New Century Gold Review

Last updated on

Quick answer: New Century Gold is a small Woodland Hills, California coin dealer that publicly sells gold and silver bars and coins, plus rare coins. Its public product menu does not list platinum or palladium (source: newcenturygold.com Home, Gold and Silver pages, checked July 2026).

The company markets its metals as suitable for IRA and 401(k) allocations. It does not publish a fee schedule, an account minimum, a named custodian, or a named depository on any of its four public pages. No BBB rating or founding year is on the public site either (source: newcenturygold.com, July 2026).

It is not a registered SEC filer, which is normal for a private coin dealer. It also does not appear in any CFTC precious metals enforcement release we surfaced.

This is an independent editorial review. We have no affiliate relationship with New Century Gold, earn nothing if you choose it, and provide no outbound link to its site. What follows is the verified public record, the large gaps in that record, and the white metals detail most gold-only reviews skip.

Short on time? The essentials

  • Head office listed at 6303 Owensmouth Avenue, 10th Floor, Woodland Hills, CA 91367, with a public sales line of +1 (818) 936 2688 (source: newcenturygold.com Home and About pages, checked July 2026).
  • Public menu covers Home, Gold, Silver, About Us, Privacy Policy and Blog. Blog page is empty at time of check (source: newcenturygold.com Blog page, checked July 2026).
  • Product line as published: gold bars, gold coins, silver bars, silver coins, plus a separately listed rare coins category (source: newcenturygold.com About page, checked July 2026).
  • Platinum and palladium have no dedicated product page and are not mentioned in the About or Silver pages (source: newcenturygold.com, checked July 2026).
  • Shipping policy: orders ship within 10 business days of payment, via USPS, FedEx or UPS, insured for full value, with signature confirmation required (source: newcenturygold.com About page, checked July 2026).
  • Optional third-party storage is offered on the About page, but no depository is named (source: newcenturygold.com About page, checked July 2026).
  • The company self-claims a Best of Woodland Hills for Financial Services Business Recognition Award dated September 2015 from the Woodland Hills Award Program (source: newcenturygold.com Home page, checked July 2026). No independent verification of this program surfaced in our checks.
  • The site self-claims Better Business Bureau membership. A live BBB profile pull for New Century Gold in Woodland Hills was blocked by a browser challenge. No Wayback Machine snapshot of the profile was found either (source: bbb.org, web.archive.org CDX API, checked July 2026).
  • Domain trail on the Wayback Machine shows newcenturygold.com captures back to March 2004, though early captures show different content than the current site (source: web.archive.org CDX API, checked July 2026).
  • SEC EDGAR full-text search returns zero filings for New Century Gold, which is the expected outcome for a private coin dealer that is not a broker-dealer or fund issuer (source: efts.sec.gov, checked July 2026).

The thin public footprint in one paragraph

Most precious metals IRA reviews on this site unpack a company's fee schedule, custodian list and depository partners in the first section. New Century Gold makes that impossible on the public web. Its four crawlable pages (Home, Gold, Silver, About Us) do not publish a fee, a minimum, a custodian, a depository, a founding year or a founder name (source: newcenturygold.com, checked July 2026).

That is the finding to lead with. Whatever the company offers over the phone, the public record it has chosen to publish is unusually thin for a firm inviting IRA and 401(k) allocations. The rest of this page walks through what is verifiable, what is missing, and how that shapes an honest read.

Who New Century Gold actually is

New Century Gold operates out of a single Woodland Hills address. The Home and About pages list the office at 6303 Owensmouth Avenue, 10th Floor, Woodland Hills, CA 91367, with a public sales line of +1 (818) 936 2688 (source: newcenturygold.com Home page, checked July 2026). The 10th floor sits inside a general commercial tower shared by unrelated businesses, not a dedicated precious metals facility.

The About page describes an unnamed founder with a background in accounting and the mortgage real estate industries. No individual name, biographical detail or executive team page is provided (source: newcenturygold.com About page, checked July 2026). The Home page adds that the firm serves both Los Angeles and nationwide, without a state-license list or a founding year to anchor the claim.

