Gold Gate Capital Review

Last updated on

Gold Gate Capital Review

Who Gold Gate Capital is, and how long they have really been in the business

Gold Gate Capital is a Los Angeles based precious metals retailer that markets physical gold and silver bullion for cash purchase and inside a self directed Individual Retirement Account. The head office address on the site is 5250 W. Century Blvd, Unit 501A, Los Angeles, CA 90045. The main phone number listed on the home, about, gold IRA, silver IRA and FAQ pages is 800 604 0240 (per goldgatecapital.com, checked July 2026).

The company describes itself as "Leaders in Precious Metals Since 2008" on the home page, and states on the About page that it has "sold more than $100 million in precious metals since we opened our doors in 2008." That $100 million figure is a company self report and we could not verify it against a third party filing.

The 2008 tenure claim is worth a second look. The Inc. 5000 profile page for Gold Gate Capital, captured by the Internet Archive on 27 February 2024, lists "Year Founded 2014" and names Kyle Winn as the leadership contact. The earliest capture of goldgatecapital.com in the Internet Archive is 20 July 2014 (CDX confirmed).

Both dates can be true if the operators started in a different structure or under a different name in 2008 and then reincorporated in 2014 under this domain. But readers weighing tenure alone should treat "since 2008" as a company statement, and 2014 as the earliest date supported by third party records this session.

How Gold Gate Capital handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs

This section matters because White Metal Resources is a white metals site, and buyers asking about Gold Gate Capital often want to know whether they can hold silver, platinum or palladium in a retirement account through this firm.

The site has a dedicated Silver IRA product page (goldgatecapital.com/silver-ira/) with its own copy, its own three step process, and a phone CTA. The Silver IRA page names Delaware Depository Service Company or Brinks depository vaults as the IRS approved storage options and states that funds transfer "within 3 to 5 days" once paperwork is signed.

Platinum and palladium are treated differently on the site. The Gold IRA page mentions in prose that "a Gold IRA... allows you to include other precious metals like silver, platinum, and palladium." The Silver IRA page carries a similar line about diversification. There is no dedicated /platinum-ira/ or /palladium-ira/ product page; the site only exposes information pages at /platinum-charts/ and /palladium-chart/.

The Inc. 5000 profile summarises the company as a "Boutique precious metals retailer in Los Angeles, including gold, silver, platinum, palladium, numismatics and semi-numismatics." So the firm does buy and sell physical platinum and palladium as retail products. What is not surfaced on the public site is a productised platinum or palladium IRA path.

Practically, if you want a serious platinum or palladium IRA allocation, you will need to phone Gold Gate Capital and ask. The online journey clearly foregrounds gold and silver, so a rep will have to walk you through eligible bars and coins for each metal. That is neither good nor bad on its own. It is a data point about product scope, worth naming next to the site's white metals aware marketing.

Where Gold Gate Capital ships and stores your IRA metal

IRA metal must sit in an IRS approved depository under a self directed custodian; it cannot live at home (IRS Publication 590-B, 408(m)(3)). The Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages on goldgatecapital.com name the same two options: Delaware Depository Service Company (DDSC) or Brinks depository vaults.

Both are well known in the sector. Delaware Depository is a common choice for gold and silver IRAs, and Brinks operates approved facilities in the United States that many of the larger dealers use. Neither is a red flag; both are frequently seen across the industry.

What the site does not clarify is which specific Brinks facility, which vault option is default, and how segregated storage compares to co mingled storage on the price sheet. That detail belongs on the fee schedule (see next section).

What the site does not tell you: minimum, fees, custodian

A careful buyer scans a dealer site for four numbers: the investment minimum, the setup fee, the annual custodian and storage fee, and the dealer spread between the wholesale metal price and the price you pay. The Gold Gate Capital site does not publish any of them.

For this review we checked seven pages of goldgatecapital.com: home, About, Gold IRA, Silver IRA, FAQs, What is a Precious Metals IRA, and How to Setup a Precious Metals IRA. None of them lists a dollar minimum, a fee grid, or the name of the self directed IRA custodian who would hold the account.

The site does mention "competitive pricing" and an "Unconditional Buy Back Guarantee." The buy back promise is helpful in principle. But without a written spread or a published buy back formula it is a marketing statement, not a contract. The actual pricing you get is set at the phone stage.

Below is a scorecard of what a shopper can and cannot pull off the public pages, so you can see the gap at a glance.

Horizontal bar chart scoring seven pieces of information a precious metals IRA buyer looks for against what appears on goldgatecapital.com, checked July 2026. Four items are disclosed on the site: the Los Angeles head office address, the main phone number 800-604-0240, the two IRA storage partners named as Delaware Depository Service Company and Brinks, and an unconditional buy-back guarantee statement. Three items are not disclosed on the public pages we checked: the name of the IRA custodian, the investment minimum, and the fee schedule for setup, annual custodian, and storage fees.
What Gold Gate Capital publicly discloses on goldgatecapital.com (home, about, gold IRA, silver IRA, FAQs and how-to-setup pages), checked July 2026. A score of 1 means the item is on the public site; 0 means we could not find it on those pages.

Reconstructing the likely fee drag on a Gold Gate Capital IRA

Because the fee schedule is not published, we cannot quote a Gold Gate Capital specific number. What we can do is reconstruct the fee drag using the ranges the precious metals IRA industry actually charges, so you know what to ask on the phone before signing.

The four cost buckets on any precious metals IRA are the same regardless of provider. Setup fee (one time, typically $50 to $250). Annual custodian fee (typically $80 to $250). Annual storage fee at DDSC or Brinks (typically $100 to $300, higher for segregated storage). Dealer spread (the markup between the wholesale metal and your invoice, typically 3 percent to 30 percent depending on whether you buy bullion or numismatic coins).

You may also like:  Monetary Gold Review

Use the calculator below with the numbers a Gold Gate Capital specialist quotes you on your call. If they will not put those numbers in writing before you fund the account, treat that as its own data point.

Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator

Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.

Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

The recognition badges and celebrity voices, and what they actually mean

Gold Gate Capital displays two categories of endorsement on the home page. The first is a real, verifiable business list: Inc. 5000. The company profile on inc.com (captured by the Internet Archive on 27 February 2024) shows rank 2,757 for 2022 with 143 percent three year revenue growth, and rank 3,470 for 2023.

Inc. 5000 ranks private companies by three year revenue growth; it is not a customer service ranking, a fee ranking or a regulatory badge. Reading it fairly, it means the company was growing faster than most privately held US firms in those two years. It does not tell you whether their spreads are cheap or their custodian is good.

The second category is celebrity messaging. The home page carries "Lara Trump endorses Gold Gate Capital for Gold & Silver IRAs" in the meta description and on page, and quotes Wayne Allyn Root as a testimonial voice. Whether that reassures you or the opposite is a personal call. As a data point it is marketing, not third party validation, and it should not substitute for a written fee schedule.

Public regulator and consumer protection record we could find

We searched SEC EDGAR full text (efts.sec.gov, phrase "Gold Gate Capital", full history back to 2008): the only matches were unrelated software firms. There is no SEC filing under this company name.

We searched cftc.gov, ftc.gov and the California OAG, DFPI and DCA sites via Bing for the phrase "Gold Gate Capital". None returned a substantive record. We could not verify a Better Business Bureau profile page in this session because the direct bbb.org URLs we tried returned blocking responses, and the Internet Archive holds no snapshot of a BBB profile page for gold-gate-capital.

The absence of a public enforcement record in these places is a mild positive, but readers should check bbb.org directly and search their own state Attorney General site before committing funds. Nothing here is a substitute for that personal check.

How opening a Gold Gate Capital IRA works in practice

The Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages describe a three step process. Here is what that looks like from a buyer viewpoint.

  1. Book a consultation. Call 800 604 0240 or request the free kit through the site form. A "Precious Metals Specialist" walks you through goals, funding source and paperwork for a rollover or transfer.
  2. Fund the account. Existing 401(k), 403(b), 457, TSP, traditional IRA, Roth IRA, SEP IRA or Simple IRA can be rolled over or transferred. The Silver IRA page states funds land in the new IRA "within 3 to 5 days" after paperwork is signed.
  3. Buy IRS eligible metal. Pick coins or bars from the firm's IRS eligible list, wire the money out of the custodian to the dealer, and have the metal shipped to Delaware Depository Service Company or Brinks for storage inside the IRA wrapper.

Two practical questions to ask before you sign. Which self directed IRA custodian will hold the account, and what does that custodian charge annually? What is the total dealer spread on the specific coin or bar you are being sold, expressed as a percentage of the wholesale metal price?

Gold Gate Capital versus three buyer questions, side by side

The three questions below are what most precious metals IRA buyers actually want answered. The right column shows what we could pin down on the public record; the third column notes what is missing.

Gold Gate Capital: three buyer questions vs the public record, checked July 2026.
QuestionWhat the public record saysWhat is still missing
Can I hold silver, platinum and palladium in an IRA through this firm?Silver: yes, dedicated product page. Platinum and palladium: mentioned in prose, no dedicated product page.Whether the firm curates an IRS eligible platinum or palladium coin and bar list at the same depth as its gold and silver lines.
Where will my metal be stored?Delaware Depository Service Company (DDSC) or Brinks depository vaults, IRS approved.Whether default is segregated or co mingled, and how that affects the annual storage fee.
What will I actually pay in year one?Not disclosed on any public page (home, about, gold IRA, silver IRA, FAQs, how-to-setup).Investment minimum, setup fee, annual custodian fee, storage fee, dealer spread.

A worked example: rolling a 100,000 dollar IRA into a Gold or Silver IRA

Who Gold Gate Capital is a poor fit for

Every dealer suits some buyers and not others. Based on the public record, Gold Gate Capital is likely a poor fit for the following situations.

  • Buyers who insist on a written fee grid published on the vendor site before a sales call. The site does not offer one.
  • Buyers who want a productised platinum IRA or palladium IRA journey online, with a curated eligible coin list per metal, rather than a phone conversation.
  • Buyers who want a small starter position (a few thousand dollars) and cannot risk a large dealer spread swallowing that starter.
  • Buyers who prefer a company with a long publicly documented history, since third party records for goldgatecapital.com only go back to 2014.
  • Buyers who dislike celebrity endorsement marketing on principle and want a firm that leads with credentials and disclosures.

FAQs about Gold Gate Capital

Is Gold Gate Capital a legitimate company?

Yes, in the basic sense that it is an operating business with a Los Angeles head office, a working website, a phone line, an Inc. 5000 profile for 2022 and 2023, and public product pages. Legitimate is not the same as cheap or transparent on fees; those are separate questions this review addresses.

When was Gold Gate Capital founded?

The company says "Established in 2008" on its About page. The Inc. 5000 profile lists Year Founded 2014, and the earliest Internet Archive capture of goldgatecapital.com is 20 July 2014. Both can be true if the operators worked under a different structure before 2014, but only the 2014 date is supported by third party records we could verify.

Does Gold Gate Capital offer a platinum IRA or a palladium IRA?

The website mentions in prose that a Gold or Silver IRA can hold silver, platinum and palladium, and the Inc. profile describes the firm as selling platinum and palladium at retail. There is no dedicated platinum IRA or palladium IRA product page. To open one, you would need to phone the firm and ask what IRS eligible coins and bars they can offer for each metal.

What is the minimum investment at Gold Gate Capital?

The public site does not state a minimum investment. Any dollar figure you are told exists only in a phone conversation with a specialist. Ask for the minimum in writing before you sign anything.

What fees does Gold Gate Capital charge?

The site does not publish a setup fee, annual custodian fee, storage fee or dealer spread. On the phone, ask for all four line items in writing before you fund the account. For a sense of what the industry typically charges, use the fee drag calculator earlier on this page.

Where does Gold Gate Capital store IRA metal?

The Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages both name Delaware Depository Service Company (DDSC) and Brinks depository vaults as IRS approved storage options. The public pages do not clarify whether segregated storage is default and how that affects the storage fee.

Is there a Better Business Bureau rating for Gold Gate Capital?

We could not verify a public BBB profile page in this session because the direct bbb.org URLs we tried returned blocking responses and the Internet Archive holds no snapshot of a BBB profile for this company. Check bbb.org directly for the current rating and complaint volume before committing funds.

Is Gold Gate Capital under any SEC, CFTC or FTC action?

Full text search of SEC EDGAR for "Gold Gate Capital" returned zero matches for this company (only unrelated software firms). Bing site searches of cftc.gov, ftc.gov, oag.ca.gov, dfpi.ca.gov and dca.ca.gov returned no substantive matches. This is a helpful negative check, not a guarantee. Always run your own state Attorney General search before you send funds.

Sources

  1. goldgatecapital.com home page, About page, Gold IRA page, Silver IRA page, FAQs page, What is a Precious Metals IRA page, How to Setup a Precious Metals IRA page. Checked July 2026. Not linked here because White Metal Resources does not send outbound traffic to the companies it reviews.
  2. Inc. 5000 profile for Gold Gate Capital, captured by the Internet Archive on 27 February 2024. web.archive.org snapshot. Verified rank 2,757 (2022) and rank 3,470 (2023).
  3. Internet Archive CDX index for goldgatecapital.com; earliest capture 20 July 2014. web.archive.org. Checked July 2026.
  4. SEC EDGAR full text search for "Gold Gate Capital", 2008 to 2026. efts.sec.gov. Checked July 2026.
  5. IRS Publication 590-B (Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements). irs.gov. For IRS storage rules governing precious metals in an IRA (IRC section 408(m)).
  6. Delaware Depository Service Company. delawaredepository.com. Named on goldgatecapital.com Gold IRA and Silver IRA pages as an IRS approved storage option.
  7. Brinks Global Services USA. brinksglobal.com. Named on the same pages as an alternative depository option.
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment