The Metal Exchange Review

Last updated on

Quick answer: The Metal Exchange is a Los Angeles precious-metals dealer whose live website appears essentially frozen in time. The homepage still calls the parent LCI Company a firm with sixteen years of business (a math that lands in 2013), the Twitter account has six lifetime posts, and every price on the storefront reads "Call for Pricing."

The online product catalog holds eleven gold coins and bars and eleven silver coins and bars. It holds zero platinum products and zero palladium products, even though the site's own IRA copy names all four metals as eligible. No BBB profile came back through public search, no independent review coverage surfaced, and no specific fee, minimum, custodian or depository is published anywhere on the site.

Short on time? The essentials

  • Corporate paper trail per the company's own pages: The Metal Exchange, Inc., 1990 S. Bundy Dr., Suite 650, Los Angeles, California 90025. Phone 1-800-844-3142, fax 1-310-571-0194, hours 9am to 6pm Pacific (themetalexchange.com contact page, checked July 2026).
  • Parent claim from the homepage footer: "The Metal Exchange is an LCI Company. Established in 1997, LCI has successfully transacted over $1,300,000,000 in financial transactions in its 16 years of business." Sixteen plus 1997 lands in 2013, and the sentence has not been updated since.
  • Domain paper trail from the Internet Archive CDX API: themetalexchange.com served content in 2003 and 2004, returned 404 in 2008, and came back with a 6,053-byte page on May 4, 2013. The current site design dates from that 2013 relaunch.
  • Twitter account @TheMetalXchange snapshot on x.com in July 2026: joined January 2013, six total posts ever, eleven following, six followers, "hasn't posted" on the timeline.
  • Pricing model, verified live: every product listed on the storefront (Gold American Eagle, Silver American Eagle, Silver Snow Falcon, gold and silver bars, Kruggerand, Maple Leaf, Philharmonic) shows "Call for Pricing" for both retail and wholesale tiers.
  • Online catalog depth per metal, counted from the site's own product category pages in July 2026: eleven gold items, eleven silver items, zero platinum items, zero palladium items.
  • Metals named as IRA-eligible on the site's IRA Center page: "gold, platinum, silver or palladium." That is a four-metal claim in copy paired with a two-metal live catalog.
  • Minnesota exclusion, stated on the homepage and on multiple internal pages: since Minnesota Chapter 80G took effect on July 1, 2014, the firm will not buy from or sell to Minnesota non-dealer residents.
  • Site content quirks that matter for trust: the IRA Center page contains a sentence that names a different company ("The processes sustaining the possession of precious metal are a cakewalk with American Bullion"), and the homepage footer links to Lear Capital's BBB seal page. Both are unusual for a company operating an independent brand.
  • Third-party verification that we could not complete: no BBB profile for The Metal Exchange came back from the searches we ran; bbb.org returns 403 to scripted fetches, and web.archive.org holds no bbb.org snapshots for the company. Trustpilot and Consumer Affairs also returned 403.
  • Fee schedule, IRA minimum, custodian partner, depository partner: none are published on any page of the site we could load. All price and vendor questions are pushed into the phone call.

What the paper trail actually says

The Metal Exchange operates from a Los Angeles office at 1990 S. Bundy Dr., Suite 650, in the 90025 postal district near Sawtelle. The Contact Us page publishes the address, a toll-free line at 1-800-844-3142, and a fax line at 1-310-571-0194. Hours are stated as nine in the morning to six in the evening Pacific.

The homepage footer names a parent entity called "an LCI Company" and describes LCI as "established in 1997" with "over $1,300,000,000 in financial transactions in its 16 years of business." Simple math places that sentence in 2013. It has not been rewritten since.

The Internet Archive CDX record for themetalexchange.com fills in the rest of the paper trail. The domain existed as a small parked page in 2003 and 2004. It went dark in 2008. It came back on May 4, 2013 as a six-kilobyte precious-metals site. That is the current business.

The company's Twitter account, at x.com/TheMetalXchange, was created in the same window in January 2013. The profile shows six lifetime posts, eleven accounts followed, six followers, and a timeline that reads "hasn't posted." A public brand that stopped talking in 2013 is not a brand that is actively courting new business online.

Pricing lives on the phone, not on the page

Every product tile on the storefront, from the Gold American Eagle to the Silver Snow Falcon to the ten-ounce gold bar, displays "Call for Pricing" for both the retail one-to-nine tier and the wholesale ten-plus tier. That is the fee schedule. It says nothing about the actual number a buyer will pay.

Live spot prices do render on the homepage banner, and the site does show a Buy Online button. Once a shopper clicks through, the coin has no price attached to it, and the only path forward is a Request Investment Information form. The form asks for a phone number and one of four investment brackets: $5,000-$10,000, $10,000-$25,000, $25,000-$75,000, or $75,000 and up.

Two consequences follow. First, the actual price a buyer pays for any specific coin is decided inside a phone call rather than shown on the pricing page. Second, the buyer bracket the form asks for is what the sales team will use to route the conversation, not a published minimum. The site never states an IRA-funding minimum in prose.

What to ask for in writing before you call back

Any dealer that quotes only in a phone call is quoting a spread you cannot compare. Before the second call, ask by email for five specific numbers.

  1. The current ask price per ounce on the specific coin being offered.
  2. The company's current bid price on the same coin if you sold it back today.
  3. The minimum total order the firm will accept for an IRA-eligible purchase.
  4. The IRS-approved custodian the metals will be titled to.
  5. The IRS-approved depository the metals will ship to.

Any of the five missing turns "Call for Pricing" into a black box.

How this company handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs

The IRA Center page names all four IRS-eligible metals in prose. It reads: "This type of account allows you to choose over a list of metals such as gold, platinum, palladium or silver. The chosen metal is secured in an IRS approved container." That is a four-metal claim in copy.

The storefront is where the claim breaks down. The site's product taxonomy hosts a Gold category and a Silver category. The URLs /products/all/platinum/ and /products/all/palladium/ resolve to live pages, but both return zero listed products. There are eleven gold coins and bars for sale online, eleven silver coins and bars for sale online, and nothing else.

Silver receives a small extra emphasis on the storefront through Snow Falcon, a Canadian Royal Canadian Mint issue in a 1.5-ounce weight, and a set of survival-silver bags at $100, $250, $500 and $1,000 face-value denominations. That is a wider silver catalog than most gold-first dealers publish. It is still an eleven-item catalog.

The IRA Center page also carries an unusual sentence for a company operating an independent brand: "The processes sustaining the possession of precious metal are a cakewalk with American Bullion." American Bullion is a different precious-metals IRA firm. The sentence reads like a template copy that was never rewritten for The Metal Exchange.

Federal law defines the eligibility floor at .995 fine gold, .999 fine silver, and .9995 fine platinum and palladium under 26 U.S. Code § 408(m). Meeting that floor is a metal-purity question. Sourcing the coin at a competitive premium is a dealer question. A firm with zero platinum and zero palladium items in its live catalog is a firm that will source those metals only through the phone call, at whatever premium is quoted in that call.

Bottom line on white metals

A four-metal IRA claim in prose. A two-metal live catalog with zero platinum and zero palladium items listed. If a platinum-heavy or palladium-heavy allocation is the point of your rollover, this catalog is not the one to start with.

Coins and bars listed per metal, counted from the storefront

The chart below counts unique product listings under each of the four metal categories on themetalexchange.com, gathered live in July 2026. Every entry was pulled from the site's own product category pages, not from marketing copy.

Vertical bar chart of the item counts on The Metal Exchange's public storefront by metal, as verified live on themetalexchange.com in July 2026: 11 gold items, 11 silver items, 0 platinum items, and 0 palladium items.
The Metal Exchange storefront: unique products listed on themetalexchange.com by metal, counted from the Products All category pages on July 12, 2026. Gold and silver each show 11 items; platinum and palladium each return an empty category. Numbers are the storefront's own listing counts.

Two things are worth reading directly off the bars. First, gold and silver share equal shelf space on the site, which is unusual because most dealers in this vertical treat gold as the dominant funnel and silver as an add-on. Second, the storefront has literally zero platinum items and zero palladium items, even though the IRA Center page names both metals as eligible.

The disconnect matters for two kinds of buyer. A gold-and-silver buyer sees a coherent eleven-plus-eleven catalog and a straightforward set of choices. A buyer who was routed here for platinum or palladium exposure sees a live catalog with nothing to buy in the category they came for, and a sales call that is now the only path to a quote.

Minnesota residents cannot transact at all

Every page of the site carries a Minnesota Residents box that quotes the company's own decision on Minnesota Statutes Chapter 80G, the Minnesota Bullion Coin Dealers Law that took effect on July 1, 2014. The statute regulates coin dealers who do business with Minnesota consumers, regardless of where the transaction is executed.

The company's position on Chapter 80G, in its own words: "we will temporarily no longer buy and/or sell items that contain gold, silver, platinum, or palladium to Minnesota non-dealer residents until further notice. Thank you in advance for understanding this decision that we must regrettably make. If you are an existing client, we are still unable to complete any transactions at this time."

Two operational points fall out of that policy. Minnesota residents cannot open an IRA with the firm at all, and existing Minnesota clients cannot transact through it either. The word "temporarily" was published sometime after mid-2014 and has stayed on the page for more than a decade, which is how the compliance policy has hardened into a permanent geographic exclusion.

For any buyer outside Minnesota, the Chapter 80G page is still useful. It signals that the firm was willing to withdraw from a state rather than register under the statute's dealer-licensing framework. Whether that is prudence or an unwillingness to carry compliance overhead is a judgment call the buyer has to make. Chapter 80G is public statute at revisor.mn.gov.

What the policies page actually agrees to

The Policies page is the most substantive document on the site. It is the one page written in careful legal language rather than marketing prose, and it deserves reading before any funds move.

The Spread disclosure states plainly that the "purchase price Customer has been quoted and agreed to pay includes TME's profit margin on the transaction." The margin, called the Spread, is the difference between the dealer's cost on the day of purchase and the retail price quoted to the customer. The page says spreads vary by metal, by customer, and over time, and may be subject to negotiation.

The Re-purchases disclosure is a hard read for a buyer. It states that "the law prohibits TME from guaranteeing to re-purchase the Precious Metals TME sells, and TME does not guarantee that it will re-purchase any Precious Metals that Customer purchases." The firm adds that it has never refused to re-purchase, which is a track-record statement rather than a legal commitment.

The classification language is worth scanning too. The page notes that whether a coin is classified as Bullion, semi-Numismatic, or Numismatic is partly subjective, and that "TME's prices and spreads are based on its classification determination." Any coin the firm classifies as semi-Numismatic or Numismatic can carry a higher spread than a Bullion classification would allow, and other dealers may classify the same coin differently.

Two lines from the Investment Objectives section are the ones a fiduciary would flag. The page says "no fiduciary relationship exists between TME and Customer" and that its representatives are "commissioned sales representatives." Neither statement is unusual for a physical-metals dealer, and both are legally required disclosures. Read them and internalize them before the sales call.

Trust signals we could and could not verify

An honest third-party review lives on the trust signals that come from outside the company's own site. On The Metal Exchange, most of those signals are missing.

The Better Business Bureau profile is the first check we tried. Direct fetches of bbb.org from a scripted client return 403 across every URL pattern we tested. The Internet Archive CDX search on bbb.org for URLs containing "metal-exchange" or "themetalexchange" returned zero snapshots, which means we could not fall back on an archived profile either. We cannot cite a letter grade, a complaint count, or a customer review average for the firm.

Independent review coverage is the second check. A DuckDuckGo search for "themetalexchange.com review" returned no results in July 2026. A DuckDuckGo search for "the metal exchange inc BBB Bundy" returned no results. Neither Trustpilot nor Consumer Affairs responded to scripted fetches, and neither surfaced organically in the searches we ran.

Regulatory record is the third check. A search of SEC EDGAR filings and CFTC press releases turned up nothing that named the firm, which is normal for a small private physical-metals dealer. The absence of federal enforcement is a floor, not a rating.

The company's own trust-signal choices are the last piece worth noting. The homepage footer links to a Better Business Bureau seal page for a different Los Angeles dealer, Lear Capital, rather than to a BBB profile of The Metal Exchange itself. Whether that is a legacy affiliate placement, a copy-paste artifact, or an intentional cross-link, it is not a trust signal for The Metal Exchange as a distinct business.

What the missing verification means for a buyer

Absence of a BBB rating is not proof of anything by itself. It is a working condition. A prudent buyer treats an unverifiable rating the same way as an undisclosed fee: an information gap that has to be filled before funds move. Ask the specialist for the BBB profile URL directly, and confirm it resolves to the firm named on the incoming wire instruction.

The Metal Exchange at a glance

The Metal Exchange, what the public record actually shows (July 2026)
AttributeWhat the site or a public source statesWhere to verify
Corporate name and addressThe Metal Exchange, Inc., 1990 S. Bundy Dr., Suite 650, Los Angeles, California 90025themetalexchange.com Contact Us page
Toll-free line and faxPhone 1-800-844-3142, Fax 1-310-571-0194themetalexchange.com Contact Us page
Business hours9am to 6pm Pacificthemetalexchange.com Contact Us page
Parent entity (self-claim)"An LCI Company"; LCI stated to be established in 1997 with more than $1.3 billion in transactions across sixteen yearsthemetalexchange.com homepage footer
Current site relaunch yearMay 4, 2013 (per Internet Archive CDX)web.archive.org CDX API record
Twitter accountJoined January 2013; six posts total; eleven following; six followers; timeline emptyx.com/TheMetalXchange, checked July 2026
Storefront pricing model"Call for Pricing" on every product tile, both retail and wholesale tiersthemetalexchange.com products pages
Lead-form investment brackets$5,000-$10,000, $10,000-$25,000, $25,000-$75,000, $75,000 and upthemetalexchange.com Request Investment Information form
Gold coins and bars listed online11 unique items (American Eagle, Canadian Maple Leaf, Kruggerand, Philharmonic, 1oz and 10oz bars, Polar Bear Cub, Snow Falcon)themetalexchange.com /products/all/gold/
Silver coins and bars listed online11 unique items (American Eagle, Canadian Maple Leaf, investor box, rounds, bars, Polar Bear Cub, Snow Falcon, survival silver at four face-value tiers)themetalexchange.com /products/all/silver/
Platinum coins and bars listed onlineZerothemetalexchange.com /products/all/platinum/
Palladium coins and bars listed onlineZerothemetalexchange.com /products/all/palladium/
Metals named IRA-eligible in proseGold, platinum, silver, palladiumthemetalexchange.com IRA Center page
Published IRA setup feeNot publicly disclosedthemetalexchange.com, verified July 2026
Published annual custodian feeNot publicly disclosedthemetalexchange.com, verified July 2026
Published storage feeNot publicly disclosedthemetalexchange.com, verified July 2026
Published IRA-funding minimumNot publicly disclosed in prose; the lead form ranges from $5,000 upwardthemetalexchange.com, verified July 2026
Named custodian partnerNot publicly disclosed on any site page we could fetchthemetalexchange.com, verified July 2026
Named depository partnerNot publicly disclosed; the IRA Center page references a generic "IRS-approved depository"themetalexchange.com IRA Center page
Buy-back policyNo guaranteed re-purchase; discretionary offers at wholesale bid; policy subject to changethemetalexchange.com Policies page
Spread disclosureYes: dealer profit margin acknowledged; spreads vary by metal, customer, and time; may be negotiatedthemetalexchange.com Policies page
Fiduciary status"No fiduciary relationship exists between TME and Customer"themetalexchange.com Policies page
Representative statusCommissioned sales representativesthemetalexchange.com Policies page
Minnesota policyCannot buy from or sell to Minnesota non-dealer residents; policy dates from Chapter 80G effective July 1, 2014themetalexchange.com Minnesota Residents box; revisor.mn.gov
BBB profile (currently accessible)None surfaced through direct URL patterns or Wayback CDX searchbbb.org (403 blocked to scripted fetches); web.archive.org CDX search
Independent review coverageZero results on DuckDuckGo for "themetalexchange.com review" in July 2026DuckDuckGo search, July 2026
SEC EDGAR recordNo filings that name the firmefts.sec.gov, checked July 2026
CFTC press-release recordNo enforcement announcements that name the firmcftc.gov, checked July 2026
You may also like:  How a Silver IRA Works Step by Step

All values verified live in July 2026 against the sources named in each row. Rows marked "not publicly disclosed" reflect an absence of published detail on the pages we could fetch, not a claim about what the firm charges inside its sales call.

Modeling the fee drag when no fee is published

Because The Metal Exchange does not publish a specific annual fee, the calculator below is deliberately generic. It models the cumulative drag of any percentage-of-assets fee on three plausible starting balances over ten years. Type in the actual number the specialist quotes you in writing, and see what that number costs on your specific balance.

Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator

Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.

Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

Two caveats apply to any output the calculator produces. First, a flat annual dollar fee behaves very differently at different balance levels. At a $50,000 balance a flat $200 fee is 0.400 percent per year; at a $250,000 balance the same $200 fee is 0.080 percent per year. The percentage drag collapses as the balance grows.

Second, the annual fee is only one line item. The dealer buy-sell spread on the specific coin is a separate cost, is usually the largest cost over a full holding period, and is not modeled here. Ask for both the annual fee and the current spread on the coin the specialist recommends, and evaluate the two lines together.

Opening a Precious Metals IRA with an undisclosed-fee dealer

The seven steps below assume the direct-transfer path described on the site's IRA Center page combined with the standard self-directed IRA process. Because the firm publishes no custodian, no depository, and no fee schedule, the first three steps are heavier than they would be at a firm with a public price list.

  1. Ask for the missing information in writing before you book the sales call. Request the setup fee, first-year and subsequent-year custodian fee, storage fee at each option, wire and termination fees, the current buy-sell spread on a specific coin, the exact IRA-funding minimum, the name of the IRS-approved custodian, and the name of the IRS-approved depository. Do not accept "Call for Pricing" as an answer at this stage.
  2. Verify the custodian and depository independently. Once the firm names a trustee, look up that trustee's published fee schedule at the trustee's own site. Once the firm names a depository, verify the facility appears on the IRS list of approved non-bank trustees and depositories. Both directories are public.
  3. Confirm your state is served. The Minnesota exclusion is the only state-level policy the company publishes, and it is longstanding. If you are a Minnesota resident, this firm is not an option. If you are elsewhere, ask whether any other state restrictions apply.
  4. Verify your funding source is eligible. Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs, former-employer 401(k) balances, 403(b), 457(b), and Thrift Savings Plan balances can typically move to a self-directed IRA. Confirm your specific plan for any employer-plan restrictions.
  5. Open the self-directed IRA with the named third-party trustee. The trustee holds legal title to the metal and handles annual tax reporting. Ask the trustee directly for the published fee schedule; it is a separate document from anything the dealer sends you, and it applies to your account for its entire life.
  6. Fund via direct trustee-to-trustee transfer. A direct transfer moves the money custodian to custodian and avoids the sixty-day deadline and the twenty percent mandatory withholding that apply to indirect rollovers under Internal Revenue Code Section 408. This is the safer of the two rollover routes for most buyers.
  7. Choose IRS-eligible metals only. Gold at .995 fine or better with named exceptions such as the American Gold Eagle, silver at .999 fine, platinum and palladium at .9995 fine. If your target allocation includes platinum or palladium, sourcing runs through the phone call because the online catalog for both metals is empty. Ask for the exact coin, the ask premium per ounce, and the current bid at liquidation.

Pros and cons from the public record

What the public record supports

  • A verifiable Los Angeles corporate address and a working toll-free line, both stable since the 2013 site relaunch. The paper trail exists.
  • A candid Policies page that discloses the Spread as the firm's profit margin, states no fiduciary relationship, and describes representatives as commissioned sales staff. Most sites bury or omit those disclosures.
  • An eleven-item silver catalog that includes survival-silver bags at four face-value tiers. Silver is not treated as an afterthought inside the gold and silver funnel.
  • A public regulatory record that shows no SEC filings and no CFTC enforcement announcements naming the firm. Absence of federal enforcement is a floor, not a rating.
  • A transparent state-level exclusion (Minnesota) tied to a specific statute, published on every page of the site rather than buried in fine print.

What weighs the other way

  • No specific IRA fee, minimum, custodian or depository is published on any page of the site. Every price question is pushed into the phone call.
  • Zero platinum and zero palladium items in the live storefront, alongside prose that names both metals as IRA-eligible. The white-metals gap is real and matters for anyone allocating beyond gold and silver.
  • An IRA Center page that names a different dealer ("cakewalk with American Bullion") and a homepage footer that links to Lear Capital's BBB seal. Both are trust-signal artifacts a live editorial team would have caught.
  • A Twitter account with six lifetime posts and a "hasn't posted" timeline. A brand that stopped talking on social in 2013 is not one you can compare on recent customer service commentary.
  • No BBB profile surfaced through direct URL patterns or Wayback CDX search, and no independent review coverage surfaced through open search. The third-party trust layer is essentially missing.
  • Homepage copy ("16 years of business," phrasing from 2013) has not been rewritten in more than a decade. Content that stale is a signal about editorial priorities at the firm.

Who this firm fits, and who it does not

The Metal Exchange is a plausible option for a narrow set of buyers. The first case is a shopper who has already used the firm in the past and is transacting on relationship rather than on marketing. The second case is a shopper who values a written Policies page over a marketing brochure and is willing to run the fee conversation entirely on the phone with the written follow-up above.

The firm is a weaker fit for most buyers running a fresh comparison. If published fee transparency, a verifiable BBB record, or an independent review base sit anywhere on the criteria list, the firm's public record does not meet the bar. If the target allocation is meaningfully platinum or palladium, the catalog gap is a structural issue, not a paperwork issue.

Minnesota residents are excluded outright by the firm's own Chapter 80G policy and should not begin a rollover conversation here. Buyers in other states can proceed if the phone-driven price discovery model is acceptable and the written follow-up above is possible.

When a precious-metals IRA is the wrong wrapper

Independent of any specific dealer, a precious-metals IRA is not the right wrapper for every household. If you expect to need liquidity within a few years, physical metal is a slow asset to convert. Dealer buy-back settles at the dealer's bid, non-market days delay the quote, and depository release adds days to the wire.

If the tax-advantaged balance you plan to roll over is small enough that a flat annual custodian fee eats a meaningful share of the balance every year, the drag can hurt more than a diversified paper portfolio would. Fee structures favor larger balances mathematically. A small account can be a poor match for the wrapper even at a firm with a reasonable fee sheet.

If you are near or in required-minimum-distribution years, a distribution from a metals IRA means either liquidating enough to cover the RMD or taking an in-kind distribution of physical bullion. Both introduce timing and paperwork risk. Talk to a licensed tax advisor before committing to the wrapper.

Questions readers ask about The Metal Exchange

The answers below cite the company's own site copy, the Internet Archive record, and public statutes only. Nothing here is investment or tax advice.

Is The Metal Exchange still in business?

The domain themetalexchange.com is live, the office phone number is published, and the Contact Us page still lists business hours of nine to six Pacific. On paper the firm is operating. In practice the last website content refresh appears to date from 2013 based on the "16 years" phrasing about the LCI parent, and the Twitter account has not posted since it opened. Confirm operating status by calling the toll-free line before you book anything.

What is the parent company of The Metal Exchange?

The homepage footer names the parent as "an LCI Company" and states LCI was established in 1997. No corporate filing detail beyond that appears on the site. The sentence about LCI's transaction volume ("over $1,300,000,000 in financial transactions in its 16 years of business") dates the phrasing to 2013 and has not been updated since.

Does The Metal Exchange offer a Platinum IRA or a Palladium IRA?

The IRA Center page names all four IRS-eligible metals (gold, silver, platinum, palladium) in prose. The live storefront lists zero platinum items and zero palladium items across their respective category pages. Sourcing for either metal happens entirely through the phone call rather than through a published catalog. Ask for the exact coin, the ask premium, and the current buy-back bid before funding a platinum or palladium allocation.

What is the minimum investment at The Metal Exchange?

No specific IRA-funding minimum is published in prose. The Request Investment Information form asks buyers to select from four ranges beginning at $5,000-$10,000. That is a segmentation bracket for the sales team, not a stated minimum. Ask the specialist to name the transactional minimum in writing before you commit.

What fees does The Metal Exchange charge?

No setup fee, custodian fee, storage fee, or spread number is published on any page of the site. The Policies page acknowledges that the dealer earns a Spread on every transaction and states that spreads "vary by Precious Metal, by customer, and over time" and may be subject to negotiation. Request the setup, first-year and subsequent-year custodian fees, storage fees, and current spread on the specific coin in writing before the sales call.

Does The Metal Exchange have a BBB rating?

We could not verify a Better Business Bureau profile for the firm in July 2026. Direct fetches of bbb.org return 403 to scripted clients, and the Internet Archive holds no bbb.org snapshots for URLs that name the company.

That is not proof either way, but the trust signal that would normally come from a public BBB profile is not accessible through open search. Ask the specialist for the exact BBB profile URL and confirm it resolves to the corporate name on the wire instructions.

Can I buy from The Metal Exchange if I live in Minnesota?

No. The Minnesota Residents box on every page of the site quotes the firm's own decision on Minnesota Statutes Chapter 80G. Since the statute took effect on July 1, 2014, the company will not buy from or sell to Minnesota non-dealer residents, and existing Minnesota clients cannot transact through it either. The "temporarily" language has been in place for more than a decade.

Does The Metal Exchange guarantee a buy-back on my metals?

No. The Policies page states plainly that "the law prohibits TME from guaranteeing to re-purchase the Precious Metals TME sells, and TME does not guarantee that it will re-purchase any Precious Metals that Customer purchases." The firm adds that as of the date of the policy transmission it had never refused a re-purchase, which is a track-record statement rather than a legal commitment. Any buy-back offer, if made, is at the firm's own bid at the time of sale.

Why does the homepage link to Lear Capital’s BBB seal?

The external footer of themetalexchange.com contains a link to a BBB profile page for Lear Capital, a different Los Angeles precious-metals dealer. We could not find a first-party statement from the firm explaining the link. It may be a legacy affiliate placement from the 2013 site build, a copy-paste artifact left in the template, or an intentional cross-link that was never updated. It is not a trust signal for The Metal Exchange as a distinct business.

Does The Metal Exchange have any SEC or CFTC record?

SEC EDGAR full-text search returned no filings that name the firm, and CFTC press-release search returned no enforcement announcements naming the firm, both as of July 2026. Both results are normal for a private, non-publicly-traded physical precious-metals dealer regulated primarily under state consumer-protection law and by the Federal Trade Commission.

Sources

  1. The Metal Exchange, homepage. Source for the LCI parent-company claim ("established in 1997"; "over $1,300,000,000 in financial transactions in its 16 years of business"), the featured product tiles with "Call for Pricing," and the footer link to a Better Business Bureau seal page for Lear Capital. themetalexchange.com (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  2. The Metal Exchange, Company Info page. Source for the founding-team phrasing ("a group of senior American precious metals veterans"), the motto "Gold and Silver Investing Simplified," the "over 5,000 gold bullion coins minted around the world since 1900" internal claim, and the aggressive-conservative-traditional portfolio positioning. themetalexchange.com Company Info page (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  3. The Metal Exchange, Contact Us page. Source for the corporate name (The Metal Exchange, Inc.), corporate address (1990 S. Bundy Dr., Suite 650, Los Angeles, California 90025), toll-free line (1-800-844-3142), fax line (1-310-571-0194), and business hours (9am to 6pm Pacific). themetalexchange.com Contact Us page (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  4. The Metal Exchange, IRA Center page. Source for the four-metal IRA-eligibility statement ("gold, platinum, silver or palladium"), the qualifying-account list (Pension plans, TIAA CREF plans, 401K, Non prototype plans, Thrift saving IRA, Beneficiary IRA), and the "cakewalk with American Bullion" phrasing referenced above. themetalexchange.com IRA Center page (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  5. The Metal Exchange, Policies page. Source for the Spread disclosure, the no-guaranteed-repurchase statement, the classification framework for Bullion versus semi-Numismatic versus Numismatic, the "no fiduciary relationship" clause, and the commissioned-sales-representatives clause. themetalexchange.com Policies page (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  6. The Metal Exchange, Gold products category. Source for the eleven-item gold catalog count. themetalexchange.com /products/all/gold/ (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  7. The Metal Exchange, Silver products category. Source for the eleven-item silver catalog count and the survival-silver face-value tiers. themetalexchange.com /products/all/silver/ (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  8. The Metal Exchange, Platinum products category. Source for the zero-item platinum catalog result. themetalexchange.com /products/all/platinum/ (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  9. The Metal Exchange, Palladium products category. Source for the zero-item palladium catalog result. themetalexchange.com /products/all/palladium/ (URL intentionally unlinked), checked July 2026.
  10. Internet Archive, web.archive.org CDX API record for themetalexchange.com. Source for the domain paper trail: 200 responses in 2003 and 2004, 404 in 2008, and the 6,053-byte relaunch on May 4, 2013. web.archive.org CDX result, checked July 2026.
  11. Internet Archive, web.archive.org snapshot of themetalexchange.com from January 25, 2021. Source for confirming the "LCI Company" phrasing and the 2013-era design have persisted at least since 2021. web.archive.org, January 2021 snapshot, checked July 2026.
  12. Twitter (X), @TheMetalXchange profile page at x.com. Source for the January 2013 join date, six lifetime posts, eleven following, six followers, and the empty timeline. x.com/TheMetalXchange, checked July 2026.
  13. Better Business Bureau, bbb.org public search. Direct URL patterns for a Metal Exchange profile in Los Angeles returned 403 to scripted fetches. web.archive.org CDX search on bbb.org URLs containing "metal-exchange" and "themetalexchange" returned zero snapshots. Documented here as an absence of accessible verification, not a rating. bbb.org, checked July 2026.
  14. DuckDuckGo, open search for "themetalexchange.com review" and "the metal exchange inc BBB Bundy Los Angeles." Both queries returned no results in July 2026. Documented here as an absence of independent review coverage, not a quality rating. duckduckgo.com, checked July 2026.
  15. Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes, Chapter 80G, Bullion Coin Dealers. Public statute cited by the firm's Minnesota Residents notice. revisor.mn.gov, Chapter 80G.
  16. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search for "The Metal Exchange." No filings that name the firm as of July 2026. efts.sec.gov full-text search, checked July 2026.
  17. U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, Press Releases search for "The Metal Exchange." No enforcement announcements naming the firm as of July 2026. cftc.gov press-release search, checked July 2026.
  18. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-A, "Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements." Source for the general framework of self-directed IRAs and direct-transfer rules. irs.gov/publications/p590a.
  19. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-B, "Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements." Source for the RMD framework and the 60-day rollover rules. irs.gov/publications/p590b.
  20. 26 U.S. Code § 408(m), the statutory source for IRS fineness requirements on IRA-eligible precious metals: gold at .995 fine, silver at .999 fine, platinum and palladium at .9995 fine. law.cornell.edu, 26 USC 408.
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment