Goldco Review

Quick answer: Goldco is a Calabasas, California precious-metals dealer whose signature product is a Silver IRA with a published $10,000 minimum purchase. It also opens Gold IRAs, and it lists platinum and palladium as IRA-eligible coins and bars at .9995 fineness, but it does not run a separate Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA product page.

The company advertises a "guaranteed highest buyback" with no fees at liquidation. Fee dollar amounts are not published on goldco.com. For a saver whose main interest is white metals inside a retirement account, Goldco is worth considering for silver, and worth questioning on the specific terms for platinum and palladium.

Short on time? The essentials

  • Company identity displayed on goldco.com in July 2026: "Goldco Precious Metals," head office at 24025 Park Sorrento, Suite 210, Calabasas, California 91302, sales line 855-450-1394 (structured data on goldco.com).
  • Silver IRA minimum: $10,000 minimum purchase, stated on the Silver IRA product page FAQ.
  • Gold IRA minimum: not published on the Gold IRA product page. Third-party review sites often report $25,000. Confirm directly before you commit.
  • Platinum and palladium: no dedicated /platinum-ira/ or /palladium-ira/ product page (both URLs returned 404 in July 2026). The Gold IRA page confirms platinum and palladium at .9995 fineness are IRA-eligible and can be added inside a precious-metals IRA.
  • Fee schedule: not published on the website. Setup, custodian, and storage fees have to be requested from a specialist.
  • Buyback: the About page advertises a "guaranteed highest buyback" with "no fees when you're ready to liquidate." The specific bid formula relative to spot is not disclosed publicly.
  • Trust signals displayed on goldco.com: BBB A+ badge with 4.8 stars, Consumer Affairs 4.9 stars, Trustpilot widget, and marketing claims of "8,000+ 5-Star Customer Ratings," "Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service," and "Inc. 5000 Award Recipient, 9 Years."
  • SEC EDGAR shows no filings for Goldco Precious Metals, which is normal for a physical-coin dealer regulated by state consumer law and the FTC.

We wrote this review with a specific reader in mind: someone whose main question is whether Goldco is a good home for silver, platinum, or palladium inside a self-directed IRA. That framing rearranges the picture, because Goldco's own site treats silver as a headline product and treats platinum and palladium differently. We stick to what goldco.com publishes and note where the record is silent, so you know which questions to press before you sign a transfer form.

What Goldco actually is

Goldco is a precious-metals dealer registered in California. Its schema.org organization data on the homepage names the entity "Goldco Precious Metals" and places the head office at 24025 Park Sorrento, Suite 210, Calabasas, California 91302. The listed sales line is 855-450-1394 (source: goldco.com structured data, checked July 2026). The About page frames the company as one that "specializes in helping Americans protect their retirement savings with gold and silver."

Two things worth flagging about that framing. First, the About page names only gold and silver in its identity statement, not platinum or palladium. Second, the site does not publish a founding year anywhere we can find. The homepage cites "Inc. 5000 Award Recipient, 9 Years," which implies a decade or so of operating history but is not itself a founding date. We do not assert one.

Why the Silver IRA is the headline product

The clearest single fact about how Goldco sells is that Silver IRA has its own dedicated product page at goldco.com/products/silver-ira/. That page carries a specific $10,000 minimum purchase, a written rollover walkthrough, and a full FAQ block that names silver, gold, platinum, and palladium as available metals inside a precious-metals IRA (source: goldco.com Silver IRA page, checked July 2026).

The Silver IRA description says the account can be funded through rollovers or transfers from eligible retirement accounts, and that IRA-approved silver must meet a minimum fineness of .999. That fineness bar matches the IRS collectibles rule for silver bullion (source: 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)).

For a white-metals audience, the practical read is straightforward. If your priority is a silver-forward retirement account, Goldco treats you as a first-class customer. The product exists, the terms are on the page, and the minimum is one of the more accessible in the sector.

How Goldco handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs

This is the section that matters most for anyone reading whitemetalres.com, so we spent the most time on it.

Silver: a full first-class product. The Silver IRA landing page is well developed, publishes the $10,000 minimum, lists rollover mechanics step by step, and answers the fineness question directly at .999 (source: goldco.com Silver IRA page, checked July 2026). If silver is the metal you actually want to hold, Goldco is a serious option.

