Last updated: July 12, 2026 · By White Metal Resources Editorial
Quick answer: Vault Metal, LLC is a precious-metals dealer based in El Segundo, California, run by CEO Kyle Geralds. Per bbb.org, checked July 2026, the business was started on 2/11/2010 but was only incorporated as an LLC on 4/7/2020, the same window it received BBB accreditation on 7/22/2020. Its A+ rating rests on 3 customer reviews and zero complaints closed in the past three years.
The site sells gold, silver, platinum and palladium, and markets an IRA product through the Strata Trust custodian and the Delaware Depository. The public record confirms the corporate identity, the storage partner and the custodian. What is not public is the actual dollar fee schedule for that IRA, which is the point of the review.
Short on time? The essentials
- Legal name on the BBB profile: "Vault Metal, LLC," BBB office of Los Angeles & Silicon Valley, business ID 1216-1282220 (per bbb.org, checked July 2026 via October 2025 archived snapshot).
- Registered headquarters: 108 Standard St, El Segundo, CA 90245-3832 (per bbb.org, checked July 2026).
- CEO listed on the BBB profile: Mr. Kyle Geralds (per bbb.org, checked July 2026).
- Business Started per BBB: 2/11/2010. Business Incorporated (LLC) per BBB: 4/7/2020. The two dates are ten years apart.
- BBB status: A+ rating, accredited since 7/22/2020, zero complaints closed in the past three years, 3 customer reviews averaging 5.0 stars (per bbb.org, checked July 2026).
- Sales phone lines displayed on site: 877-588-8886 (per bbb.org) and 877-330-3228 (per vaultmetal.com brochures line, checked July 2026).
- Metals offered on the live spot ticker: gold, silver, platinum and palladium (per vaultmetal.com home page, checked July 2026).
- IRA custodian partner: Strata Trust Company, linked to stratatrust.com from the vaultmetal.com home page (checked July 2026).
- Depository partner: Delaware Depository, linked to delawaredepository.com from the vaultmetal.com home page (checked July 2026).
- Marketing claims on the home page: "No hidden fees," "Free Storage & Delivery," "Complimentary IRA storage," "Complimentary insured delivery" (per vaultmetal.com, checked July 2026).
- Fee schedule: no dollar amounts published on vaultmetal.com for setup, annual custodian, or dealer spread on the metal.
- Refund policy per the site's Terms: "NO REFUNDS, NO EXCHANGES, NO RETURNS are permitted except as specified in the account/transaction agreement. All sales are final." (per vaultmetal.com Terms, checked July 2026).
- SEC EDGAR filings: zero results for "Vault Metal" (SEC full-text search, July 2026).
Most precious-metals dealer reviews open with a marketing summary. This one opens with two dates, because those dates are the most surprising fact on the public record for this company.
The BBB profile lists a "Business Started" date of 2/11/2010 and a "Business Incorporated" date of 4/7/2020 for Vault Metal, LLC (per bbb.org, checked July 2026). Ten years pass between the two events. The LLC formation and the BBB accreditation both land in the same three-month window in the summer of 2020.
Neither date is a red flag on its own. But together they tell a US saver something specific about the corporate history a prospective retirement-account partner is asking them to trust. The rest of this review works through the public record around that fact.
Who Vault Metal, LLC actually is on paper
The corporate identity is straightforward on the BBB record. The business name is "Vault Metal, LLC," classified under Precious Metal Dealers. The profile carries BBB business identifier 1216-1282220 in the BBB office of Los Angeles & Silicon Valley (per bbb.org, checked July 2026 via the October 2025 archived snapshot).
The listed address is 108 Standard St, El Segundo, CA 90245-3832. The BBB profile names Mr. Kyle Geralds as CEO and lists him as both a principal and a member of management (per bbb.org, checked July 2026). The sales phone displayed on the BBB profile is (877) 588-8886.
The company site publishes a second phone line for physical brochure requests, 877-330-3228, along with the admin@vaultmetal.com contact email (per vaultmetal.com pages, checked July 2026). We did not verify a California Secretary of State entity filing directly this session because that public search was blocked by an Incapsula challenge; we report only what the BBB profile shows.
The 10-year gap between the 2/11/2010 "Business Started" line and the 4/7/2020 "Business Incorporated" line is a fact the BBB profile publishes without explanation. A common read is that the operating business existed as a sole proprietorship or unregistered entity before converting to an LLC in 2020. Ask a specialist to explain that history directly before you sign an IRA transfer form.
How this company handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs
This is the section that matters most for a whitemetalres.com reader. The public record on the vault of white metals is thinner than the record on gold, and we report it honestly.
Silver: the vaultmetal.com home page runs a live spot-price ticker that names silver alongside gold, platinum and palladium (per vaultmetal.com, checked July 2026). The site has a dedicated "Buy Silver" menu item in the top navigation. What the site does not publish, on any page we checked, is a written list of the IRS-eligible silver coins and bar sizes it will place inside the IRA.
Platinum: the same spot-price ticker names platinum. The top navigation does not carry a dedicated platinum landing page separate from the general precious-metals IRA page. The Perth Mint, Royal Canadian Mint or American Eagle Platinum products that qualify at .9995 fineness under 26 U.S.C. Section 408(m)(3) are not itemized on any public product page we could access.
Palladium: palladium is named on the spot-price ticker, and no dedicated palladium product page is published either. The Canadian Maple Leaf Palladium coin, which is the primary IRS-eligible palladium product, is not itemized publicly.
Why the gap matters. The IRS has allowed platinum and palladium in a self-directed IRA at .9995 fineness since the Taxpayer Relief Act of 1997 (source: 26 U.S.C. Section 408). Some competitors treat platinum and palladium as full IRA products with dedicated landing pages, itemized coin lists and separate fee call-outs. Vault Metal does not, in the public record we could verify.
That does not mean the product is not offered. It means a prospective saver has to ask directly, in a phone call, whether platinum and palladium go into the account, at what fineness, at what buy-side spread, and at what buyback price on the same day.
If you want a platinum-heavy or palladium-heavy retirement portfolio, you cannot rely on the vaultmetal.com public pages to price the specific product. Read our platinum IRA primer and palladium IRA primer, then compare a firm that publishes an itemized coin list and a written premium for those two metals. Ask for the same information from Vault Metal in writing before you sign.
The BBB record: A+, three reviews, zero complaints
The BBB profile is the strongest single piece of public record for Vault Metal, LLC. It also has to be read for what it does not measure.
The strongest facts first. Vault Metal, LLC holds a BBB rating of A+ (per bbb.org, checked July 2026 via the October 2025 archived snapshot). The company has been BBB accredited since 7/22/2020. The BBB office of Los Angeles & Silicon Valley reports zero complaints closed in the past three years and zero complaints total on the profile.
Customer reviews on the BBB profile total 3 reviews with an average of 5.0 stars (per bbb.org, checked July 2026). The "Years in Business" field on the same BBB profile shows 15, counting from the 2/11/2010 "Business Started" date.
Now the honest read. Three customer reviews is a very small sample. A 5.0 average from three reviews carries a wide statistical margin of error, and the absence of complaints in a five-year-old accredited profile is a meaningful trust signal but not, by itself, a guarantee of consistent service across every account.
The company site also self-reports a Trustpilot rating of 4.9 across 82 reviews, a Google rating of 4.7 across 34 reviews, and a Verified Reviews rating of 5.0 across 48 reviews (per vaultmetal.com, checked July 2026). We were not able to independently verify these third-party aggregates live this session because the Trustpilot page returned a bot-challenge response; the numbers reflect the site's self-reported figures only.
What the site advertises, in the site’s own words
Marketing claims are not verified facts, but they are the exact copy a prospective saver reads before picking up the phone. Recording them in the site's own words matters, because the specialist call has to be reconciled against them.
The home page carries a "Vault Metal Difference" section with four bullet points. The verbatim phrases are: "Industry-Leading Prices," "No hidden fees," "Free Storage & Delivery," and "Excellent Full Customer Service" (per vaultmetal.com home page, checked July 2026).
A second section on the same page carries the phrases "Complimentary IRA storage" and "Complimentary insured delivery to your front door" alongside "Transparent Pricing" and "Full-Service Included" (per vaultmetal.com home page, checked July 2026). The home page also links to the Money.org page of the American Numismatic Association and to the Wounded Warrior Project charity page.
Two of these claims deserve to be tested against the written record. "No hidden fees" implies a complete, published fee schedule, which we could not locate on the public site. "Complimentary IRA storage" implies zero storage cost for the life of the account. Ask, in writing, whether that promise applies year one only, applies indefinitely, and whether it survives if the account balance falls below a specific threshold.
What Vault Metal does not publicly disclose
The most useful chart on a review like this one is not the marketing headline. It is the ledger of what a prospective client cannot see before the specialist call. We built that ledger from four categories of public disclosure.

Corporate identity is fully disclosed: legal name, address, CEO, phone and business type are all on the record (per bbb.org, checked July 2026). Programs and partners are almost fully disclosed: the storage partner, IRA custodian, ANA membership and Wounded Warrior Project link are all named on the home page. What is not disclosed is a written service-level agreement with either the custodian or the depository.
Third-party rating profiles are partially disclosed. BBB, Trustpilot and Google reviews are named. Two profiles are not clearly reachable from the public site: a Consumer Affairs profile and a TrustLink profile, both common in the precious-metals sector, are absent from the visible link footer.
The critical gap is on IRA cost lines. Every US self-directed IRA carries six standing line items: account minimum, setup fee, annual custodian fee, annual storage fee, dealer markup on the metal, and buyback pricing. Of those six, only the storage line is publicly addressed at all, via the marketing phrase "Complimentary IRA storage" (per vaultmetal.com, checked July 2026). The other five are absent from the public site as of July 2026.
The Strata Trust and Delaware Depository chain
The vaultmetal.com home page links out to two named third-party partners in the IRA custody chain. The IRA custodian named by an outbound link on the home page is Strata Trust Company, based in Austin, Texas (per vaultmetal.com, checked July 2026, linking to stratatrust.com).
The depository named by a second outbound link is Delaware Depository, based in Wilmington, Delaware (per vaultmetal.com, checked July 2026, linking to delawaredepository.com). Both partners are well-known, IRS-approved participants in the precious-metals IRA sector and neither is unique to Vault Metal.
What the site does not disclose is the fee schedule Strata Trust charges on Vault-Metal-directed accounts, or the storage fee Delaware Depository charges under the "Complimentary IRA storage" promise. Both third parties publish their own general fee schedules on request. Ask Vault Metal to send the two schedules, on signed documents, before you commit funds.
The refund and returns clause every buyer should read
The site's Terms of Service page contains a return policy in a single sentence in capital letters. The verbatim text is: "NO REFUNDS, NO EXCHANGES, NO RETURNS are permitted except as specified in the account/transaction agreement. All sales are final." (per vaultmetal.com Terms of Service, checked July 2026).
Two practical reads follow. First, the finality of the transaction is standard in the precious-metals dealer sector. Every reputable US bullion firm requires a market-price transaction at the point of sale, and none of them can offer a "return the coin next week" refund without exposing the balance sheet to spot-price swings.
Second, the exception clause matters. The Terms defer to the "account/transaction agreement" for any allowed refund path, so ask for that agreement in writing before you send funds. The agreement is where the buyback mechanic, the cancellation window (if any), and the dispute path actually live.
Vault Metal at a glance
The table below reports only what vaultmetal.com and the bbb.org profile publish. Anything Vault Metal does not disclose is marked as such so you know where to ask.
| Field | What the record shows | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Legal name | Vault Metal, LLC (Limited Liability Company) | bbb.org profile, July 2026 |
| Registered address | 108 Standard St, El Segundo, CA 90245-3832 | bbb.org profile, July 2026 |
| CEO | Mr. Kyle Geralds (principal and management) | bbb.org profile, July 2026 |
| Business Started | 2/11/2010 | bbb.org profile, July 2026 |
| Business Incorporated (LLC) | 4/7/2020 | bbb.org profile, July 2026 |
| BBB rating | A+, accredited since 7/22/2020 | bbb.org profile, July 2026 |
| BBB customer reviews | 3 reviews, average 5.0 stars | bbb.org profile, July 2026 |
| BBB complaints past 3 years | Zero closed complaints | bbb.org profile, July 2026 |
| Sales phone | 877-588-8886 (BBB), 877-330-3228 (brochures line) | bbb.org and vaultmetal.com, July 2026 |
| Contact email | admin@vaultmetal.com | vaultmetal.com Terms page, July 2026 |
| Metals on the spot ticker | Gold, silver, platinum and palladium | vaultmetal.com home page, July 2026 |
| Named IRA custodian | Strata Trust Company (Austin, Texas) | vaultmetal.com outbound link, July 2026 |
| Named depository | Delaware Depository (Wilmington, Delaware) | vaultmetal.com outbound link, July 2026 |
| Numismatic membership link | American Numismatic Association (money.org) | vaultmetal.com home page, July 2026 |
| Charity link | Wounded Warrior Project | vaultmetal.com home page, July 2026 |
| Self-reported Trustpilot rating | 4.9 across 82 reviews, per site (not independently verified this session) | vaultmetal.com home page, July 2026 |
| Self-reported Google rating | 4.7 across 34 reviews, per site (not independently verified this session) | vaultmetal.com home page, July 2026 |
| Refund policy | "NO REFUNDS, NO EXCHANGES, NO RETURNS ... All sales are final." | vaultmetal.com Terms, July 2026 |
| IRA account minimum | Not publicly disclosed | vaultmetal.com pages, July 2026 |
| Setup fee | Not publicly disclosed | vaultmetal.com pages, July 2026 |
| Annual custodian fee | Not publicly disclosed (referred to Strata Trust) | vaultmetal.com pages, July 2026 |
| Annual storage fee | Site advertises "Complimentary IRA storage" but publishes no written cap or duration | vaultmetal.com home page, July 2026 |
| Dealer spread on metal | Not publicly disclosed | vaultmetal.com pages, July 2026 |
| Buyback pricing method | Not publicly disclosed | vaultmetal.com pages, July 2026 |
| SEC EDGAR filings | Zero filings for "Vault Metal" | SEC EDGAR full-text search, July 2026 |
Sources: vaultmetal.com home, Terms and menu pages, and the bbb.org Vault Metal, LLC profile (business ID 1216-1282220, October 2025 Wayback snapshot), checked July 2026. Federal fineness and trustee-custody rules per 26 U.S.C. Section 408 and IRS collectibles guidance.
What annual fees cost your balance over time
Since Vault Metal does not publish a written fee schedule for the IRA, the honest way to price the account is to model what a plausible fee load would cost your specific balance over the years you plan to hold. The calculator below runs that math with the numbers you get from a specialist. Plug in the setup, custodian, storage and buy-side markup you are quoted, and run the same numbers against any other firm you are comparing.
Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator
Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.
Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.
The point of the exercise is not a single answer. It is to see, in dollars, what a given fee load claims from a given balance over ten or twenty years. Once the number is on the page, the question stops being abstract, and the "Complimentary IRA storage" claim can be tested against the other five line items on paper.
How to vet a precious-metals dealer before you commit funds
The steps below apply to Vault Metal and to every other US precious-metals IRA dealer. They are ordered to catch the sector's most common misalignments early, before you sign a transfer form. Use them as the written checklist for your specialist call.
- Confirm the corporate identity in writing. Ask for the legal name of the entity you are contracting with, its state of formation and its Employer Identification Number. Cross-check against the bbb.org profile and the applicable Secretary of State register.
- Ask for a complete written fee schedule. The schedule must name the account minimum, the setup fee, the annual custodian fee, the annual storage fee, the buy-side markup band on the metal, and the buyback method. If any of the six line items is missing, ask again.
- Get the custodian's separate schedule from Strata Trust. Strata Trust publishes its own precious-metals IRA fee schedule that is independent of any dealer. Request the current version directly, in writing, on a Strata Trust letterhead.
- Test the storage promise on paper. If the dealer advertises "Complimentary IRA storage," get the written duration, the balance threshold that keeps the promise in force, and the depository's ordinary fee if the promise ever lapses.
- Verify the depository chain. Confirm that Delaware Depository will accept a segregated account under your name, whether commingled is the default, and what the written insurance limit per ounce is at the specific vault. Ask for the depository's account-opening acknowledgment before you fund.
- Run the source-of-funds check yourself. Traditional and Roth IRAs, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs, 401(k) accounts from a former employer, 403(b) plans, 457(b) plans and the TSP can generally roll to a self-directed IRA. Only a direct trustee-to-trustee transfer avoids the 60-day rollover deadline and the 20% mandatory federal withholding.
The pattern federal regulators warn about most often in this sector is a pivot from cheap bullion to graded or "premium" coins at prices well above their bullion melt value. Common bullion at a fair spread is what belongs inside a retirement account. If a specialist keeps steering the conversation toward a rare coin as a "better" IRA holding, ask for the melt-value comparison in writing before you decide (source: CFTC precious-metals fraud advisory).
Who Vault Metal may fit, and who it does not
Vault Metal may fit
- A saver who values a clean BBB profile with A+ accreditation and zero complaints closed in the past three years, and treats a small review sample as a reasonable trust signal.
- A saver comfortable with a specialist phone call as the primary source of pricing, and who will get the fee schedule in writing before signing.
- A saver who wants an IRA routed through Strata Trust and Delaware Depository specifically, two mainstream IRS-approved partners in the sector.
- A saver whose primary metal is gold or silver, and who will use the specialist call to press for platinum and palladium detail if those metals are wanted.
Vault Metal tends not to fit
- A saver who requires every dealer, custodian and depository fee to be published on the public website before making contact.
- A saver who wants a platinum-heavy or palladium-heavy portfolio built from an itemized public coin list, since the vaultmetal.com pages do not itemize those two metals in the public product record.
- A saver who treats a small BBB review sample (3 reviews) or an unverified third-party aggregate as insufficient trust signal.
- A saver for whom the ten-year gap between "Business Started" and "Business Incorporated" is a question they cannot get answered on the specialist call.
When a precious-metals IRA is the wrong call
An honest review has to name the cases where no dealer is the right fit for a specific reader, not just where a specific dealer is not the right fit.
- You may need the money within a few years. Gold, silver, platinum and palladium can swing hard short-term, and selling means crossing the dealer spread again. Before age 59.5, a distribution without a qualifying exception carries a 10% federal additional tax on top of ordinary income tax (source: IRS Publication 590-B).
- Your total retirement balance is small. Fixed annual custodian and storage costs punish small accounts hardest, because the same dollar cost is a larger share of a smaller balance.
- You have no other retirement savings. A physical-metal IRA belongs alongside a broader base, not in place of one.
- You are hunting a guaranteed return. Nobody can predict where metal prices will go. A pitch that promises guaranteed gains is a warning sign, not an opportunity.
If any of the above describes your situation, slow down. Talk to a licensed advisor about whether physical metal fits your plan at all before you compare dealers.
Vault Metal questions, answered
Is Vault Metal a legitimate company?
Vault Metal, LLC is a registered US limited liability company with a public BBB profile (business ID 1216-1282220), an A+ rating, and BBB accreditation since 7/22/2020 (per bbb.org, checked July 2026). Whether the account is a good fit for your specific situation is a separate question, and one for a licensed advisor rather than a website.
Where is Vault Metal, LLC based?
The BBB profile lists the registered address as 108 Standard St, El Segundo, CA 90245-3832 (per bbb.org, checked July 2026). The California Secretary of State register was not accessible for direct verification during our July 2026 check; ask a specialist for the current filing status in writing.
Who owns or runs Vault Metal, LLC?
The BBB profile names Mr. Kyle Geralds as CEO and lists him as both a principal and a member of management (per bbb.org, checked July 2026). Beneficial ownership beyond the CEO title is not publicly disclosed on either the vaultmetal.com pages or the BBB profile.
Does Vault Metal offer a Platinum IRA or a Palladium IRA?
The vaultmetal.com home page runs a spot-price ticker that names both platinum and palladium, but the public site does not itemize IRS-eligible platinum or palladium coins and bars on any product landing page we could access in July 2026. Ask a specialist directly whether platinum and palladium go into the IRA, at what fineness, at what buy-side spread, and at what buyback rate on the same day.
What is the minimum for a Vault Metal precious-metals IRA?
The account minimum is not publicly disclosed on vaultmetal.com as of July 2026. Every US self-directed IRA carries a minimum, either set by the dealer or by the custodian (Strata Trust in this case). Ask for both numbers, in writing, before you commit funds.
What fees does Vault Metal charge inside the IRA?
The dealer fee schedule for the IRA is not published on vaultmetal.com as of July 2026. The site advertises "No hidden fees" and "Complimentary IRA storage," but does not publish a written schedule that names the setup fee, the annual custodian fee, the dealer spread or the buyback method. Request the schedule in writing before you sign, and ask Strata Trust for its independent custodian schedule.
Who is the IRA custodian and depository for a Vault Metal IRA?
The vaultmetal.com home page links out to Strata Trust Company (Austin, Texas) as the IRA custodian and Delaware Depository (Wilmington, Delaware) as the storage vault (per vaultmetal.com outbound links, checked July 2026). Both partners are mainstream IRS-approved participants in the sector.
Can I return coins to Vault Metal for a refund?
The vaultmetal.com Terms of Service page states in capital letters that "NO REFUNDS, NO EXCHANGES, NO RETURNS are permitted except as specified in the account/transaction agreement. All sales are final." (per vaultmetal.com Terms, checked July 2026). The exception clause defers to a signed account or transaction agreement, so ask for that document in writing before you send funds.
Does White Metal Resources earn a commission on Vault Metal?
No. We have no affiliate relationship with Vault Metal, LLC. No link on this page points to vaultmetal.com. We earn nothing if you choose Vault Metal. This review reflects public record only.
Sources
- Better Business Bureau, "Vault Metal, LLC" business profile, business ID 1216-1282220, BBB office of Los Angeles & Silicon Valley. Checked July 2026 via the October 2025 archived snapshot. Fields cited: legal name, registered address, CEO Kyle Geralds, Business Started 2/11/2010, Business Incorporated 4/7/2020, Accredited Since 7/22/2020, A+ rating, 3 customer reviews averaging 5.0 stars, zero complaints closed in the past three years, Years in Business 15, sales phone (877) 588-8886. Not linked out per this review's editorial policy.
- Vault Metal, home page at vaultmetal.com. Checked July 2026. Fields cited: spot-price ticker naming gold, silver, platinum and palladium, marketing claims "Industry-Leading Prices," "No hidden fees," "Free Storage & Delivery," "Complimentary IRA storage," "Complimentary insured delivery," outbound partner links to Strata Trust Company and Delaware Depository, outbound links to money.org and woundedwarriorproject.org, self-reported Trustpilot, Google and Verified Reviews aggregates, sales line 877-330-3228 for physical brochures. Not linked out per editorial policy.
- Vault Metal, Terms of Service page at vaultmetal.com. Checked July 2026. Field cited: refund and returns clause "NO REFUNDS, NO EXCHANGES, NO RETURNS are permitted except as specified in the account/transaction agreement. All sales are final." and the admin@vaultmetal.com contact email. Not linked out per editorial policy.
- Cornell Legal Information Institute, 26 U.S.C. Section 408. Checked July 2026. IRA fineness minimums, trustee-custody rule and platinum and palladium eligibility since the 1997 Taxpayer Relief Act.
- IRS, Investments in collectibles in individually directed qualified plan accounts. Checked July 2026. Trustee-custody requirement for precious-metals held in a self-directed IRA.
- IRS, Publication 590-B, Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements. Checked July 2026. Early-distribution 10% federal additional tax before age 59.5.
- U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search. Checked July 2026. Zero filings for "Vault Metal".
- U.S. Commodity Futures Trading Commission, precious-metals fraud advisory. Referenced July 2026 as the standing federal advisory on high-markup coin patterns in the sector.
