviews across all five platforms in November 2023 was fifteen. Fifteen is a very small sample for any dealer, and it is a smaller sample than what appears on most established precious-metals dealers. Second, no single platform had more than six reviews. That distribution supports a “small footprint” reading of the firm at that point in time.
The corporate-footprint figures line up with the review-count figures. LinkedIn reported 11 to 50 employees and 76 followers. The YouTube channel @freedomshieldcapital was opened February 4, 2022. It reported 48 subscribers, 13 videos and 545,248 total views (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026, and Brave Search index confirming the same channel, checked July 2026). None of these figures is a rating. They are footprint counts, and they are worth reading against the review counts above.
The competing review desk paraphrased a complaint from a customer named as “Steve,” alleging a loss of over 55,000 dollars and accusing the founder of taking money without delivery (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026). We report this as a paraphrased third-party allegation, not as a verified fact. A reader who wants to test it should search bbb.org, ripoffreport.com and Google for the specific complaint text or party names before drawing a conclusion.
The federal record, as of July 2026
A read of the public federal record is where a retirement-money review has to spend real time. We report the record as-checked in July 2026, and we mark what we could not verify this session.
SEC EDGAR. A full-text EDGAR search on the exact string “Freedom Shield Capital” across January 1, 2020 to July 13, 2026 returned 0 filings (per efts.sec.gov query, checked July 2026). That is what a reader would expect for a small privately held dealer that is not selling registered securities. It is a clean result on that specific record.
CFTC public releases. No CFTC press release naming Freedom Shield Capital as a defendant, respondent or subject of an advisory was located in the searches we ran during our July 2026 session. Readers should still consult the CFTC standing customer advisory on precious-metals fraud patterns, cited above, before any specialist call on any dealer in this sector.
Better Business Bureau. The bbb.org profile page and the search page each returned a bot-challenge response during our July 2026 session, so the current BBB rating, current accreditation status and current complaint count could not be verified from this desk. Any reader can enter “Freedom Shield Capital” and the Los Angeles, California area on bbb.org from a personal browser to read the current profile directly.
State-level record. California keeps several public registries a retirement-money buyer can search for a dealer in this sector. Two of them are the California Secretary of State bizfile portal for corporate formation and the California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation for lender or MSB actions. Neither returned a positive match on the exact string “Freedom Shield Capital” in the searches we ran during our July 2026 session, and neither returned a negative disciplinary hit either.
Freedom Shield Capital at a glance
The table below reports only fields the archived company site itself published, or the federal record itself confirms. Fields the record does not answer are marked as such, so the specialist-call ask list is written down for you.
| Field | What the record shows | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Public brand | Freedom Shield Capital | web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Live domain status | Domain freedomshieldcapital.com does not resolve. Local socket lookup returned name not known, and curl returned exit code 6 (name resolution failure). | Local DNS lookup, July 2026 |
| Archived headquarters address | 12100 Wilshire Blvd Suite 800, Los Angeles, CA 90025 | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Archived sales phone | 855-341-9222 | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Archived fax | 888-312-4369 | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Archived email | info@freedomshieldcapital.com and corporate@freedomshieldcapital.com | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Founder, per a third-party review desk | Cody Roeder. Not independently verified from an SEC or state registry document this session. | iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, November 2023, checked July 2026 |
| Metals sold on the archived home page | Gold and silver. Platinum and palladium are absent from the archived product menu and the top navigation. | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Third product category on the archived site | Crypto IRA (separate asset class from physical precious metals) | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Fee model, as summarized third-party | One-time service fee, no commission. Storage waived for a first-time investor at 50,000 dollars or more. Free shipping over 10,000 dollars. | iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, November 2023, checked July 2026 |
| Dollar amount of the one-time service fee | Not publicly disclosed | web.archive.org capture and iraempire.com summary, July 2026 |
| Named self-directed IRA custodian | Not publicly disclosed | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Named IRS-approved depository | Not publicly disclosed | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Annual storage fee once the first-year waiver ends | Not publicly disclosed as a dollar amount or a percentage of holdings | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Dealer spread above spot per metal | Not publicly disclosed as a written percentage band | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Buyback pricing formula | Not publicly disclosed as a written formula | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026 |
| Guarantee language present on the archived home page | “100 percent forever guaranteed on their principal.” This is the class of assurance the CFTC customer advisory flags in retail precious-metals marketing. | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026; cftc.gov advisory, July 2026 |
| Gold Krugerrand listed at 2,500 dollars | Listed on the archived home page as a featured product. Not IRA-eligible at 22-karat under the 0.995 fineness floor. | web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, July 2026; 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3), July 2026 |
| Third-party ratings, per the November 2023 third-party summary | BBB A rating with no accreditation (1 review). Trustpilot 4.2 (6 reviews). Google 5.0 (5 reviews). Yelp 3.0 (2 reviews). ConsumerAffairs 5.0 (1 review). Third-party ratings not independently verified this session. | iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, November 2023, checked July 2026 |
| Corporate footprint, per the November 2023 third-party summary | LinkedIn 11-50 employees and 76 followers. YouTube 48 subscribers, 13 videos, 545,248 total views, channel opened February 4, 2022. | iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, November 2023, checked July 2026 |
| SEC EDGAR full-text search | 0 filings under the exact string “Freedom Shield Capital” between January 1, 2020 and July 13, 2026 | efts.sec.gov, July 2026 |
Sources: Wayback Machine capture of freedomshieldcapital.com carrying a 2023 imprint, checked July 2026. IraEmpire Freedom Shield Capital review dated November 18, 2023, checked July 2026. SEC EDGAR full-text search, checked July 2026. Statutory purity and trustee-custody rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3) and IRS Publications 590-A and 590-B.