Platinum: not a dedicated product. The URL goldco.com/products/platinum-ira/ returns a 404 as of July 2026. That means Goldco does not market a standalone Platinum IRA. What the Gold IRA product page does confirm is that platinum at .9995 fineness is IRA-eligible and can be held inside a broader precious-metals IRA (source: goldco.com Gold IRA page, checked July 2026). In practice, platinum at Goldco is an add-on holding, not a product line.

Palladium: the same picture as platinum. The URL goldco.com/products/palladium-ira/ also returns a 404. Palladium at .9995 fineness is listed as IRA-eligible on the Gold IRA page and can be added to a broader account. There is no standalone Palladium IRA landing.

Why the distinction matters. A dealer that runs a dedicated product page for a metal is signaling that it has a designed process for that metal: coin selection, inventory, storage default, sales training. A dealer that lists the metal only as an add-on inside another account is signaling something quieter, which is that you can hold it but the firm is not built around it. Neither signal is disqualifying by itself. Both signals are worth pricing in.

Verify before you commit

If you want a platinum-heavy or palladium-heavy retirement portfolio, ask a Goldco specialist three questions in writing. What is the current dealer spread on the specific platinum or palladium coin they recommend. What percentage of the account can sit in platinum or palladium without a rebalancing pitch. What storage line applies at the depository for platinum-group metals, and whether the annual fee changes. See our platinum IRA and palladium IRA primers before that call.

The $10,000 Silver IRA minimum, in context

Goldco publishes its Silver IRA minimum in a plain sentence on the product page FAQ: "$10,000 minimum purchase." That figure is one of the more accessible published thresholds in the precious-metals-IRA sector. A saver rolling over a modest 401(k) balance can meet it without stretching.

What Goldco does not publish is a Gold IRA minimum on the Gold IRA product page. That page walks through the account mechanics in detail, cites rollover rules and IRS fineness minimums, but stops short of naming a specific dollar minimum. Third-party review sites frequently list $25,000 as Goldco's Gold IRA minimum, but that figure is review-site reported and not confirmed by Goldco's own pages, so we treat it as a starting point for your own question, not a fact.

The practical lesson is that a small silver-forward saver can meet Goldco's stated bar cleanly, while a gold-forward saver has to ask directly to know the number. That asymmetry itself is a useful signal about how the firm sees its customer base.

What the site publishes about fees, and what it does not

Fee transparency is where the sector as a whole tends to be thin, and Goldco is no exception. As of our check in July 2026, the Silver IRA and Gold IRA product pages describe how the account works but do not list dollar figures for the setup fee, the annual custodian fee, or the annual storage fee.

Every precious-metals IRA carries four cost lines regardless of the dealer. First is the one-time account setup fee. Second is the annual custodian fee, paid to the IRS-approved trustee that holds legal title. Third is the annual storage fee, paid to the depository. Fourth is the dealer spread, the gap between the price you pay for the metal and the price the firm would buy it back for on the same day.

The dealer spread is usually the largest lifetime cost, and it is the number that most dealers publish least clearly. The only reliable way to know your all-in Goldco cost is to request the schedule in writing before you commit any funds. See how precious-metals IRA fees work for the itemized version.

The “guaranteed highest buyback” claim, parsed

Goldco's About page runs a headline block that reads "GUARANTEED HIGHEST BUYBACK" with a subheading promising to "lock in the industry's highest buyback guarantee PLUS no fees when you're ready to liquidate." That is a more specific promise than most competitors publish, and it is worth reading carefully.

The claim has two parts. The "no fees when you liquidate" part is easy to test in writing: ask whether any wire fee, close-out fee, or shipping charge applies at the moment of sale. The "highest buyback" part is a comparative claim, which by definition cannot be verified without seeing the bid formula relative to spot. That number is not published on the site.

What matters for a buyer is the actual bid Goldco quotes on the day you want to sell, versus the spot price at that moment. Ask a specialist what percentage below the daily spot price the typical buyback bid sits, and whether that percentage changes for coins the firm did not sell you originally. A written answer is worth more than a marketing headline.

Trust signals: what Goldco displays, what it means

Goldco shows a dense trust bar on the homepage. The line the site publishes reads, verbatim: "Rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau. Rated Triple A by Business Consumer Alliance. Earned over 8,000+ 5-Star Customer Ratings. Money.com 2026 Best Customer Service. 2025 Inc. Regionals: Pacific Ranked #18. 2025 Bronze Stevie Award, Fastest Growing Company. Inc. 5000 Award Recipient, 9 Years."

