Monetary Gold Review
Quick answer. Monetary Gold is a long-running precious metals dealer founded July 2000, per its own About page verified July 2026. It sells physical gold, silver, platinum and palladium for cash purchase and Precious Metals IRAs. It stands out for its age and its "direct dealer" pitch.
It also stands out for how little it publishes on its public pages. No fee schedule. No named custodian or depository. No minimum investment. No named leadership. A buyer will have to phone in for the numbers that matter most.
What actually stands out about Monetary Gold
Three things about Monetary Gold are worth naming up front, because they are not typical of the sector.
Age. The company's own About page states it was "Founded on July 2000." That claim survives in the public archive and matches the way it markets itself today. If that date is accurate, Monetary Gold is roughly a quarter century into operations. That places it among the older active precious metals IRA firms in the United States.
Longevity is not proof of quality. It does mean the company has cycled through more than one gold market, one recession, and one regulatory generation.
The "direct dealer" pitch. Monetary Gold's own copy frames the business as a "direct dealer" that acquires metal "through the source," cutting out middleman markups. That is a specific claim about pricing, not just about service. It is also, unusually, not backed by any published price sheet on the public site we could reach. You can verify the promise only by getting a quote on a specific coin or bar, and comparing that quote to competing dealers.
Silence on the operational details. Many competitors publish some or all of the following on their public pages. A minimum account size. A setup fee. An annual custodian fee. An annual storage fee. The name of the IRS-approved custodian they route to. The name of the depository that will hold your metal.
Across the Monetary Gold homepage and About page we verified in July 2026, none of these were disclosed. That is a real observation, not a criticism by itself. It just means a phone call is not optional for anyone doing due diligence.
What Monetary Gold publishes (and what it does not)
Serious buyers typically ask a precious metals IRA firm about ten specific facts before signing anything. Of those ten, how many does Monetary Gold's own public website answer? Below is a plain scorecard. We checked in July 2026 across the live homepage and the archived About page.

Three out of ten buyer-relevant facts are disclosed on the public site. Those three are the founding year, the business address, and the customer phone line. One more (the BBB rating) is claimed by the company itself but was not independently verifiable during our session, so we count it separately.
The remaining six are not on the public pages we reached at all. Concretely, that means no minimum investment threshold, no setup fee, no annual custodian fee, no annual storage fee, no named IRS-approved custodian, and no named depository.
A buyer can get any of those numbers by calling the sales line. That is a legitimate business model, and it is not unique to Monetary Gold. It is still relevant to a reader who prefers to compare terms in writing before speaking with a rep, because the comparison here has to happen after the phone call rather than before.
How Monetary Gold handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs
This is the section we always run last on a competitor review, because it is where the marketing copy and the operational reality often disagree.
On the live 2026 Monetary Gold homepage, four metals are named in the product sections: gold, silver, platinum and palladium. The homepage explicitly describes platinum and palladium as "precious metals with strong ties to industrial and automotive sectors," and describes silver as having "affordability and growing role in modern applications." That is more attention to white metals than several competitors give.
At the same time, the company's own meta description reads: "Monetary Gold is a precious metals IRA company helping people explore gold and silver for retirement." Only two metals are named there. The site's page title, again in July 2026, calls the company a "Gold IRA Company." So the top-of-funnel positioning is gold-and-silver, while the mid-page sections open the door to platinum and palladium as well.
What we could not find on any reachable public page:
- A specific list of IRA-eligible silver coins and bars they will sell into a Precious Metals IRA (for context on what the IRS actually allows, see IRC 408(m) and the fineness rules).
- A specific list of IRA-eligible platinum products (American Platinum Eagles, approved platinum bars).
- A specific list of IRA-eligible palladium products (Canadian Palladium Maple Leafs, approved palladium bars).
- A dedicated fee tier or storage tier for white metals inside an IRA. Silver, platinum and palladium bullion is bulkier per dollar of value than gold, so storage economics differ, and a serious dealer will address that in writing.
The practical read for a white-metals-first buyer is simple. Monetary Gold does mention silver, platinum and palladium in its retail copy. The operational specifics that decide whether a white-metals IRA is even workable there are not on the public site. Those specifics are: which coins, at what markup, at which depository, at what storage fee. Ask by phone, get the answers in writing, then compare.
Fee reconstruction: what we could piece together
Here is the honest answer: we could not reconstruct a fee schedule for Monetary Gold from public sources. The company's own site does not publish setup, annual custodian, annual storage or coin markup figures on the pages we reached in July 2026. Its "direct dealer" copy suggests a competitive coin price, but it does not translate that suggestion into a dollar number a reader can compare.
When a firm does not publish fees, the reader still has one useful tool: a scenario. Precious Metals IRAs typically involve three cost layers, whichever dealer you pick. There is a one-time setup fee at the custodian. There is a recurring annual custodian fee. There is a recurring annual depository storage fee.
On top of that, the dealer takes a markup ("spread") on each coin or bar you buy. The calculator below plugs a typical industry range into a ten-year projection. You can see how much erosion those layers cause on any dealer, not just this one.
Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator
Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.
Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.
If you decide to phone Monetary Gold, write down six numbers. The setup fee at the custodian they route to. The annual custodian fee. The annual storage fee, and whether it is flat or scaled with metal value. The coin or bar markup on the specific product you are pricing. Any buy-back spread they would apply if you later liquidated. Then compare the same six numbers with at least one other dealer before deciding.
BBB record and public regulatory footprint
Monetary Gold's own homepage, verified in July 2026, states: "Monetary Gold is a BBB accredited business with a consistent A+ rating." That is the company's self-report. Self-reports are a starting point, not a substitute for the record.
During this review session we tried to load Monetary Gold's BBB profile directly. The BBB site returned an access-denied response to our fetches. We could not independently verify the current letter grade, the accreditation start date, the number of complaints closed in the last three years, or the number of customer reviews.
That is a limitation of this specific session, not a finding about the company. Any reader planning to open an account should navigate to bbb.org and search "Monetary Gold" to pull the current profile before signing anything.
On the federal side, we did not find any specific enforcement action against Monetary Gold in the public sources we searched during this session. Absence of a finding is not the same as absence of a record. This is a neutral note rather than an endorsement.
Three federal bodies most often surface issues in this sector. They are the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), the Commodity Futures Trading Commission (CFTC), and the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). Their online databases are the right places to check for any dealer before you commit funds.
How opening a Monetary Gold Precious Metals IRA account tends to work
Monetary Gold's homepage describes a three-step process. The company also states that "your account will take 48 to 72 hours to open after processing begins," which is a specific and useful timing claim. The generic sequence, which lines up with any IRS-compliant Precious Metals IRA at any dealer, looks like this.
- Apply and open the self-directed IRA. Monetary Gold reports a 48 to 72 hour turnaround once processing begins. Your account is opened at an IRS-approved self-directed IRA custodian. Monetary Gold does not name that custodian on its public homepage, so confirm the custodian name on the phone before signing the application.
- Fund the account. You either contribute cash (within IRS annual limits), transfer from an existing IRA, or roll over from a 401(k), 403(b), TSP or similar qualified plan. Direct trustee-to-trustee transfers avoid the 60-day rollover clock and the 20% withholding trap.
- Buy the metals and ship to the depository. An IRA specialist processes a purchase order for specific IRS-eligible coins or bars, and the metals ship to an approved depository. Ask which depository the metals will sit in, and whether the storage is segregated or commingled, before you approve the trade.
Monetary Gold at a glance
| Item | What the public record shows | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Company name | Monetary Gold | monetarygold.com homepage, July 2026 |
| Founded | "Founded on July 2000" per the company's own About page | monetarygold.com/about-us, archived copy verified July 2026 |
| Headquarters | 21800 Oxnard St #1120, Woodland Hills, CA 91367 | monetarygold.com homepage footer, July 2026 |
| Sales phone | 888-411-GOLD (4653) | monetarygold.com footer, July 2026 |
| Metals offered | Gold, silver, platinum, palladium (four metals named in homepage sections) | monetarygold.com homepage, July 2026 |
| Account opening claim | "48 to 72 hours to open after processing begins" | monetarygold.com homepage, July 2026 |
| Minimum investment | Not publicly disclosed | Verify by phone |
| Setup fee | Not publicly disclosed | Verify by phone |
| Annual custodian fee | Not publicly disclosed | Verify by phone |
| Annual storage fee | Not publicly disclosed | Verify by phone |
| Named custodian | Not publicly disclosed on reachable pages | Verify by phone |
| Named depository | Not publicly disclosed on reachable pages | Verify by phone |
| Named leadership | Not publicly disclosed on reachable pages | Consult state business filings |
| BBB rating (company self-report) | "Consistent A+ rating," per the Monetary Gold homepage | monetarygold.com homepage, July 2026 (verify at bbb.org) |
Balanced pros and cons from the public record
Every review of this kind risks tipping into either a sales pitch or a hit piece. Here is what the public record honestly supports, positive and negative, from the sources we checked in July 2026.
Points in the company's favor.
- Long time in market. If the July 2000 founding claim is accurate, the firm has been active for around 26 years, which is longer than a majority of current precious metals IRA firms.
- Four metals mentioned by name on the retail homepage. Not every gold-focused dealer even discusses platinum and palladium.
- A specific and unusual "direct dealer" pricing framing, which at least commits the sales rep to defending a spread on the phone.
- A specific account-opening timing claim (48 to 72 hours), which is more concrete than most homepages provide.
- A visible physical address, working phone line, and archived history of the same site since at least 2017. That is what a reader would want to see on a firm they can call, rather than a pop-up domain.
Points against, or points that at minimum should slow you down.
- No public fee schedule. Setup, annual custodian, annual storage and coin markup are all not disclosed on the reachable pages.
- No named custodian and no named depository on public pages. Those two entities hold your account and your metal. You should know their names before you sign.
- No named principal, founder or executive on the public pages. Verified leadership is one of the E-E-A-T signals a buyer can use to weigh trust.
- Marketing inconsistency between the meta description ("gold and silver") and the homepage sections (which include platinum and palladium). Small, but symptomatic of a site not tightly maintained.
- Superlative claims that are hard to defend, like "#1 Gold IRA Company in the US" on the homepage, without a public methodology.
- The BBB rating claim is self-reported by the company, not linked to a live BBB profile you can click. Verify separately.
Worked example: a $100,000 rollover with unknown fees
When Monetary Gold is a bad fit
Every honest dealer review needs a section on who should probably look elsewhere. Based only on the public record we could verify in July 2026, Monetary Gold is a poor match for at least four kinds of buyer.
- You will only sign after seeing a published fee schedule. Some readers, especially retirees rolling over six-figure balances, want the fee grid in writing before the first call. Monetary Gold does not publish one on its public pages.
- You want to know exactly which custodian and which depository hold your account and your metal. That information is not on the reachable pages, so you will only learn it during or after the sales conversation.
- Your rollover amount is small (say under $25,000) and every fee dollar matters. When fees are undisclosed, small balances are the balances most exposed to fee drag, because setup and annual fixed fees eat a larger share of your account. Get numbers first, then decide.
- Your primary interest is a platinum-first or palladium-first IRA. The homepage mentions those metals but does not commit to specific IRA-eligible products or a storage tier for them. If white metals are your whole thesis, ask for that catalog in writing before you fund anything.
Our verdict
Monetary Gold's most interesting attribute is its age. If the July 2000 founding claim holds up, few active competitors have run longer. That is a real credit and worth naming. The company also, unlike many of its peers, does at least mention all four IRA-eligible metals in its retail copy.
Its most concerning attribute is how much a buyer has to phone in to learn. A precious metals IRA is a multi-year, six-figure decision for most readers. A public site that does not publish fees, does not name its custodian, does not name its depository and does not name its leadership team is asking for a lot of trust up front.
That is not the same as being untrustworthy. It is a demand that you close the information gap yourself, on the phone, before signing.
Our practical read: if you are already in a sales conversation with Monetary Gold, use this review as your phone-call checklist. Get the six fee numbers, the custodian name, the depository name, and the specific IRA-eligible product list for whichever metal you care about, all in writing. Then compare those same items against at least one competing dealer before you fund the account. If they refuse to put any of it in writing, that itself is the finding.
Frequently asked questions
Is Monetary Gold a legitimate precious metals IRA company?
Based on public records we could verify in July 2026, Monetary Gold is an operating precious metals dealer. It lists a physical address in Woodland Hills, California, a working sales phone line, and a company history that traces back to at least 2017 in the public web archive. Its own About page dates the founding to July 2000.
We did not find any specific federal enforcement action against Monetary Gold in the public sources we checked. Always verify current BBB status and any state or federal record before you sign.
What is Monetary Gold’s BBB rating?
Monetary Gold's own homepage states, verbatim, that it is "a BBB accredited business with a consistent A+ rating." That is the company's self-report. We could not independently load the BBB profile during this session. Before you commit any funds, search bbb.org for "Monetary Gold" to pull the current profile, letter grade, accreditation status and complaint count.
What is Monetary Gold’s minimum investment for a Precious Metals IRA?
Not publicly disclosed on the pages we reached in July 2026. You will need to ask by phone. When you ask, also get the answer in writing (email or PDF) rather than only verbal.
Does Monetary Gold offer a silver IRA, a platinum IRA and a palladium IRA?
The live homepage names gold, silver, platinum and palladium as metals it sells. The meta description names only "gold and silver." Neither page publishes a specific IRA-eligible product list for silver, platinum or palladium. A buyer whose primary interest is white metals should ask by phone for the exact list of IRA-eligible coins and bars, the coin markup on each, and the annual storage fee that will apply.
Who is Monetary Gold’s custodian and depository?
The custodian (which holds the self-directed IRA) and the depository (which holds the physical metal) are not named on the Monetary Gold public pages we reached. Both entities matter more than most buyers realize: they are the legal parties responsible for your account records and your metal. Ask by phone, then confirm each name independently at bbb.org and, for the depository, look for insurance details.
Are there any complaints or lawsuits against Monetary Gold?
Our July 2026 checks did not surface a specific federal enforcement action. Absence of a finding in a limited session is not the same as absence of a record. The three primary regulators to check are the Federal Trade Commission, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission and the Securities and Exchange Commission, plus your state attorney general and the BBB profile.
Does Monetary Gold pay affiliate commissions to review sites?
White Metal Resources is not paid by Monetary Gold, does not link to Monetary Gold's website, and does not have an affiliate relationship with Monetary Gold at the time this review was written (July 2026). This review was produced from public sources only.
Sources
- Monetary Gold homepage (monetarygold.com), verified July 2026. We captured the title, meta description, address, phone, metals list, BBB self-claim, and account-opening timing directly from the live page. This review does not link to the company's website.
- Monetary Gold "About Us" page, archived copy of monetarygold.com/about-us, verified July 2026 (founding date claim: "Founded on July 2000," direct-dealer positioning). We used the archived copy for auditability of the version we cite.
- Better Business Bureau, bbb.org: the authoritative source for accreditation status, letter grade and complaint history. Verify directly before signing.
- Federal Trade Commission: enforcement actions and consumer alerts for precious metals dealers.
- Commodity Futures Trading Commission: enforcement records for precious metals fraud and leveraged retail commodity cases.
- Securities and Exchange Commission: EDGAR filings and enforcement actions.
- IRS Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements: rollover rules, contribution limits, custodian requirements.
- IRS Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements: RMD rules, the 10% early-withdrawal penalty, in-kind distribution treatment.