What annual fees cost your balance over time
Freedom Shield Capital did not publish a dollar-figure fee schedule on its own site during the period we can verify. The setup fee, the annual storage fee, the annual custodian fee, the dealer spread on each metal, and the buyback formula are all off the archived record. The calculator below runs the standard fee-drag math with whatever numbers a specialist quotes you. Use it on any dealer, and use it before you sign a transfer form.
Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator
Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.
Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

The point of running the calculator on a written quote is not to argue with a specific line item. It is to see, in real dollars, what a specific bundle of fees takes out of a specific balance across 10 or 20 years. Once the total dollar cost is visible on the page, the tradeoff between a lower spread and a higher storage rate becomes a number, not a talking point.
How to test any precious-metals IRA quote
The steps below apply to Freedom Shield Capital and to every other US precious-metals-IRA dealer. They are ordered to catch the sector's most common misalignments early, before you sign a transfer form. Use them as the written checklist for your specialist call, and give a hard weight to the on-paper output at each step.
- Confirm the entity is currently operating. Check the live website in a browser, confirm the phone number rings to a staffed line, and pull the current state-registry status for the LLC. If the site does not load in your browser tonight, that alone is a stop signal.
- Search the federal record on the exact legal name. Run cftc.gov, sec.gov EDGAR and the FINRA BrokerCheck site for the exact string. Read any complaint, order or advisory in full before the specialist call.
- Request a full written fee schedule. The document must name the account minimum, the setup fee, the annual custodian fee, the annual storage fee, the buy-side markup band per metal, and the buyback formula. If any line item is missing, ask again.
- Pin down the custodian and depository, on their own letterhead. A self-directed IRA is a trustee-held account. Ask for the trustee name and the depository name, then pull each entity's own fee schedule from its own site.
- Get a same-day price comparison against spot. For any coin the specialist quotes, ask for the same-day spot price of the metal at that weight in writing. Compare the two numbers before you sign.
- Screen out non-IRA-eligible coins. Any gold coin below 0.995 fineness, including the South African Krugerrand at 22-karat, does not qualify inside a precious-metals IRA under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3). If a specialist proposes one, stop the call.
- Refuse any principal-guarantee language. Physical precious metals cannot be principal-guaranteed at the retail level. If any pitch line uses that framing, note the exact phrase and check it against the CFTC customer advisory.
- Confirm the rollover mechanism, in writing. A trustee-to-trustee direct transfer avoids the 60-day rollover clock and the 20 percent mandatory federal withholding on distributions from a 401(k) plan (per IRS Publication 590-A, checked July 2026). If a specialist proposes an indirect rollover, ask why.
- Get the buyback formula in writing. The formula, meaning spot minus a fixed haircut, spot minus a bounded percentage band, or a specialist quote at the time of sale, matters as much as the buy-side price. Silence in the contract is itself an answer.
The CFTC publishes a standing advisory on this sector, titled “Beware of Gold and Silver Schemes Designed to Drain Your Retirement Savings.” Read it before your first specialist call, on any dealer. The full text is at cftc.gov.
Who this dealer tends to fit, and who it does not
An honest review names both sides. We list the specific reader profiles this company may and may not fit, based only on the public record described above and only for the record we can verify today.
Freedom Shield Capital may fit
- A saver who has already contracted with the firm in the past, is asking a specific follow-on question, and can reach a staffed sales line at the archived phone number. The archived record is otherwise not sufficient for a new engagement.
- A saver who wants a gold-heavy or silver-heavy taxable allocation in a specific coin the archived menu lists, and can confirm the current pricing and the current shipping treatment on a live call.
Freedom Shield Capital tends not to fit
- A new saver opening a precious-metals IRA today. The live company website did not resolve during our July 2026 session, so a prospective client cannot read the fee schedule, the product terms, or the disclosure pages from an ordinary browser.
- A saver building a platinum sleeve inside an IRA. Platinum was absent from the archived product menu and the top navigation.
- A saver building a palladium sleeve inside an IRA. Palladium was also absent from the archived product menu and the top navigation.
- A saver who requires the named IRA custodian, the named depository, the setup fee, the annual storage fee and the dealer spread to appear in writing on a live public site before agreeing to a specialist call.
- A saver who wants an independently-verified third-party rating rather than a snapshot summarized second-hand from a competing review desk in 2023.
- A saver who is uncomfortable with the on-page principal-guarantee language present in the archived home-page copy, and its distance from what a physical-precious-metals position can honestly promise.
- A saver who was offered a South African Krugerrand as an IRA position, given that the coin does not meet the IRA-purity floor under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3).
When a precious-metals IRA is the wrong call
An honest review has to name the cases where no dealer is the right fit for a specific reader, not just where a specific dealer is not the right fit for a specific reader.
- You may need the money within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum and palladium can move sharply in the short term, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (per IRS Publication 590-B, checked July 2026).
- Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed custodian and storage dollar fees weigh hardest on small accounts, because the same dollar is a larger share of a smaller balance. On a 10,000 dollar starting balance, an unquoted annual fee bundle can be a double-digit percentage drag before year one closes.
- You have no other retirement savings. A physical-metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base of stocks, bonds and cash, not in place of one.
- You are hunting a guaranteed return. Nobody can predict where gold, silver, platinum or palladium will trade. A pitch that promises guaranteed gains, or guaranteed principal, is a warning sign, not an opportunity.
If any of the above describes your situation, slow down. Talk to a licensed advisor about whether physical metal fits your plan at all, before you compare dealers.
Freedom Shield Capital questions, answered
Is Freedom Shield Capital still in business?
Not verifiable from the public record we can reach this session. The live domain freedomshieldcapital.com did not resolve from an ordinary connection during our July 2026 session (local DNS lookup and curl request, both failing on name resolution, checked July 2026). A prospective client who wants to answer this question definitively should call the archived sales phone at 855-341-9222 and pull the current California Secretary of State bizfile record for the corporate entity.
What did Freedom Shield Capital sell?
Gold and silver, on the archived home page, and separately a Crypto IRA product. Platinum and palladium were absent from the archived product menu and the top navigation (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026). Featured coins included Gold Libertad, Gold Goddesses Hera, a Gold Monster Box, a Gold Krugerrand at 22-karat (not IRA-eligible), a Silver ATB, a Silver Round, a Silver Freedom Girl Shield, and a Silver Monster Box.
What were the fees?
Never disclosed as a dollar figure on the archived company site. A competing review desk profiled the firm in November 2023. It described the model as a one-time service fee, no commission on the purchase, storage waived for a first-time investor committing 50,000 dollars or more, and free shipping over 10,000 dollars (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026). The setup-fee amount and the post-waiver storage rate were not summarized in dollar terms.
Who was the custodian, and where was the metal stored?
Neither the custodian nor the depository was named on the archived company site. The archived pages refer to gold or silver held inside a self-directed IRA without publishing the trustee name or the depository name (per web.archive.org capture, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026). Any specialist quote should name both entities in writing before a wire is sent.
Did Freedom Shield Capital offer a Platinum or Palladium IRA?
No. The archived home page and the archived top navigation did not carry a platinum branch and did not carry a palladium branch. No platinum coin and no palladium coin appear in the archived home-page product inventory (per web.archive.org capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, 2023 imprint, checked July 2026). A reader targeting a platinum or palladium sleeve inside an IRA should look at dealers that publish those metals on their current live site.
Was the Gold Krugerrand really IRA-eligible?
No. The South African Krugerrand is a 22-karat coin at 91.67 percent gold, and does not meet the 0.995 fineness floor for IRA gold under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3) (per Cornell Legal Information Institute, checked July 2026). The archived home page lists a Gold Krugerrand at 2,500 dollars as a featured product, but the listing itself does not make the coin IRA-eligible. Any specialist who quotes it as an IRA position is proposing a non-eligible asset.
What does the CFTC advisory say about principal-guarantee language?
The CFTC customer advisory titled “Beware of Gold and Silver Schemes Designed to Drain Your Retirement Savings” addresses exactly this class of retail marketing (per cftc.gov, checked July 2026). Physical precious metals sold at retail cannot be principal-guaranteed. The advisory instructs consumers to be skeptical of any pitch that frames a metals position as risk-free or principal-protected.
Does Freedom Shield Capital have a BBB rating?
A third-party review desk documented an A rating with no accreditation and one customer review at 5 stars, in November 2023 (per iraempire.com Freedom Shield Capital review, checked July 2026). The bbb.org profile returned a bot-challenge response during our July 2026 session, and the current rating and current complaint count could not be verified from this desk. Any reader can enter the exact string “Freedom Shield Capital” on bbb.org from a personal browser.
Does White Metal Resources earn a commission on Freedom Shield Capital?
No. We have no affiliate relationship with Freedom Shield Capital. No link on this page points to freedomshieldcapital.com. We earn nothing if you choose Freedom Shield Capital. This review reflects public record only.
Sources
- Wayback Machine capture of freedomshieldcapital.com, carrying a 2023 imprint. Checked July 2026. Fields cited: archived headquarters address (12100 Wilshire Blvd Suite 800, Los Angeles, CA 90025); archived sales phone (855-341-9222); archived fax (888-312-4369); archived corporate emails (info@ and corporate@freedomshieldcapital.com); archived product menu (Gold IRA, Silver IRA, Crypto IRA); archived home-page product listings by name (Gold Libertad, Gold Goddesses Hera, Gold Monster Box, Gold Krugerrand at 2,500 dollars, Silver ATB, Silver Round at 39.99 dollars, Silver Freedom Girl Shield, Silver Monster Box at 20,199.99 dollars); archived home-page marketing language including the phrase “100 percent forever guaranteed on their principal.” The live domain freedomshieldcapital.com did not resolve from this desk during our July 2026 session, and is not linked from this page for that reason.
- IraEmpire, “Freedom Shield Capital Review,” by Ryan Paulson, dated November 18, 2023, at iraempire.com. Checked July 2026. Fields cited third-party: founder name (Cody Roeder); fee model summary (one-time service fee, no commission, storage waived at 50,000 dollars first-time-investor threshold, free shipping over 10,000 dollars); reputation snapshot as of November 2023 (BBB A rating with no accreditation and 1 customer review; Trustpilot 4.2 across 6 reviews; Google Reviews 5.0 across 5 reviews; Yelp 3.0 across 2 reviews; ConsumerAffairs 5.0 across 1 review); corporate footprint (LinkedIn 11 to 50 employees and 76 followers, YouTube 48 subscribers and 13 videos with 545,248 total views since February 4, 2022); paraphrased complaint from a customer named “Steve” alleging a 55,000 dollar loss.
- SEC EDGAR full-text search on the exact string “Freedom Shield Capital”. Checked July 2026. Fields cited: 0 filings between January 1, 2020 and July 13, 2026.
- U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, Customer Advisory: “Beware of Gold and Silver Schemes Designed to Drain Your Retirement Savings”. Referenced July 2026. Sector-wide federal advisory on retail precious-metals fraud patterns, including principal-guarantee framing.
- Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. Checked July 2026. Statutory IRA-fineness floors at Section 408(m)(3): 0.995 for gold, 0.999 for silver, 0.9995 for platinum and palladium, and the trustee-custody rule.
- IRS, Investments in collectibles in individually directed qualified plan accounts. Checked July 2026. Trustee-custody requirement for precious metals held in a self-directed IRA.
- IRS, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Trustee-to-trustee direct transfer avoids the 60-day rollover deadline and the 20 percent mandatory federal withholding on plan distributions.
- IRS, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution 10 percent federal additional tax before age 59.5.
- Better Business Bureau (bbb.org). Attempted July 2026. The bbb.org search and profile pages returned a bot-challenge response during our July 2026 session. No rating, accreditation status or complaint count could be verified from this desk. Readers should visit bbb.org and enter “Freedom Shield Capital” in the Los Angeles, California area to draw a conclusion.
- Trustpilot (trustpilot.com) and ConsumerAffairs (consumeraffairs.com). Attempted July 2026. Both returned bot-challenge responses this session and no current headline scores could be verified from this desk.