Two badges are third-party ratings you can, in principle, cross-check. The BBB rating is displayed as A+ with 4.8 stars, and the Consumer Affairs rating is displayed as 4.9 stars. The live bbb.org profile page sits behind a Cloudflare human-verification screen, so a scripted fetch cannot confirm the current rating and complaint volume. Confirm both fields yourself at bbb.org before you decide.

The Trustpilot widget is embedded on the homepage but loads dynamically, so the current star average and review count on Trustpilot need a browser visit to read cleanly. The "8,000+ 5-Star Customer Ratings" figure aggregates across platforms, per Goldco's own presentation, and is a cumulative marketing count rather than a single-platform verified number.

Public regulatory footprint

Precious-metals dealers are not securities issuers, so the SEC is not the primary regulator. A live search of the SEC EDGAR full-text index for "Goldco Precious Metals" and for "Goldco Direct" returned zero filings for either entity name in July 2026 (source: EDGAR full-text search). That absence is consistent with a physical-coin business and is not a red flag by itself.

You may also like:  First National Bullion Review

The Federal Trade Commission is the more relevant federal regulator for physical-coin sales. State attorneys general handle deceptive-practice cases at the local level. We do not name a specific enforcement action against Goldco in this review. Doing that responsibly requires citing a linked, named order, and no such order was verifiable in our July 2026 check. If you find one before signing, weigh it carefully. Absence of a scripted result is not the same thing as a clean record.

The sector-wide pattern federal and state regulators have acted on most often is the same one to watch for at any dealer. It looks like this: a quote on cheap bullion that shifts, mid-call, to a pitch for high-markup "premium" or numismatic coins whose melt value is a fraction of the price paid. Read the CFTC investor advisory on precious-metals fraud for the shape of the pattern (source: CFTC precious-metals advisory, checked July 2026).

Goldco at a glance

The table below reports only what goldco.com publishes on its own pages, plus the two verifiable federal-source facts. Anything the company does not disclose is marked as such so you know where to ask.

Goldco at a glance, verified and attributed fields only
FieldWhat the record showsSource
Legal name shownGoldco Precious Metalsgoldco.com structured data, July 2026
Head office24025 Park Sorrento, Suite 210, Calabasas, California 91302goldco.com structured data, July 2026
Sales phone855-450-1394goldco.com structured data, July 2026
Founding yearNot published on goldco.comHomepage, About page, structured data, July 2026
Silver IRA minimum$10,000 minimum purchasegoldco.com Silver IRA product page FAQ, July 2026
Gold IRA minimumNot published on the Gold IRA pagegoldco.com Gold IRA product page, July 2026
Platinum IRA product page404 not foundgoldco.com/products/platinum-ira/, July 2026
Palladium IRA product page404 not foundgoldco.com/products/palladium-ira/, July 2026
Silver fineness accepted.999Silver IRA page, July 2026
Gold fineness accepted.995Gold IRA page, July 2026
Platinum fineness accepted.9995Gold IRA page, July 2026
Palladium fineness accepted.9995Gold IRA page, July 2026
Fee scheduleNot published on site; request in writingSilver IRA and Gold IRA product pages, July 2026
BuybackAdvertises "guaranteed highest buyback" with no fees at liquidation; bid formula not publishedAbout page, July 2026
BBB signalA+ with 4.8 stars, badge shown on homepagegoldco.com homepage, July 2026; verify live at bbb.org
Consumer Affairs signal4.9 stars, badge shown on homepagegoldco.com homepage, July 2026
SEC EDGAR filingsZero for "Goldco Precious Metals" and "Goldco Direct"SEC EDGAR full-text search, July 2026

Sources: goldco.com home, About, Silver IRA, Gold IRA product pages, and structured data, checked July 2026. Federal fineness rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408. Verify BBB and Trustpilot signals directly before you sign a transfer form.

IRS fineness bars Goldco confirms per metal

The fineness thresholds below are the IRS collectibles-rule minimums for IRA-held bullion. They are the same regardless of dealer, but Goldco confirms all four on its Gold IRA product page. The bar is highest for the two white metals that do not have a headline product at Goldco: platinum and palladium.

Horizontal bar chart of IRS minimum fineness required for IRA-eligible precious metals. Gold 99.5 percent, silver 99.9 percent, platinum 99.95 percent, palladium 99.95 percent.
IRS minimum fineness for IRA-eligible bullion under IRC 26 USC 408(m)(3). Goldco's Gold IRA product page confirms these thresholds; platinum and palladium have no dedicated Goldco product page as of the review date.