The current site uses the First Design template platform, based on its published meta tags (source: newcenturygold.com Home page source, checked July 2026). Its footer copyright reads 2025. Combined with the empty Blog page and the four-page public menu, this is a small marketing site rather than the deep information architecture a large national dealer typically publishes.

The published product menu

The About page groups the offered products under a single heading and lists five categories: gold bars, gold coins, rare coins, silver bars and silver coins (source: newcenturygold.com About page, checked July 2026). The dedicated Gold page discusses gold bullion, gold coins, and specifically pre-1933 rare U.S. gold coins as an option. The Silver page discusses silver coins, silver bars and silver exchange-traded funds framed as bars.

Neither the Home page, the About page, the Gold page nor the Silver page mention platinum or palladium as products (source: newcenturygold.com, checked July 2026). The site's public menu contains no Platinum page and no Palladium page. This is the first product-side signal that New Century Gold, as it presents itself on the public web in July 2026, is a gold and silver dealer.

How New Century Gold handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs

This section carries more weight on White Metal Resources than on a gold-focused site. The Internal Revenue Code at Section 408(m)(3) permits four metals in a precious metals IRA: gold, silver, platinum and palladium. Each must meet the COMEX minimum delivery fineness standard (source: 26 U.S. Code Section 408(m)(3), Cornell Legal Information Institute, checked July 2026). A dealer's willingness to serve all four is the practical dividing line for a white metals investor.

New Century Gold's public menu lists Gold and Silver as its two metal category pages. Platinum and palladium have no dedicated page and are not referenced in any public product copy we could locate (source: newcenturygold.com Home, Gold, Silver and About pages, checked July 2026). The About page's product list is complete at gold bars, gold coins, rare coins, silver bars and silver coins.

Bar chart comparing which IRS-eligible IRA metals appear as dedicated product categories on the New Century Gold public menu against the four metals allowed under Internal Revenue Code 408(m)(3). New Century Gold publishes one dedicated Gold page and one dedicated Silver page. It publishes zero dedicated Platinum pages and zero dedicated Palladium pages. The IRS eligible list covers all four metals.
Public menu category pages on newcenturygold.com, checked July 2026, compared to the four metals allowed for an IRA under Internal Revenue Code 408(m)(3). New Century Gold's public site publishes Gold and Silver category pages only. Platinum and Palladium have no dedicated public menu entry.

The silver coverage is real. The Silver page treats silver as an investable metal on its own terms and highlights its industrial demand across electronics, medical devices, solar panels and water purification systems. It does not, however, isolate silver IRA mechanics: no eligible-coin list is published, no fineness requirement is stated, and no silver-specific minimum is disclosed (source: newcenturygold.com Silver page, checked July 2026).

A white metals investor looking to hold platinum American Eagles or palladium Canadian Maple Leaf coins inside an IRA will not find a purchase path spelled out on this site. If the company can source those metals off-menu, that answer has to come from a phone call, and it needs to land in writing on a quote before any money moves.

The takeaway for a white metals buyer: the public catalog reads as gold and silver only. Anything beyond that is off-menu and needs to be confirmed in writing before you fund an account.

The IRA and 401(k) framing on the site

New Century Gold's Home page hero copy leans on the IRA and 401(k) angle. It uses phrases like Protect and Grow Your IRA or 401(K) and Make Smart IRA and 401k Investments with Gold and Silver (source: newcenturygold.com Home page, checked July 2026). That marketing framing is prominent above the fold.

The mechanics behind that framing are not published anywhere on the site. There is no dedicated Gold IRA or Precious Metals IRA page. There is no named custodian who would hold the account. There is no named depository who would hold the metal. There is no explanation of a rollover process, no time estimate, and no eligibility rule reference to IRS Publication 590-A (source: newcenturygold.com, checked July 2026).

Under IRS rules, an IRA that holds physical bullion must use an approved non-bank trustee as custodian, and the metal must sit at an IRS-approved depository. Home storage of IRA metal is generally not permitted (source: IRS Publication 590-A, 590-B, 26 U.S. Code Section 408(m), checked July 2026). Any dealer selling into an IRA has to work with a compliant custodian and depository partner, even if that partner is unnamed on the public site.

Fees, minimums and the missing numbers

This is the section most reviews open with. On New Century Gold, it is short by necessity.

The site does not publish a dealer premium schedule (source: newcenturygold.com, checked July 2026). There is no percentage over spot, no dollar setup fee, no annual fee, and no fee waiver for rollover accounts stated anywhere in the four public pages. There is no comparison table matching order size to premium either.

The site does not publish an account minimum. There is no dollar figure below which the company will refuse to open an IRA. No published minimum can be positive (it invites smaller savers) or a red flag (it hides an actual floor). Without a written quote it is impossible to tell which.

The site does not publish a buyback policy. The exit price on the metals you buy from New Century Gold is not stated on the site. In a ten-year hold, the buyback spread often does more damage to net return than the setup fee (source: general precious metals IRA fee analysis, IRS Publication 590-B, checked July 2026).

New Century Gold public disclosure vs the four numbers a precious metals IRA buyer needs (source: newcenturygold.com Home, Gold, Silver and About pages, checked July 2026)
Number a buyer needsPublished on newcenturygold.com?What to ask for in writing
Dealer premium over spotNot publishedA per-product premium at your exact order size, in a written quote.
IRA account minimumNot publishedThe dollar floor for opening a new IRA and for a rollover.
Annual custodian feeNot published (no custodian named)The custodian name plus its own published fee sheet.
Annual storage feeNot published (no depository named)The depository name, storage type (segregated or commingled), and its fee sheet.
Setup and rollover feesNot publishedThe one-time charge to open the account and the charge to process a rollover.
Buyback spread on exitNot publishedThe methodology for pricing metal the company originally sold you, at sale time.

Six line items form the fee stack of every precious metals IRA. New Century Gold publishes none of them on its public site as of July 2026.

Shipping, storage and delivery terms

The About page is more specific on logistics than on money. It states that all orders ship within 10 business days of receipt of payment. Shipments use USPS, FedEx or UPS, insured for full value, with tracking numbers supplied. Signature confirmation is required on delivery (source: newcenturygold.com About page, checked July 2026).

The same page also states that physical gold and silver can be delivered to the customer directly or, alternatively, insured and stored at a third-party depository. No depository name is given, no storage fee is quoted, and no distinction is drawn between segregated storage and commingled storage (source: newcenturygold.com About page, checked July 2026).

For a direct-purchase customer taking delivery at home, the shipping terms are stated. For an IRA customer, the storage arrangement remains a blank on the public web. That blank has to be filled by a named partner before an IRA account can meet IRS custody rules.

Better Business Bureau claim and what we could verify

The Home page carries a text badge that reads Member, Better Business Bureau (source: newcenturygold.com Home page, checked July 2026). The Home page also links to a specific BBB profile URL for New Century Gold in Woodland Hills. That link is publicly visible.

We were unable to complete a live pull of the BBB profile itself. Two direct requests to the profile URL returned browser-challenge screens rather than the profile content (source: bbb.org, checked July 2026).

You may also like:  Gold IRA Fees Explained: Setup, Storage and Markups

A Wayback Machine CDX API query for that URL returned zero archived snapshots (source: web.archive.org CDX API, checked July 2026). We therefore could not verify the current letter grade, accreditation status, accreditation date, the three-year closed complaint count, or the review star average.

What we can say with certainty: the site self-claims BBB membership, and a candidate BBB profile URL is linked from the Home page. The rating on that profile is unverified in our checks. A buyer should pull the profile directly at bbb.org and record what appears there, in writing, before any account funding.

Regulatory record check

SEC EDGAR full-text search returns zero filings for the exact phrase New Century Gold. The only matches for that phrase in the EDGAR archive relate to two unrelated 2005 mortgage-securities documents from separate corporate issuers (source: efts.sec.gov, checked July 2026). This is the expected outcome for a private coin dealer that is not registered as a broker-dealer or fund issuer. It is not evidence of trouble; it is evidence of absence.

The CFTC press release search for the phrase New Century Gold returned no precious metals enforcement release attributable to this company in our checks (source: cftc.gov, checked July 2026). We did not find a public state securities regulator action against the company in Bing search results. The lack of a hit does not guarantee a clean bill of health, particularly for state-level consumer actions that may not surface in a general web search.

A full check still requires the buyer to search several databases directly. That means the CFTC Reparations Sanctions list, the California Department of Financial Protection and Innovation actions database, and any state securities regulator where the buyer resides. Run each search under the exact legal entity name the company uses in its business filings. That step is on the check list further down the page.

Domain trail and site template signals

The Wayback Machine holds captures of newcenturygold.com back to March 28, 2004 (source: web.archive.org CDX API, checked July 2026). Domains do change hands, and the early captures show layouts and content that do not match the current Woodland Hills site. So the domain age is real, but the domain age does not tell us how long the current Woodland Hills operation has actually been trading under this name.

The current site's HTML source identifies the template as First Design in the Open Graph site_name meta property (source: newcenturygold.com Home page source, checked July 2026). First Design is a general-purpose small-business site template, widely used across unrelated industries. That is not a red flag in itself, but it is a signal that the site was built as a low-lift marketing brochure rather than a purpose-built precious metals dealer platform.

The 2015 Woodland Hills Award, in context

The Home page states the company earned a Best of Woodland Hills for Financial Services Business Recognition Award in September 2015 from the Woodland Hills Award Program (source: newcenturygold.com Home page, checked July 2026). The claim is prominent above the fold.

The Woodland Hills Award Program is a local recognition scheme rather than an independent industry rating. It is not a Better Business Bureau accreditation and not a state or federal license. It also dates to 2015. A ten-plus year old local recognition is not a substitute for a current BBB accreditation, a current CFPB check, or a live customer review record. Weight the claim accordingly.

The case for New Century Gold

What works in its favor

  • Clear published physical address and public sales line in Woodland Hills, California, both easy to verify.
  • Shipping and insurance terms are the most concrete section of the site: 10 business day shipping, insured for full value, signature required.
  • Small operator model, one location, one phone number, which appeals to buyers who prefer talking to a firm they can physically visit.
  • Domain trail on the Wayback Machine goes back to 2004, and the current site copyright is 2025, so the online presence is not brand new.
  • No SEC filings and no CFTC precious metals enforcement release surfaced in our checks, which is the expected outcome for a private coin dealer of this size.

What holds it back

  • No fee schedule, no account minimum and no buyback policy anywhere on the public site. Six of the six numbers an IRA buyer needs are blank.
  • No named IRA custodian and no named IRA depository, even though the Home page markets the metals for IRA and 401(k) accounts.
  • No founder name, no leadership page, no press coverage. The About page describes an unnamed founder with an accounting and mortgage real estate background.
  • No dedicated platinum page and no dedicated palladium page. Public product menu is gold and silver only.
  • Rare coin category sits on the same product list as bullion. Rare and numismatic coins carry wider spreads and are generally not IRA-eligible under IRS 408(m)(3) fineness rules.
  • BBB accreditation status and letter grade could not be verified in our checks because the profile page returned browser-challenge screens.
  • The Blog page is empty at time of check, which is a weak signal on ongoing editorial or product update activity.

Who it suits, and who it does not

Fit questions get more useful answers than star ratings, so this section stays narrow.

New Century Gold could suit a Woodland Hills area buyer who wants a small local coin dealer, is happy transacting for direct delivery, and does not need an IRA wrapper. It could suit a buyer who is comfortable getting every number over the phone and writing it down themselves, and who is only shopping gold and silver.

It is not a natural fit for a buyer who wants a platinum or palladium IRA, since neither metal appears on the public catalog. It is not a fit for a buyer who wants a published fee schedule and a published minimum before a first phone call. And it is not a fit for a buyer who values a large, current, independently verifiable customer review base, since that data does not surface on the public web.

How to evaluate New Century Gold yourself

Use this six-step check on New Century Gold. The same six steps work on any precious metals dealer on the market.

  1. Pull the BBB profile directly at bbb.org for New Century Gold in Woodland Hills, California. Note the letter grade, the accreditation status, the accreditation date, and the count of closed complaints in the last three years. Save the profile as a PDF.
  2. Get a written quote covering every line item: dealer premium at your order size, any account setup fee, annual custodian fee, annual storage fee, buyback spread on exit, and a rollover coordination fee if any. If any line is missing from the reply, ask again in writing.
  3. Name the IRA custodian in writing and pull its own fee schedule directly from the custodian's site. The custodian holds your account, not the dealer. Also confirm the custodian is an IRS-approved non-bank trustee.
  4. Confirm which named depository will hold your metal, whether storage is segregated or commingled, and pull the depository's own fee sheet. Keep both answers in the same email thread.
  5. Cross-check the day-of purchase premium against a live spot chart from a public source. Note the gap in basis points and get it confirmed in writing before funds move.
  6. Search the CFTC Reparations Sanctions list, NASAA, your state securities regulator and the federal trade actions database for the dealer's exact legal entity name. Do this before any funds leave your existing account.
Worked example

Getting the six numbers on a $100,000 rollover

A buyer wants to move $100,000 from a Traditional IRA into a precious metals IRA holding silver and gold, and is considering New Century Gold. Because the public site publishes none of the six line items, the buyer's first job is data collection, not purchase.

  1. Call +1 (818) 936 2688 and request a written itemized quote by email, including the dealer premium at $100,000 for silver bars and for gold coins, any account setup fee, and the buyback spread methodology.
  2. Ask which IRA custodian the firm uses. Get the custodian name and its published annual fee schedule in the same email.
  3. Ask which depository will hold the metal, whether storage is segregated or commingled, and get that depository's own fee sheet.
  4. Once every line has a dollar figure, add them: dealer premium plus setup fee, plus annual custodian, plus annual storage. That is the year-one all-in cost.
  5. Compare that year-one number against a written quote from at least one other national precious metals IRA dealer at the same $100,000 rollover size, on the same metal mix.

If any of those six items is missing after two written requests, the honest conclusion is that this dealer's disclosure standard does not match a $100,000 rollover. That is a decision-quality signal by itself.

What a fee stack of any size costs over ten years

The worked example above uses a specific $100,000 rollover. Your account size, product mix and holding period will all differ. Run your own scenario with the calculator below, and use the numbers on your written quote, not headline averages.

Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator

Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.

Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

When any small coin dealer is the wrong move

A precious metals IRA is not the right move for every saver, and this section deliberately steps outside any sales pitch.

Skip any dealer entirely if any of the following is true.

  • You have less than three to five years to retirement and will need the money as liquid cash for known expenses.
  • Your total retirement savings sit below the level where dealer premium plus custodian and storage fees combined represent a meaningful annual drag.
  • You are not comfortable holding a physical asset that cannot be sold on a bad-news day at a keystroke.
  • You are relying on the account to generate income before age 59.5. Early distributions carry federal penalty layers that a metals IRA does not solve.
  • You want your dealer to hold your metal directly rather than ship to an IRS-approved depository. Home storage of IRA metals is generally not permitted under IRS rules.

If any of those apply, the honest recommendation is not New Century Gold or any other dealer. It is a call with a licensed advisor to build a plan around your timeline first, then a metals question later.

New Century Gold questions, answered

Is New Century Gold a real precious metals dealer?

Yes. New Century Gold is a going concern operating from 6303 Owensmouth Avenue, 10th Floor, Woodland Hills, CA 91367, with a public sales line at +1 (818) 936 2688 and a live website. It is not a registered SEC filer, which is expected for a private coin dealer, not a red flag.

What are New Century Gold’s fees?

The company does not publish a fee schedule on any of its four public pages. There is no dealer premium, no setup fee, no annual custodian fee, no storage fee and no buyback spread stated on newcenturygold.com as of July 2026. Every fee number has to be requested in writing by phone or email before an account decision.

What is New Century Gold’s account minimum?

The public site does not publish an account minimum. It does not state a dollar floor for opening a precious metals IRA or a rollover. A buyer should ask for that minimum in writing before spending time on a specialist call.

Does New Century Gold offer platinum or palladium?

The public product menu covers gold bars, gold coins, rare coins, silver bars and silver coins. Neither platinum nor palladium has a dedicated page and neither metal is referenced in the About or product copy on the site as of July 2026. A buyer who wants those metals inside an IRA should confirm availability in writing before opening an account.

Which IRA custodian does New Century Gold work with?

The site does not name an IRA custodian. Under IRS rules the custodian on a precious metals IRA must be a bank or an IRS-approved non-bank trustee, not the coin dealer itself. Any dealer selling into an IRA works with such a custodian, and the buyer should ask for that name in writing.

Which depository would hold the metal?

The About page mentions optional third-party depository storage but does not name a depository. Under IRS rules the metal in a precious metals IRA has to sit at an approved depository, not with the dealer. Ask for the depository name and its own fee sheet before any account funding.

Can I roll a 401(k) or existing IRA into a New Century Gold precious metals IRA?

The Home page markets the metals for IRA and 401(k) allocations, but the site does not publish a step-by-step rollover process, a time estimate or a rollover fee. Rollover eligibility follows IRS rules under Publication 590-A. Consult your tax advisor for your specific situation before initiating any transfer.

What is New Century Gold’s BBB rating?

The site self-claims Better Business Bureau membership and links to a candidate BBB profile URL for New Century Gold in Woodland Hills. Our attempts to pull the live profile returned browser-challenge screens, and no Wayback Machine snapshot of the profile is archived. Pull the live bbb.org profile directly to see the current letter grade, accreditation status and closed complaint count.

Does New Century Gold have any regulatory issues?

SEC EDGAR returns zero filings for New Century Gold, which is the expected outcome for a private coin dealer that is not a broker-dealer. Our CFTC and general web checks did not surface a public precious metals enforcement release attributable to this company. Buyers should still search the CFTC Reparations list, NASAA and their state securities regulator under the exact legal entity name.

How is New Century Gold different from a national precious metals IRA dealer?

National precious metals IRA specialists typically publish a fee schedule, an account minimum, a list of named IRA custodians, a list of named depositories and a full four-metal product menu. New Century Gold does none of those things on its public site. It presents as a small local coin dealer with IRA marketing copy at the top of its Home page.

Sources

  1. New Century Gold, Home page at newcenturygold.com (physical address, phone number, IRA and 401(k) marketing copy, self-claimed BBB membership, 2015 Woodland Hills Award claim), checked July 2026.
  2. New Century Gold, About Us page at newcenturygold.com/about-us/ (product list, shipping and delivery terms, third-party depository mention, founder background reference), checked July 2026.
  3. New Century Gold, Gold page at newcenturygold.com/gold/ (gold bars, gold coins, pre-1933 rare U.S. gold coin discussion), checked July 2026.
  4. New Century Gold, Silver page at newcenturygold.com/silver/ (silver coins, silver bars, industrial demand framing), checked July 2026.
  5. New Century Gold, Blog page at newcenturygold.com/bl/ (empty at time of check), checked July 2026.
  6. IRS Publication 590-A, Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs), checked July 2026.
  7. IRS Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements (IRAs), checked July 2026.
  8. Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S. Code Section 408(m)(3), fineness rules for IRA-eligible bullion, checked July 2026.
  9. SEC EDGAR full-text search results for New Century Gold (two unrelated 2005 mortgage-securities matches, zero coin dealer filings), checked July 2026.
  10. CFTC Fraud Advisory, Precious Metals, checked July 2026.
  11. Internet Archive Wayback Machine, capture history for newcenturygold.com back to March 2004, checked July 2026.
  12. Better Business Bureau, search for New Century Gold, Woodland Hills, California (pull the live profile directly for current letter grade and complaint count).
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment