Last updated: [gc:last_modified:long] · By White Metal Resources Editorial
Quick answer: Gold Silver Desk sells two branded retirement products it calls "Option IRAs." Option 1 is a standard vaulted IRA with metal held at Delaware Depository. Option 2 is a checkbook-LLC self-directed IRA, marketed as the "Ultimate Self-Directed IRA," where the account owner sets up an LLC and directs metal purchases through it.
That second structure is where the interesting risk lives. A 2021 U.S. Tax Court decision, McNulty v. Commissioner, found that taking physical possession of IRA gold through a checkbook LLC counts as a taxable distribution. A saver reading Gold Silver Desk's pitch needs to understand that ruling before signing.
Short on time? The essentials
- Legal branding: Gold Silver Desk. Published Owner per the Business Consumer Alliance profile: David Weishaar. Live-checked July 2026.
- Published headquarters: 22647 Ventura Blvd., Suite 1020, Woodland Hills, CA 91364. Toll-free line: 844-486-4653.
- Business Consumer Alliance rating: AA as of 7/12/2026, member since 12/13/2018, zero complaints closed in the last three years, based on 2 customer reviews.
- Not accredited by the Better Business Bureau at bbb.org. The company displays a Business Consumer Alliance seal instead, which is a different rating body.
- Product menu: Gold, Silver and a combined Platinum & Palladium page. Each metal is offered inside the two Option IRA structures.
- Depository named explicitly for Option 1: Delaware Depository, with 1 billion dollars of Lloyd's of London all-risk insurance cited on the site.
- Option 2 uses a checkbook LLC. The IRS position on home storage of IRA metal through this structure was tested in the 2021 McNulty tax court ruling.
- No fee schedule is published on any page. No account minimum is published. Both figures sit behind a phone conversation.
- Marketing claim on the IRA page: "For the past 17 years, gold has performed SIX TIMES BETTER than stocks." No source is cited on the page.
- Trade group displays on the site footer: NGC, PCGS and the National Coin and Bullion Association (NCBA). No FINRA or NFA registration is claimed.
- SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero filings for "Gold Silver Desk," as expected for a physical coin dealer.
- CFTC press-release feed and FTC case archive returned no publicly indexed action against the firm as of July 2026.
This review is written from two sources only. The first is what Gold Silver Desk publishes on its own public pages, live-checked in July 2026. The second is the neutral public record: the Business Consumer Alliance profile, SEC EDGAR, the CFTC press-release feed, the FTC case archive and the U.S. Tax Court.
Every factual claim below traces back to a URL we name. Anything the company does not publish is written as "not disclosed" so a reader knows exactly what would need to be asked in writing before signing a transfer form.
The Option IRA model, in two paths
Most precious-metals IRA companies sell one product structure and call it the account. Gold Silver Desk sells two, and gives them a branded name. It calls them "Option IRAs," and asks the client to pick between them on the gold and silver IRA page.
Option 1 is what the sector normally calls a custodian-held IRA. An IRS-approved trustee opens the self-directed account, receives the rollover funds, then buys metal on the client's instruction and ships it to Delaware Depository for storage in a segregated vault. The client sees regular statements from the custodian, the same way they see statements from an existing 401(k) trustee today.
Option 2 is what the sector calls a checkbook LLC IRA. The account opens with an IRS-approved custodian, but the custodian then funds a single-member LLC owned by the IRA. The client is named manager of that LLC, receives an LLC bank account, and directs metal purchases from there. The client also picks the storage location.
The chart below is what that fork looks like in one glance. The two structures are legally different, they carry different risk profiles, and the site pitches both under the same brand without flagging the ruling that reshaped the checkbook path in 2021.

The name "Ultimate Self-Directed IRA" is marketing language, not a legal category. In IRS documents the two structures on the Gold Silver Desk page are a self-directed IRA held by a custodian, and a self-directed IRA that owns a single-member LLC. Both are legal on paper. What matters is how the metal is stored and who has physical possession, which is where the second structure gets tested.
The checkbook LLC path and the McNulty tax court ruling
Andrew and Donna McNulty opened a self-directed IRA with an IRS-approved custodian, funded a single-member LLC through that IRA, then used the LLC to buy American Eagle gold and silver coins. They stored those coins at their home in a safe. The IRS treated the coins as a taxable distribution to Mrs. McNulty in the year they arrived.
The U.S. Tax Court agreed with the IRS. In McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (November 18, 2021), the court held that when an IRA owner takes physical possession of IRA-owned coins, even through an LLC the IRA fully owns, that possession is a taxable distribution under Internal Revenue Code section 408(m).
The ruling matters here because the Gold Silver Desk Option 2 page describes a structure that mirrors the McNulty setup almost step for step. The site language is direct: "our experts will establish a LLC," "you can place your order for gold and silver," and "we then can ship the metals to the proper storage location." The site adds that Option 2 gives the client "More Hands-On-Control, Privacy, Protection from Confiscation."
Read against the ruling, that pitch needs one written clarification before any account is opened. Does the LLC ship the metal to an IRS-approved depository under the LLC's title, or does it ship to a location the account owner can access? The first is defensible under the current tax court reading. The second is the fact pattern the McNulty ruling penalized.
Ask Gold Silver Desk in writing for three things before agreeing to fund a checkbook LLC IRA. First, the exact storage address the LLC will use. Second, a written confirmation that the LLC does not permit account-owner physical access to the metal.
Third, the company's written analysis of how the proposed structure is distinguished from McNulty v. Commissioner. A dealer that cannot answer those three questions on paper is not the right place to test the tax court boundary with your retirement balance.
How this company handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs
Gold Silver Desk publishes a single IRA landing page that names all four IRS-eligible metals: "Ask About the Option IRA's for Gold, Silver, Platinum and Palladium." The product menu on the separate Products page splits the same four metals into three landing pages: Gold, Silver, and a shared Platinum & Palladium page.
Silver is the most heavily marketed of the white metals here. The IRA page walks through silver rollovers alongside gold in every paragraph. The Vaulted IRA video, the Ultimate Self-Directed IRA steps and the Delaware Depository description all name gold and silver together. Silver clearly sits inside the core pitch, not on the edge.
Platinum and palladium sit on a single combined product page rather than getting a page each. That is a lower level of white-metals disclosure than some sector competitors that publish a dedicated Platinum IRA landing page and a dedicated Palladium IRA landing page. The site does state that the Option IRA covers all four metals, but a coin-level catalog for platinum or palladium is not published.
The federal rules do not change with the dealer. Silver in an IRA must be at least 99.9 percent fine. Platinum and palladium must both be at least 99.95 percent fine. American Platinum Eagle and Palladium Eagle coins qualify under a separate United States coin carve-out (source: 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)).
For a full walkthrough of how each white metal behaves inside a retirement account, our silver IRA guide, platinum IRA guide and palladium IRA guide cover the ground.
Gold Silver Desk offers all four IRS-eligible metals inside its Option IRA structures, and silver sits on equal footing with gold in the marketing. What is missing is a separate landing page for platinum, a separate landing page for palladium, and a coin-level catalog for either. A saver who wants a specific white-metals allocation should ask for the exact bar or coin, the exact minted fineness, and the dealer spread above daily spot for each product in writing.
Delaware Depository, and the disclosure that is unusual for the sector
A significant number of precious-metals IRA sites never name the depository their custodian ships to. Gold Silver Desk names one directly on the Option 1 section. The named partner is Delaware Depository, and the site lists six facts about the vault that a saver can verify separately.
The disclosed facts are these. Delaware Depository holds 1 billion dollars of all-risk insurance through Lloyd's of London. The vault is an exchange-approved depository for the CME and ICE futures markets. It is IRS-compliant as an IRC 408(n) depository for IRA assets. The site cites 72,000 square feet of "fortified, access controlled facilities." Management is described as having over 200 years of combined precious-metals experience.
Delaware Depository is one of a small group of IRS-approved vaults used across the sector. The other major names commonly cited are Brink's Global Services, International Depository Services and HSBC Bank. Naming a specific vault, and matching the specific insurance layer, is above the sector average for disclosure. A saver can verify each of those five claims directly against the depository's own site rather than trusting a specialist on the phone.
What the site does not name is the IRS-approved custodian that opens the Option 1 self-directed IRA in the first place. Every self-directed precious-metals IRA legally requires an IRS-approved trustee. The site describes "the new custodian" in generic language and says the custodian will contact your existing plan trustee. The specific firm is not on any page we could pull.
The “gold has performed six times better than stocks” claim, examined
The Option 2 section of the IRA page carries a sentence in bold: "For the past 17 years, gold has performed SIX TIMES BETTER than stocks but unlike stocks, gold will ALWAYS be worth something." No source is cited on the page. No time window is given other than "the past 17 years." No definition of "performed better" is offered.
Read the claim as any regulator would read it. The FTC has taken past enforcement action against precious-metals dealers who advertise specific investment returns without a defined method, a defined benchmark and a defined date range. The Commodity Futures Trading Commission has issued Consumer Advisories on the same pattern.
Even taken generously, the phrase "gold will ALWAYS be worth something" is a forward-looking claim about future value. No dealer, and no regulator, can guarantee the future price of any physical commodity. A price that reached 1 dollar per ounce in the 1800s and 3,000 dollars per ounce in the 2020s is still a price that can move in either direction over a saver's specific holding period.
None of this makes the underlying idea (that gold has run over long horizons) empirically wrong. It makes the specific sentence on the site an unsourced promotional claim rather than a documented return figure. A saver comparing dealers should treat any "X times better than stocks" language the same way at any dealer: as a marketing statement, not a return commitment.
Ask three specific things. First, the exact start date and end date used for the "17 years" measurement. Second, whether the comparison is total return with dividends reinvested for stocks, or price-only. Third, whether the number reflects any dealer spread on entry and exit. Any honest performance comparison names all three variables. Marketing that will not name them on paper is marketing, not evidence.
The BCA rating, the two-review sample and the missing BBB profile
Gold Silver Desk does not display a Better Business Bureau profile on its site. The seal in the site footer is a Business Consumer Alliance widget instead. Those are two different accreditation bodies, and the distinction matters when a saver is comparing a "AA rating" here against a "BBB A-plus" claim elsewhere.
On the BCA report, live-checked in July 2026, Gold Silver Desk carries a AA letter grade on a scale that runs AAA at the top. The rating is stated "as of 7/12/2026." The company has been a BCA member since 12/13/2018, which is about 7 and a half years of membership at the time of our review.
The complaint history on the BCA profile shows zero complaints closed in the last three years. The customer review count is two, at a 5-star aggregate. Two reviews is a very small sample. A single-digit review count is not statistically meaningful in either direction, and it should not be treated as decisive by itself.
For readers used to comparing companies on BBB numbers, this is the practical difference. BBB tracks accredited members and non-members alike, publishes complaint volume, and posts a letter grade. BCA tracks member companies on a separate scale (AAA down to F), and the seal on a member site links only to the member's own BCA report. Neither is a regulator. Both are private ratings services.
The owner named, and the rest of the team not named
Most precious-metals dealer About pages either name a founder or name no one. Gold Silver Desk sits in an unusual spot. The About page on the company's own site names no individuals. The Business Consumer Alliance report names one: David Weishaar, listed as Owner.
Beyond that single name, the site describes the team in generic phrases. The About page says clients "work directly with a senior-level expert who's spent decades in leadership positions at the top firms in the industry." No individual specialists are named. No LinkedIn profiles are linked. No trade-body registration numbers are cited.
The site footer displays three trade-group affiliations: Numismatic Guaranty Company (NGC), Professional Coin Grading Service (PCGS) and the National Coin and Bullion Association (NCBA). Those are coin-grading and industry-body affiliations, not securities-regulator registrations. A physical bullion dealer is not required to register with FINRA or the National Futures Association, and Gold Silver Desk does not claim to.
A saver comparing dealers can still cross-check the named owner. Look up the entity behind Gold Silver Desk in the state business registry for its registered address, and confirm the manager and registered agent filings. The published address in Woodland Hills sits inside California, so the California Secretary of State registry is the natural first stop for that lookup.
The public record: SEC EDGAR, CFTC, FTC
Three federal registries and one industry rating body give a fuller picture than any one source alone. Read them in sequence, not in isolation.
SEC EDGAR
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission full-text search on EDGAR returned zero filings for "Gold Silver Desk" as of July 2026 (source: SEC EDGAR full-text search). That result is expected. A physical coin dealer that sells bullion is not a securities issuer, and the coin business is regulated primarily by state consumer-protection law and by the Federal Trade Commission.
CFTC
A search of the U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission press-release feed returned no publicly indexed action against Gold Silver Desk as of July 2026 (source: CFTC press releases). A live enforcement action would appear there or in the CFTC's Status of Investigative Referrals database. The absence is a favorable signal at that specific bar.
FTC
The Federal Trade Commission case archive returned no publicly indexed case against Gold Silver Desk as of July 2026 (source: FTC cases and proceedings). The FTC pursues sector-wide precious-metals fraud actions, so the absence of a named case matters for reader confidence at that specific bar.
Business Consumer Alliance
The Business Consumer Alliance report at report.checkbca.org shows Gold Silver Desk at a AA letter rating with zero complaints in the last three years and 2 customer reviews at a 5-star aggregate. Rating date on the BCA report: 7/12/2026. That report is the authoritative source on the BCA numbers, and any figure quoted on the dealer's own footer widget should be verified there directly.
Gold Silver Desk at a glance
The table below is a factual snapshot of what the company publishes on its own site and on its Business Consumer Alliance report, checked in July 2026. It does not name a winner. Read it as a checklist a saver could take into a phone call with any dealer.
| Criterion | What the company or its BCA report publishes | What to press on with any dealer |
|---|---|---|
| Brand name | Gold Silver Desk | Confirm the exact legal entity name in the state business registry before wiring funds. |
| Owner named | David Weishaar (per Business Consumer Alliance profile) | Cross-check the named owner against the state registry manager filing. |
| Headquarters | 22647 Ventura Blvd., Suite 1020, Woodland Hills, CA 91364 | Confirm the office is active and the contact page still shows the same address. |
| Phone | 844-486-4653 (toll-free line published on every page) | Ask what hours the line is staffed and how existing-client support is separated. |
| Executive team | Not disclosed on the site beyond the owner name via BCA | Ask for the assigned specialist's name, tenure and any regulator registration numbers. |
| Option 1: Vaulted IRA | Custodian-held self-directed IRA, metal at Delaware Depository | Ask for the specific custodian firm name and its own record before signing. |
| Option 2: Ultimate Self-Directed IRA | Checkbook LLC IRA with client-directed storage | Ask for a written distinction from the McNulty v. Commissioner tax court ruling. |
| Silver IRA | Sold inside both Option IRA structures at .999 fineness rule | Ask which specific silver bullion product would be used and at what markup. |
| Platinum IRA | Combined page with palladium; .9995 fineness rule applies | Ask whether a platinum-only allocation is available and the storage cost. |
| Palladium IRA | Combined page with platinum; .9995 fineness rule applies | Ask whether a palladium-only allocation is available and the storage cost. |
| Depository named | Delaware Depository named for Option 1 with insurance and IRC 408(n) detail | Verify the insurance layer directly with Delaware Depository. |
| Custodian named | Not disclosed on any page we could pull | Ask which IRS-approved trustee holds title and check that firm's record separately. |
| Fee schedule | Not published as a schedule on any page | Request setup, annual custodian, storage, wire and termination fees in writing. |
| Account minimum | Not published on any page we could pull | Ask for the minimum by rollover balance and by first metal purchase, both figures. |
| Buyback | Not stated as a written policy on any page we could pull | Ask for the typical bid as a percentage below daily spot, in writing. |
| Fiduciary duty | Not disclosed either way; no fiduciary-relationship claim is made | Assume dealer-to-customer, not advisor-to-client, until told otherwise in writing. |
| BCA rating | AA as of 7/12/2026, member since 12/13/2018, 0 complaints, 2 reviews | Recheck the BCA report before any transaction; ratings can change. |
| BBB profile | Not shown on the site; company uses a BCA widget instead | Check bbb.org separately if a BBB grade is part of your decision criteria. |
| SEC EDGAR | Zero filings, as expected for a physical coin dealer | Absence of securities filings means dealer contract governs, not SEC rules. |
| CFTC | No publicly indexed enforcement action as of July 2026 | Recheck the CFTC feed before any transaction. |
| FTC | No publicly indexed case as of July 2026 | The FTC archive is the right place to spot sector-level fraud action. |
| Marketing claim on gold vs stocks | "Gold has performed SIX TIMES BETTER than stocks" over "the past 17 years" | Ask for the start date, end date, method and dealer spread behind the number. |
Sources: Gold Silver Desk home, About, Gold & Silver IRA and Products pages, live-checked July 2026. Business Consumer Alliance report at report.checkbca.org for Gold Silver Desk (ID 156301691), same date. Federal rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS Publication 590-B.
What annual fees cost over ten years
Gold Silver Desk does not publish a written fee schedule. That means the numbers below are illustrative, not the exact quotes a saver would get on the phone. Use the calculator to test how a fee-heavy schedule compares against a fee-light one over a ten-year hold at your specific balance. Then ask the specialist for the actual numbers in writing before agreeing to anything.
Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator
Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.
Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.
How the company describes opening an Option IRA
The Gold Silver Desk gold-and-silver IRA page describes two workflows. Option 1 is a single one-page form completed over the phone with the specialist, after which the new custodian contacts the existing 401(k) or IRA trustee to move funds. Option 2 is a three-step LLC path: set up the LLC, fund the LLC bank account by transfer, then place a metal order through the LLC.
Neither workflow, on its own, tells a saver what the specific costs will be. The steps below are the standard federal framework a compliant dealer follows on Option 1. They apply to any custodian-held precious-metals IRA you compare, not only Gold Silver Desk.
- Request a consultation. The site directs prospective clients to 844-486-4653 or the info email. A saver would call, get routed to a specialist, and ask for the assigned custodian, the fee schedule and the account minimum in writing before going further.
- Confirm your funding source is eligible. Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs, 401(k)s from former employers, 403(b)s, 457(b)s and Thrift Savings Plan balances can typically move to a self-directed IRA (source: IRS Publication 590-A).
- Get the specialist's disclosures in writing. Ask for the assigned custodian firm, the exact dealer spread on the recommended coins, the setup and annual fees on both Option 1 and Option 2, and (if considering Option 2) the storage address the LLC will use.
- Open the self-directed IRA with the assigned custodian. The custodian is a separate IRS-approved trustee that holds legal title to the metal. Gold Silver Desk does not publish the custodian name on the site. Check that custodian's own record before agreeing.
- Fund the account via direct transfer or direct rollover. A trustee-to-trustee direct transfer moves the money custodian to custodian. It sidesteps the 60-day deadline and the 20 percent mandatory federal withholding that apply to indirect rollovers from a qualified plan.
- Pick IRS-approved metals. Choose gold at .995 fine or better, silver at .999 fine or better, platinum at .9995 fine or better, palladium at .9995 fine or better. Federal thresholds do not change with the dealer.
- Have an IRS-approved depository take physical custody. For Option 1 the site names Delaware Depository. Home storage of IRA metal is not permitted under federal law (source: IRS collectibles issue snapshot).
Federal regulators warn about pitches to buy premium, rare or numismatic coins at prices well above their bullion melt value. Common IRA-approved bullion at a fair spread is what belongs inside a retirement account. If a specialist steers the conversation toward graded coins as a better IRA holding, ask for a written melt-value comparison and the exact dealer markup before agreeing to buy anything.
Pros and cons from the public record
What Gold Silver Desk does visibly well
- Names Delaware Depository directly on the Option 1 section, with a specific insurance figure and an IRC 408(n) reference. That level of vault disclosure is above the sector average.
- Names all four IRS-eligible metals inside the Option IRA structure and treats silver as a core allocation on the IRA page, not as an afterthought.
- Carries a AA rating on the Business Consumer Alliance report with zero complaints closed in the last three years, per the July 2026 report.
- Publishes a working phone line, an email address and a physical office address in plain text on every page, which makes dispute correspondence straightforward.
- Publishes a link to a signed Transaction Agreement PDF in the site footer, which is more legal disclosure than several sector competitors put on the public site.
- Zero SEC filings, no CFTC public enforcement action, no FTC public case, as of our July 2026 check across all three federal registries.
Where the public record leaves gaps
- No custodian is named on any page. Every Option 1 self-directed IRA legally requires an IRS-approved trustee, and the identity of that trustee is a basic disclosure a saver should not have to phone in for.
- The Option 2 checkbook LLC pitch does not address the McNulty v. Commissioner ruling, even though the fact pattern described on the page mirrors the McNulty structure.
- No fee schedule is published for either Option 1 or Option 2. Setup, annual custodian, storage and dealer spread all sit behind a phone conversation.
- No account minimum is published. Any dollar figure quoted in a third-party review is second-hand until confirmed by the assigned specialist in writing.
- The team is not named on the site. The owner is only publicly visible via the Business Consumer Alliance report, not on the About page itself.
- The customer review sample is very small (2 on BCA). A single-digit review count is not statistically meaningful, either as endorsement or as warning.
- The site copyright line still reads 2020 and the underlying page markup uses HTML 4.0 doctype, both of which suggest the public site has not been rebuilt in several years.
- The marketing claim that gold "has performed SIX TIMES BETTER than stocks" is not paired with a source, a benchmark, or a defined date window on the page.
- Platinum and palladium share a single combined product page. A dedicated Platinum IRA landing page and a dedicated Palladium IRA landing page would raise the disclosure bar for white-metal buyers.
Who this dealer fits, and who it does not
Gold Silver Desk fits a saver who wants two structural options rather than one. It also fits a saver willing to conduct fee and coin-selection negotiations by phone rather than from a written price list, and who is buying at Delaware Depository for storage. That combination is the point where the public disclosure actually adds up to a working picture.
The dealer fits less well for a saver who wants a published fee schedule, a named custodian, a coin-level catalog and a documented buyback policy on the public site. Several sector competitors publish more of those items. A saver who screens dealers on written disclosure alone will find gaps here.
For anyone specifically drawn to Option 2, the checkbook LLC structure, the McNulty ruling is the fact that has to be understood before signing. A saver who wants a checkbook LLC IRA is not automatically wrong. A saver who wants a checkbook LLC IRA plus home storage of the coins is, under the current tax court reading, taking a documented tax risk.
For anyone comparing across the sector, our precious-metals IRA companies list and our dealer checklist are the neutral starting points.
When a precious-metals IRA is the wrong move
An honest review has to name the cases where any precious-metals IRA is the wrong choice, not only where a specific dealer is not the right fit. If any of the following describes your situation, slow down before comparing dealers and consult a licensed advisor first.
- You may need the money within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum and palladium can move sharply in short periods. Selling means crossing the dealer spread again. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10 percent federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B).
- Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual custodian and storage fees, plus the dealer spread, hit small accounts hardest. The same fixed dollar cost is a much larger percentage of a small balance than of a large one.
- You have no other retirement savings yet. A physical-metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base of retirement savings, not in place of one. A diversified plan is a better foundation than a single-asset bet.
- You are chasing a guaranteed return. No dealer can predict where metal prices will go. Any pitch that promises specific future performance is the pattern federal regulators have acted on in the past, not a valid opportunity.
- You are drawn to Option 2 because it lets you store metal at home. That is the fact pattern the McNulty tax court ruling penalized. Home storage of IRA metal is not the same as home storage of unrelated coins you already own outright.
Gold Silver Desk questions, answered
Is Gold Silver Desk a real, active company?
Yes. The site is live at goldsilverdesk.com and the toll-free line 844-486-4653 is published on every page. The Business Consumer Alliance profile for Gold Silver Desk (ID 156301691) shows the company as a member since 12/13/2018, with a AA rating as of 7/12/2026. The published address is 22647 Ventura Blvd., Suite 1020, Woodland Hills, CA 91364.
Who owns Gold Silver Desk?
The Business Consumer Alliance report names David Weishaar as Owner. The company's own About page does not name any individual. To confirm the manager and registered agent behind the entity, look up the business filing in the state business registry for the office address on file.
What is an Option IRA?
"Option IRA" is a marketing name Gold Silver Desk uses for its two IRA products. Option 1 is a standard custodian-held self-directed IRA with metals stored at Delaware Depository. Option 2 is a checkbook LLC self-directed IRA, marketed as the "Ultimate Self-Directed IRA," where a single-member LLC owns the metals and the account owner is named manager of the LLC.
Is the Option 2 checkbook LLC IRA legal?
The checkbook LLC structure itself is legal on paper. What tripped the taxpayer in McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (November 18, 2021), was taking physical possession of the coins the LLC bought. The U.S. Tax Court held that home possession by the account owner is a taxable distribution under IRC section 408(m). If the LLC ships to an IRS-approved depository under the LLC's title, the McNulty fact pattern is avoided.
Does Gold Silver Desk offer a Silver IRA?
Yes. Silver is treated as a core metal alongside gold on the IRA page and inside both Option IRA structures. The federal fineness rule for IRA-eligible silver is 99.9 percent. The site does not publish a coin-level catalog for silver, so specific product selection sits behind a phone conversation with the specialist.
Does Gold Silver Desk offer a Platinum IRA?
Yes at a product-menu level. Platinum shares a combined product page with palladium rather than getting its own landing page. The federal fineness rule for IRA-eligible platinum is 99.95 percent. Specific coin selection sits behind a phone conversation with the specialist.
Does Gold Silver Desk offer a Palladium IRA?
Yes at a product-menu level. Palladium shares a combined product page with platinum. The federal fineness rule for IRA-eligible palladium is 99.95 percent. Palladium catalogs are thin at every dealer in the sector, and Gold Silver Desk does not publish a specific coin list on the page.
Where does Gold Silver Desk store IRA metals?
For Option 1, the Vaulted IRA path, the site names Delaware Depository as the storage partner. The site cites 1 billion dollars of Lloyd's of London all-risk insurance and describes the vault as an exchange-approved depository for CME and ICE, and IRS-compliant as an IRC 408(n) depository for IRA assets. For Option 2, storage is directed by the account owner as manager of the LLC.
Who is the custodian for a Gold Silver Desk IRA?
The specific IRS-approved custodian is not named on any Gold Silver Desk page we could pull. Every self-directed precious-metals IRA legally requires an IRS-approved trustee that holds title and files the annual tax paperwork. Ask the assigned specialist for the custodian firm name in writing, then verify that firm's own record separately before agreeing.
What does Gold Silver Desk charge in fees?
The site does not publish a fee schedule. Setup, annual custodian, storage, wire and termination fees all sit behind the phone conversation with the specialist. Request every fee line in writing before signing, and ask for the dealer spread on the specific coins recommended, expressed as a percentage above the daily spot price.
What is the minimum investment for a Gold Silver Desk IRA?
The minimum-funding threshold is not published on any page we could pull. The About page mentions balances ranging from 10,000 dollars to 5 million dollars but does not state which figure is the account minimum. Ask the specialist for the minimum by rollover balance and by first metal purchase.
Is Gold Silver Desk BBB accredited?
The site does not display a Better Business Bureau seal. The seal shown on every page is a Business Consumer Alliance widget, which is a different rating body. The current BCA letter grade on the profile is AA as of 7/12/2026. Verify the BBB status separately at bbb.org if a BBB grade is part of your decision criteria.
Does Gold Silver Desk have any SEC, CFTC or FTC actions against it?
SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero filings for "Gold Silver Desk" as of July 2026, which is expected for a physical bullion dealer. The CFTC press-release feed returned no publicly indexed enforcement action. The FTC case archive returned no publicly indexed case. None of those is a warranty of clean conduct on every dimension, but the absence of a federal enforcement record is a favorable signal at that specific bar.
Does Gold Silver Desk guarantee a buyback?
The site does not publish a written buyback policy on any page we could pull. Federal law prevents a dealer from contractually guaranteeing repurchase of coins it sells. Ask the assigned specialist for the typical bid price as a percentage below daily spot, in writing, before agreeing to any purchase.
Sources
- Gold Silver Desk, home page. Domain: goldsilverdesk.com. Live-checked July 2026. Published toll-free 844-486-4653, tagline "In the midst of unprecedented uncertainty, secure the future with gold and silver."
- Gold Silver Desk, About page. Live-checked July 2026. Marketing text: "you work directly with a senior-level expert who's spent decades in leadership positions at the top firms in the industry"; balance range "10,000 dollars to 5 million dollars."
- Gold Silver Desk, Gold & Silver IRA page. Live-checked July 2026. Option 1 Vaulted IRA at Delaware Depository; Option 2 "Ultimate Self-Directed IRA" checkbook LLC three-step process; marketing claim "gold has performed SIX TIMES BETTER than stocks" over "the past 17 years."
- Gold Silver Desk, Products page. Live-checked July 2026. Product menu lists Gold, Silver and a combined Platinum & Palladium page.
- Gold Silver Desk, Contact page. Live-checked July 2026. Confirmed address 22647 Ventura Blvd., Suite 1020, Woodland Hills, CA 91364; email info@goldsilverdesk.com.
- Business Consumer Alliance, Gold Silver Desk report. URL: report.checkbca.org/gold-silver-desk-156301691. Live-checked July 2026. Rating AA as of 7/12/2026; member since 12/13/2018; 0 complaints closed in last 3 years; 2 customer reviews at 5-star aggregate; Owner: David Weishaar.
- United States Tax Court, McNulty v. Commissioner, 157 T.C. No. 10 (November 18, 2021). Ruling on IRC section 408(m) and taxable distribution of IRA metal held via a single-member LLC in physical possession of the account owner.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search. Checked July 2026. Zero filings for "Gold Silver Desk," consistent with a physical bullion dealer.
- U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, press-release feed. Checked July 2026. No publicly indexed enforcement action against Gold Silver Desk.
- Federal Trade Commission, cases and proceedings. Checked July 2026. No publicly indexed case against Gold Silver Desk.
- Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. Checked July 2026. Federal fineness minimums for IRA-eligible precious metals and IRS-approved trustee requirement.
- IRS, investments in collectibles issue snapshot. Checked July 2026. Home-storage prohibition and IRS-approved trustee requirement.
- IRS, Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Rollover and direct-transfer mechanics.
- IRS, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution penalty and Required Minimum Distribution rules.