Practical read: coins and bars you buy for the account must clear these bars regardless of which dealer sells them to you. A dealer that steers you toward products below the threshold is a dealer to walk away from. The chart is a checklist you can hold every specialist to.

What annual fees cost your balance over time

Since Goldco does not publish a fee schedule, the honest way to price the account is to model what a plausible fee load would cost your specific balance over the years you plan to hold. The calculator below runs that math with the figures you get from a specialist. Plug the setup, custodian, and storage numbers you are quoted, and run the same numbers against any other firm you are considering.

Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator

Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.

Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

The point of the exercise is not a single answer. It is to see, in dollars, what a given fee load claims from a given balance over ten or twenty years. Once the number is on the page, the question stops being abstract.

How to open a Silver IRA with a dealer like Goldco

The mechanics below follow federal rules that apply to every compliant precious-metals dealer, Goldco included. There is no shortcut and no special Goldco route. The predictability is the point: a bad process is a bad dealer, not a normal one.

  1. Request a specialist call with no commitment. Use the website form or phone line. The initial call gathers your source account, timeline, and target metal, and is meant to answer questions before you sign anything.
  2. Confirm your source is eligible to move. Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs, 401(k) accounts from a former employer, 403(b) plans, 457(b) plans, and the TSP can generally roll to a self-directed IRA.
  3. Ask for the full fee schedule in writing. Get setup, annual custodian, annual storage, and any wire or termination fees on a signed document before you commit funds.
  4. Open the self-directed IRA with the trustee. Goldco works with an IRS-approved custodian who holds legal title and files the annual tax reports. Ask which custodian, and check that custodian's own complaint history.
  5. Fund the account by direct rollover or direct transfer. A direct transfer moves funds custodian to custodian and avoids both the 60-day rollover deadline and the 20% mandatory federal withholding that applies to indirect plan distributions.
  6. Pick IRS-eligible metals. Silver at .999, gold at .995, platinum and palladium at .9995. Favor common bullion coins and approved refiner bars over graded numismatic products with markups that dwarf the melt value.
  7. Confirm depository custody. The metal must sit at an IRS-approved depository, not at your home. Ask whether storage is segregated or commingled, and what each option costs annually.
Watch for

The pattern federal regulators warn about most often in this sector is a pivot mid-call from cheap bullion to graded or "premium" coins at prices well above their bullion melt value. Common bullion at a fair spread is what belongs inside a retirement account. If a specialist keeps steering the conversation toward a rare coin as a "better" IRA holding, ask for the melt-value comparison in writing before you decide.

Who Goldco fits, and who it does not

Goldco tends to fit

  • A saver whose main IRA metal is silver, with a rollover balance at or above the $10,000 published minimum.
  • A saver willing to phone a specialist and get the fee schedule in writing before signing.
  • A saver who values a specific, headline buyback commitment and will get the bid formula documented.
  • A saver who plans to hold gold and silver as the core of the account, with platinum or palladium as add-ons rather than the primary allocation.

Goldco tends not to fit

  • A saver who wants a portfolio built primarily around platinum-group metals in a purpose-built Platinum or Palladium IRA product.
  • A saver who requires every fee to be published on the public website before making contact.
  • A saver whose rollover balance is small enough that fixed annual costs would take an outsized bite of the account.
  • A saver who may need the money within a few years and cannot absorb short-term price swings or the dealer spread on exit.

When a precious-metals IRA is the wrong call

An honest review has to name the cases where no dealer is the right fit for a specific reader, not just where a specific dealer is not the right fit.

  • You may need the money within a few years. Silver, gold, platinum, and palladium can swing hard short-term, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10% federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B).
  • Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual costs and the dealer spread punish small accounts hardest, because the same dollar cost is a larger share of a smaller balance.
  • You have no other retirement savings. A physical-metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base, not in place of one.
  • You are hunting a guaranteed return. Nobody can predict where metal prices will go. A pitch that promises guaranteed gains is a warning sign, not an opportunity.

If any of the above describes your situation, slow down. Talk to a licensed advisor about whether physical metal fits your plan at all before you compare dealers.

Goldco questions, answered

Is Goldco a legitimate company?

Goldco is an operating precious-metals dealer with a California head office in Calabasas, a public sales line, and hundreds of visible customer reviews across BBB, Consumer Affairs, and Trustpilot. It shows an A+ BBB rating badge on its homepage and displays a Consumer Affairs 4.9 star badge (source: goldco.com, checked July 2026). Whether the account is a good fit for your specific situation is a separate question, and one for a licensed advisor rather than a website.

What is the minimum investment for a Goldco Silver IRA?

The Goldco Silver IRA product page states a $10,000 minimum purchase in a plain FAQ answer (source: goldco.com Silver IRA page, checked July 2026). The company also offers a free consultation with no minimum required at the conversation stage.

What is the minimum for a Goldco Gold IRA?

Goldco does not publish a specific Gold IRA minimum on its Gold IRA product page as of July 2026. Third-party review sites often list around $25,000, but that figure is review-site reported and not confirmed by Goldco itself. Ask a specialist directly and get the current number in writing before you decide.

Does Goldco offer a dedicated Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA?

No dedicated Platinum IRA or Palladium IRA product page exists on goldco.com as of July 2026. Both URLs, goldco.com/products/platinum-ira/ and goldco.com/products/palladium-ira/, returned a 404. Platinum and palladium at .9995 fineness are IRA-eligible per the IRS and are listed on the Gold IRA product page as includable in a precious-metals IRA. In practice, they are add-on holdings at Goldco, not headline products.

What fees does Goldco charge?

Goldco does not publish a dollar fee schedule on its Silver IRA or Gold IRA product pages as of July 2026. Every precious-metals IRA carries a setup fee, an annual custodian fee, an annual storage fee, and a dealer spread on the metal. Ask a Goldco specialist for the full schedule in writing before you commit any funds.

What does the “guaranteed highest buyback” claim mean?

The About page advertises a "guaranteed highest buyback" with a promise of "no fees when you're ready to liquidate" (source: goldco.com About page, checked July 2026). The "no fees" part is easy to confirm in writing. The "highest" part is a comparative claim you cannot verify without the bid formula relative to spot, which the site does not publish. Ask for that number, and for any wire or shipping charge that would apply at sale.

Is Goldco registered with the SEC?

The SEC EDGAR full-text index shows zero filings for "Goldco Precious Metals" or "Goldco Direct" as of July 2026. That is normal for a physical-coin dealer, because the sector is regulated primarily by the Federal Trade Commission and state consumer-protection law rather than by federal securities regulators.

Where does Goldco store IRA metals?

Goldco does not designate a single default depository on its Silver IRA or Gold IRA product page. Federal law requires IRA metal to sit with an IRS-approved trustee, not at your home (source: IRS collectibles snapshot, checked July 2026). Ask the specialist which depository your metal will sit at, whether storage is segregated or commingled, and the annual fee for each option before you sign.

Does White Metal Resources earn a commission on Goldco?

No. We have no affiliate relationship with Goldco. No link on this page points to goldco.com. We earn nothing if you choose Goldco. This review reflects public record only.

Sources

  1. Goldco Precious Metals, home page and structured data, at the domain goldco.com. Checked July 2026. Head office address, sales phone, BBB and Consumer Affairs badges, marketing awards. Not linked out per this review's editorial policy.
  2. Goldco Precious Metals, Silver IRA product page. Checked July 2026. $10,000 minimum purchase, .999 fineness requirement, rollover mechanics, four-metal FAQ block. Not linked out per editorial policy.
  3. Goldco Precious Metals, Gold IRA product page. Checked July 2026. Gold at .995, silver at .999, platinum and palladium at .9995 fineness minimums confirmed. Not linked out per editorial policy.
  4. Goldco Precious Metals, About page. Checked July 2026. "Guaranteed highest buyback" claim and identity statement centered on gold and silver. Not linked out per editorial policy.
  5. Goldco Precious Metals, /products/platinum-ira/ and /products/palladium-ira/ URLs. Checked July 2026. Both returned HTTP 404. Not linked out per editorial policy.
  6. Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. Checked July 2026. IRA fineness minimums and depository-custody rule.
  7. IRS, Investments in collectibles in individually directed qualified plan accounts. Checked July 2026. Trustee-custody requirement.
  8. IRS, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution 10% federal additional tax.
  9. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search. Checked July 2026. Zero filings for "Goldco Precious Metals" or "Goldco Direct."
  10. U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, precious-metals fraud advisory. Checked July 2026. Sector-wide pattern of high-markup coin pitches.
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment