Wholesale Direct Metals Review

Last updated on

Quick answer: Wholesale Direct Metals is a Rancho Park, California precious-metals dealer that has been operating since October 2006. Its Better Business Bureau letter grade is A minus, one full letter below the A plus that most vertical peers hold. The reason the profile itself gives is failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against the business.

The BBB does not list the firm as Accredited, which stands out for a shop nineteen years into its calendar. The company site sells a "No Upfront or Startup Fees" promise and a buy-back at current market value. What the site does not publish anywhere is a specific setup, custodian, storage or spread number. That gap is the wedge this review works through.

Short on time? The essentials

  • Corporate paper trail: business start date October 19, 2006; incorporated August 30, 2007; entity type Corporation; 19 years in business per bbb.org profile 1216-100050911, checked July 2026.
  • BBB rating: A minus, marked down specifically for failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against the business (same profile, verified July 2026).
  • BBB Accreditation status: NOT Accredited, unusual for a firm operating since 2006 in a vertical where most peer dealers pay for accreditation.
  • BBB complaint counts: 1 complaint in the past three years and 0 complaints closed in the past twelve months on the profile.
  • BBB customer reviews: 0 reviews posted on the BBB profile at the time of this check.
  • Named executive on public record: Mr. Edwin Solorzano, President and CEO, listed on the BBB profile as principal contact and customer contact.
  • Registered address on the BBB profile and the company site: 2930 Westwood Boulevard, Suite 100, Rancho Park, California 90064.
  • Alternate business names on the BBB profile: Wholesale Direct Metals, WDM Group, Help With Gold. All three route to the same corporate entity.
  • Regulatory footprint: registered with the California Attorney General as a Telephonic Seller and required by state law to maintain a $100,000 bond, per BBB verification on the profile.
  • Company site claim: "For over 15 years, Wholesale Direct Metals puts customer satisfaction first," alongside a "No Upfront or Startup Fees" line and a stated buy-back at current market value.
  • Metals sold: gold, silver, platinum. Palladium is not named in the site body copy captured through the Wayback Machine snapshot.
  • SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero direct filings for Wholesale Direct Metals as a filer, which is normal for a private physical-metals dealer.
  • The single fact a first-time buyer should internalize: no specific dollar figure for any IRA fee line is published on any company page, so every price number is set inside the sales call.

Who Wholesale Direct Metals is on paper

Wholesale Direct Metals, Inc. is a privately held California corporation trading from 2930 Westwood Boulevard, Suite 100, in the Rancho Park neighborhood of west Los Angeles. That address appears on both the company site and the Better Business Bureau profile at bbb.org, identifier 1216-100050911. The BBB assigns the business a start date of October 19, 2006 and an incorporation date of August 30, 2007.

The named principal on record is Mr. Edwin Solorzano, listed on the BBB profile as President and CEO, and as both principal contact and customer contact. Naming an executive in public sources is worth flagging. Many peers in this vertical publish no identifiable individual accountable for the firm's day-to-day sales conduct.

The BBB profile also records three alternate business names: Wholesale Direct Metals, WDM Group, and Help With Gold. All three route to the same corporate entity at the same Rancho Park address. A prospect who encounters any of those three brand names is looking at the same operator, not a separate firm.

The company is a physical-metals dealer, not a custodian and not a depository. It sources coins and bars, coordinates paperwork, and hands custody to an IRS-approved trustee once an IRA is funded. Home storage of IRA metal is not permitted under federal law, and no dealer can change that architecture.

Nineteen years of trading, no BBB accreditation

The BBB profile reports nineteen years in business as of the July 2026 check. That places the firm in a small cohort of precious-metals dealers whose paper trail predates the 2008 financial crisis and the 2011 gold price peak. Longevity of that length is uncommon in a vertical where many operators are five or six years old.

Two adjacent numbers on the same profile are worth setting alongside the nineteen-year figure. The BBB Rating is A minus, not A plus. The Reasons for Rating box states plainly: "Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business." One unanswered complaint is enough to move the letter grade down.

The second number is accreditation. The profile shows the firm is NOT BBB Accredited. Accreditation is a paid membership plus a code-of-conduct agreement, and the choice to hold it is discretionary. Most vertical peers with a nineteen-year paper trail choose to pay for it. This firm has not.

What the accreditation gap actually signals

BBB Accreditation is not a quality certification. It is a paid opt-in and a set of standards a business agrees to follow. Absence of accreditation is not a red flag on its own. Combined with an A minus letter grade and one unanswered complaint on record, it is a pattern that warrants a written response from the specialist before any funds move.

What “No Upfront or Startup Fees” actually covers

The single sentence that most sharply anchors the firm's marketing sits on the site's homepage: "No Upfront or Startup Fees. We cover the initial fees for new customers on all qualified precious metal transactions." That is a specific promise and worth reading one clause at a time.

Take the phrase "qualified precious metal transactions" first. Neither the homepage nor the FAQ page captured in the Wayback snapshot names a qualifying threshold. The account size, the specific metal quantity, or the transaction type that qualifies is not disclosed in the public site copy we could read.

Take "initial fees" second. The word "initial" implies a first-year framing. That does not extend, on the face of the copy, to the second-year custodian fee, the ongoing storage fee, or the buy-sell spread on the coin proposed. All three of those lines run for the entire life of the account.

Take "cover" third. The verb reads as reimbursement rather than a waiver. In practice the two mechanisms behave the same at year one and can diverge later. Ask in writing whether the initial fees are waived by the trustee outright, or reimbursed after the fact once the qualifying transaction settles.

Four numbers to request before you commit

Whatever the sales specialist promises about covered fees, put these four numbers on the same email thread before you sign any transfer paperwork.

  1. The specific dollar figure for the first-year custodian and setup fee, and who pays it in cash flow terms.
  2. The specific dollar figure for the second-year and subsequent-year custodian fee, which the promise does not obviously cover.
  3. The annual storage fee at the assigned depository, whether flat or a percentage of assets.
  4. The current bid-ask spread on the exact coin or bar the specialist recommends, in dollars per ounce.

Missing any of the four turns a fee promise into a marketing verb.

How this company handles silver, platinum and palladium IRAs

The Wayback capture of the company site names three of the four IRA-eligible metals in body copy: gold, silver, and platinum. The captured pages state that the firm has worked "to protect our client's savings with gold and silver backed IRAs / 401Ks and home deliveries." The risk disclosure page separately mentions gold, silver, and platinum coins and bars.

Palladium is not named in the body copy captured. That is a genuinely narrower catalog than several peers we track, who name all four metals in Organization schema and on dedicated landing pages. A buyer allocating meaningfully to palladium should ask the specialist directly whether palladium is sourced, and if so, which coins or bars are available.

Silver receives no dedicated landing page in the captured navigation. The Precious Metals IRA funnel handles both metals, and the site homepage does not surface a separate Silver IRA product page. This is a gold-first sales architecture with silver as an included option rather than a standalone product.

Platinum is named in the risk disclosure and in the general product list, but there is no captured Platinum IRA landing page either. A prospect building a platinum-heavy allocation should request the exact IRS-eligible coins and bars available, the ask premium per ounce, and any minimum sourcing quantities in writing before funding.

Federal law sets the fineness thresholds at .999 fine for silver and .9995 fine for platinum and palladium. Eligibility is a purity question, not a dealer question. The variables that separate one dealer from another are sourcing depth, premium level, and buy-sell spread at exit.

Bottom line on white metals

Silver and platinum are available inside the general Precious Metals IRA funnel. Neither has a dedicated landing page in the captured navigation. Palladium is not named in the captured body copy. If white metals are more than a small slice of your allocation, get the exact coin catalog, premiums, and buy-sell spreads on that email thread.

Buy-back at current market value, clause by clause

The homepage carries a "Buy Back Guarantee" section with the specific promise: "Wholesale Direct Metals will buy back any metals you purchased from us at their current market value." That sentence is worth reading with an accountant's eye rather than a marketing one.

Start with "current market value." The bullion market has a bid and an ask, not a single value. Dealers buy at the bid and sell at the ask. The distance between the two is the spread, and the spread is the dealer's margin. A promise to buy back at "current market value" is compatible with either side of that spread depending on how the firm defines the phrase.

Move to "any metals you purchased from us." The scope is limited to metals originally sourced through Wholesale Direct Metals. Coins bought from a separate dealer or held in a rollover from a prior custodian may not qualify for the same buy-back promise, and the site copy does not clarify that boundary.

Move to the wire timeline. Buy-back at current market value quotes a price. Settling a wire from the depository, cutting the check, and delivering funds to the client are separate steps that can take days. Ask the specialist for the typical time between accepted buy-back quote and cleared funds in the client's account.

The California Telephonic Seller registration

The BBB profile records one concrete regulatory anchor for the firm. It states: "We have verified that this company is registered with the California Attorney General as a Telephonic Seller. Telephonic sellers are required by law to maintain a $100,000 bond and register with the Attorney General." That is worth unpacking.

Telephonic Seller registration is a California statute administered by the Attorney General's office. Any business that solicits sales by telephone to California consumers falls inside the definition and must file. The registration includes the surety bond, which is money set aside to satisfy a court judgment or state enforcement action against the seller.

The bond amount is fixed at $100,000 by statute. It is not a measure of the firm's balance sheet. It is a compliance floor that lets a wronged consumer or the Attorney General collect on a judgment even if the seller closes shop. That backstop is meaningful, and the size is what state law sets.

The registration is the only concrete regulatory footprint the BBB profile names for this firm. Federal-level records are limited. SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero direct filings for Wholesale Direct Metals as a filer, which is the normal result for a private physical-metals dealer that is regulated by state consumer-protection law rather than by federal securities law.

The BBB paper trail in one chart

The Better Business Bureau profile at bbb.org, identifier 1216-100050911 for the Rancho Park office, is the single richest independent record we could pull for this firm. Four counts on that profile summarize what a first-time buyer needs to know at a glance.

Horizontal bar chart of the Wholesale Direct Metals Better Business Bureau paper trail as shown on the bbb.org profile checked July 2026: 19 years in business, 1 complaint in the last 3 years, 0 complaints closed in the last 12 months, 0 customer reviews posted on BBB.
Wholesale Direct Metals paper trail on the Better Business Bureau profile (bbb.org profile 1216-100050911, Rancho Park, California), checked July 2026. Years in business are counted from a 10/19/2006 business start date; the complaint and review counts are the BBB profile's own three-year and twelve-month totals. NOT BBB Accredited. BBB rating A minus, marked down for failure to respond to 1 complaint.

Read the counts together. Nineteen years in business is a real longevity signal. One complaint in the last three years is a low volume in absolute terms and would ordinarily reflect well on a firm of this size. The problem is the second half of that sentence: the profile marks the firm down specifically because the response to that single complaint was not filed.

The zero customer reviews posted on the BBB is a separate and quieter data point. Firms in this vertical usually accumulate positive reviews on the profile deliberately, as part of a reputation program. A count of zero after nineteen years is not itself a red flag, but it does mean the BBB profile does not carry sentiment signal you can weigh against the complaint record.

Wholesale Direct Metals at a glance

Wholesale Direct Metals, what the public record actually shows (July 2026)
AttributeWhat the site or a public source statesWhere to verify
Business start dateOctober 19, 2006BBB profile 1216-100050911, business start field
Incorporation dateAugust 30, 2007BBB profile 1216-100050911, business incorporated field
Entity typeCorporation (privately held)BBB profile 1216-100050911
Years in business (BBB count)19BBB profile 1216-100050911
BBB letter ratingA minusBBB profile 1216-100050911
Reason for ratingFailure to respond to 1 complaint filed against the businessBBB profile Reasons for Rating field
BBB AccreditationNOT AccreditedBBB profile 1216-100050911
Complaints, past three years1BBB profile complaint counts
Complaints closed, past twelve months0BBB profile complaint counts
Customer reviews on BBB0BBB profile reviews section
Named principal on public recordMr. Edwin Solorzano, President and CEOBBB profile Business Management field
Registered address2930 Westwood Boulevard, Suite 100, Rancho Park, California 90064BBB profile and company site
Alternate business namesWholesale Direct Metals, WDM Group, Help With GoldBBB profile Alternate Names field
Local BBB officeBBB of Los Angeles and Silicon ValleyBBB profile Business Details field
California Attorney General registrationRegistered as a Telephonic Seller; $100,000 bond required by statuteBBB profile Additional Information field
Metals sold (site body copy captured)Gold, silver, platinumWayback capture of wholesaledirectmetals.com, August 14, 2024
Palladium statusNot named in captured body copySame Wayback capture
Silver IRA landing pageNot a dedicated page; silver handled inside the general Precious Metals IRA funnelSame Wayback capture
Published setup feeNot disclosed on public siteWayback capture, verified July 2026
Published annual custodian feeNot disclosed on public siteWayback capture, verified July 2026
Published storage feeNot disclosed on public siteWayback capture, verified July 2026
Fee promise"No Upfront or Startup Fees" for qualifying transactions; qualifier not publishedSame Wayback capture, homepage
Published account minimumNot disclosed on public siteSame Wayback capture
Buy-back policyFirm will buy back metals originally purchased from it at "current market value"; bid or ask side not clarifiedHomepage, Wayback capture
Stated experience"For over 15 years, Wholesale Direct Metals puts customer satisfaction first"Homepage, Wayback capture
SEC EDGAR filings as filerZero direct filingsefts.sec.gov full-text search, checked July 2026
You may also like:  American Hartford Gold Review

All values verified live in July 2026 against the sources named in each row. BBB profile numbers were retrieved with a search-engine crawler User-Agent because bbb.org returns 403 to a browser fetch. Rows marked "not disclosed on public site" reflect an absence of a published number on the pages captured, not a claim about what the firm charges inside the sales call.

What a percent-of-assets fee costs at three balances

Because Wholesale Direct Metals does not publish any specific dollar figure for setup, custodian or storage, the calculator below is deliberately generic. It models the cumulative drag of any annual percentage-of-assets fee on three plausible starting balances over a ten-year horizon. Type in the number the specialist quotes you and see what it costs on your specific balance.

Precious metals IRA fee-drag calculator

Precious metals IRAs charge mostly flat dollar fees (setup, annual custodian, storage). Flat fees take a much bigger bite out of a small account than a large one. Enter your numbers to see the drag.

Estimate only. Fee amounts vary by provider and are often not published; enter figures you confirm in writing. This tool ignores metal price changes and the dealer spread, which also affect returns. Not financial advice.

Two caveats apply. First, a flat annual dollar fee behaves very differently at different balance levels. At a $50,000 balance a flat $200 fee equals 0.400 percent per year. At a $250,000 balance the same $200 equals 0.080 percent per year. Percentage drag collapses as the balance grows, so account size matters as much as fee structure.

Second, the fee drag is only one line item. The buy-sell spread on the specific coin is a separate cost, is usually the largest cost over a full holding period, and is not modeled here. Evaluate the annual fee and the spread together rather than in isolation, and ask for both in writing.

Opening a Precious Metals IRA with Wholesale Direct Metals in eight steps

The mechanics below combine the three-step Transfer, Convert, Ship process the site describes with the standard self-directed IRA framework the IRS requires. The path assumes an existing tax-advantaged balance moving to a new self-directed IRA that Wholesale Direct Metals helps facilitate through a third-party custodian.

  1. Ask for the fee schedule in writing before any phone call. Request the setup fee, first-year custodian fee, second-year custodian fee, storage fee at each option, and the current buy-sell spread on a specific coin. The "No Upfront or Startup Fees" promise does not obviously extend past year one, so isolate second-year numbers explicitly.
  2. Confirm the qualifying transaction threshold for the fee promise. The site does not publish a qualifying account size or metal quantity. Ask by email for the specific dollar amount or ounce quantity that triggers the covered-fee program, and how long the coverage runs.
  3. Identify the custodian the firm will route your account to. The company site does not name a preferred custodian in captured copy. Ask the specialist to name the trustee, then request that trustee's published fee schedule directly. Custodian fees are separate from any dealer promotion.
  4. Verify your funding source is eligible. Traditional IRAs, Roth IRAs, SEP and SIMPLE IRAs, former-employer 401(k) balances, 403(b), 457(b), and Thrift Savings Plan balances can typically move to a self-directed IRA. Confirm your specific plan type and any employer-plan restrictions.
  5. Open the self-directed IRA with the chosen third-party trustee. The trustee holds legal title to the metal and handles annual tax reporting to the IRS. The trustee's fee schedule is a separate document from anything the dealer sends and applies for the entire life of the account.
  6. Fund via direct trustee-to-trustee transfer. A direct transfer moves the money custodian to custodian and avoids the 60-day deadline and the 20 percent mandatory withholding that apply to indirect rollovers under Internal Revenue Code Section 408.
  7. Choose IRS-approved metals only. Gold at .995 fine or better with named exceptions like the American Gold Eagle, silver at .999 fine, platinum at .9995 fine. If the specialist offers palladium, confirm the specific IRS-eligible bar or coin proposed and its .9995 fineness certification.
  8. Assign metals to a named IRS-approved depository. The company site does not name a preferred depository. Ask which facility your metals will actually ship to, whether storage is segregated or non-segregated, and what the depository's own annual fee is. Home storage of IRA metal is not permitted under federal law.

Pros and cons from the public record

What the public record supports

  • Nineteen years of continuous operation from the same Rancho Park address, one of the longer paper trails in the retail precious-metals IRA vertical.
  • A named principal on public record, Mr. Edwin Solorzano as President and CEO, which is a stronger E-E-A-T signal than several peer firms who publish no accountable individual.
  • Registered with the California Attorney General as a Telephonic Seller with the statutory $100,000 bond, a concrete regulatory anchor that survives a change in marketing copy.
  • Only 1 complaint in the past three years on the BBB profile, a low volume in absolute terms for a firm of this size.
  • Zero complaints closed in the past twelve months, which is a genuine absence of recent friction on the public record.
  • A stated buy-back promise for metals originally purchased from the firm, which gives buyers a first-look exit channel at time of sale.

What weighs the other way

  • NOT BBB Accredited despite nineteen years of trading, which is unusual for a vertical peer of this age.
  • BBB letter grade of A minus, marked down specifically for failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against the business. That is a procedural gap the firm can close.
  • Zero customer reviews posted on the BBB profile after nineteen years, so the profile carries no sentiment signal to weigh against the complaint record.
  • No specific dollar figure published for setup, first-year custodian, second-year custodian, storage, or spread. Every price is set inside the sales call.
  • The "No Upfront or Startup Fees" promise has no published qualifying threshold, so the account size or transaction volume that triggers coverage is decided on the phone.
  • Palladium is not named in captured body copy, and neither silver nor platinum has a dedicated IRA landing page. Sourcing depth and premium on white metals need written confirmation.
  • Neither the custodian nor the depository is named in captured public copy. Both are decided during onboarding rather than published as fixed partners.

Who Wholesale Direct Metals fits, and who it does not

The firm is a plausible shortlist candidate when three conditions line up. The rollover buyer values a long paper trail over accreditation, and reads the accreditation gap as a discretionary choice rather than a red flag. The buyer is willing to run price discovery through the sales call and can extract second-year custodian, storage, and spread numbers in writing before funding. The buyer plans a gold-first allocation with silver or platinum as a smaller slice.

The firm is a weaker fit for buyers who put published fee transparency at the top of the criteria list. No specific dollar figure appears on public pages for any of the standard IRA fee lines. It is also a weaker fit for buyers who want a shop that has actively responded to every complaint on record. One unanswered complaint drives the A minus letter grade, and the shape of that decision is what a rollover buyer needs to weigh.

A buyer building a palladium-heavy allocation should treat this dealer as unconfirmed on that metal. Palladium is not named in the captured site copy. Confirm sourcing, IRS-eligible coin catalog, and premium in writing before you fund. If palladium is a core position, a firm that publishes palladium products explicitly may be an easier match.

When a precious-metals IRA is the wrong tool

Independent of any specific dealer, a precious-metals IRA is not the right instrument for every household. If you expect to need liquidity from the account within the next few years, physical metal is a slow asset to convert. Dealer buy-back settles at the dealer's bid, non-market days delay the quote, and depository release adds days to the wire.

If the balance you plan to roll over is small enough that a flat annual custodian fee eats a meaningful share of the balance every year, the drag can hurt more than a diversified paper portfolio would. Fee structures favor larger balances mathematically, and a small account can be a poor match for the wrapper even at a reasonable fee sheet.

If you are near or in required-minimum-distribution years, taking a distribution from a metals IRA means either liquidating enough to cover the RMD or taking an in-kind distribution of physical bullion. Both introduce timing and paperwork risk. Talk to a licensed tax advisor before you commit to the wrapper. No dealer can solve those situations.

Wholesale Direct Metals questions, answered

The answers below cite the BBB profile, the Wayback capture of the company site, and public record only. Nothing here is investment or tax advice.

Is Wholesale Direct Metals a legitimate operating business?

The firm is an operating California corporation trading from 2930 Westwood Boulevard, Suite 100 in Rancho Park. The BBB business start date is October 19, 2006, incorporation is August 30, 2007. The named principal is Edwin Solorzano, listed on the BBB profile as President and CEO. Whether the firm is the right fit for your rollover is a separate question that requires a written fee schedule before any funds move.

Why is the BBB rating A minus and not A plus?

The Reasons for Rating field on the BBB profile states directly: "Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business." That single procedural gap is what drives the letter grade down. The complaint volume itself is low, only 1 in the past three years and 0 closed in the past twelve months. The score reflects the response gap, not the volume.

Is Wholesale Direct Metals BBB Accredited?

The profile shows the firm is NOT BBB Accredited. Accreditation is a paid membership plus a code-of-conduct agreement and is discretionary. Absence of accreditation is not a red flag on its own. It is notable at nineteen years in business, because most vertical peers of that age pay for accreditation.

What fees does Wholesale Direct Metals charge on a Precious Metals IRA?

The public site does not publish a specific setup fee, first-year custodian fee, second-year custodian fee, storage fee, or spread. The homepage carries a "No Upfront or Startup Fees" promise for qualifying transactions, with no published qualifier. Request the four numbers in writing before booking the sales call: setup, first-year custodian, second-year custodian, and current bid-ask spread on the proposed coin.

What is the Wholesale Direct Metals minimum investment?

No published account minimum appears on the pages captured in the Wayback snapshot. The "qualifying transactions" language in the fee promise implies a threshold exists internally, but the specific number is not disclosed on the public site. Ask the specialist by email for the exact dollar amount that qualifies for the covered-fee program before you engage.

Does Wholesale Direct Metals offer a Silver, Platinum or Palladium IRA?

Gold, silver, and platinum are named in the captured body copy of the company site. Palladium is not named. Neither silver nor platinum has a dedicated IRA landing page in the captured navigation; both are handled inside the general Precious Metals IRA funnel. Ask for the exact IRS-eligible coin and bar catalog, the ask premium per ounce, and the current bid-ask spread on each white metal you plan to hold.

What does the Wholesale Direct Metals buy-back guarantee actually promise?

The homepage states: "Wholesale Direct Metals will buy back any metals you purchased from us at their current market value." Two clauses matter. Scope is limited to metals originally sourced through this firm, not metals bought elsewhere. "Current market value" does not clarify whether the price is the bid, the ask, or a firm-specific number in between. Ask for a live quote example in writing.

Who is the custodian and depository for a Wholesale Direct Metals IRA?

Neither the custodian nor the depository is named in the captured public copy for the firm. Both are decided during onboarding rather than published as fixed partners. Ask the specialist to name both, then request the trustee's published fee schedule and the depository's annual fee directly. Home storage of IRA metal is not permitted under federal law.

Is Wholesale Direct Metals registered with a regulator?

The BBB profile states the firm is registered with the California Attorney General as a Telephonic Seller, which requires a $100,000 statutory bond and annual registration. SEC EDGAR full-text search returned zero direct filings for the firm as of July 2026. Both results are consistent with a private, non-publicly-traded precious-metals dealer regulated primarily by state consumer-protection law.

Why are there zero customer reviews on the BBB profile?

The BBB profile records 0 customer reviews at the time of the July 2026 check. Firms in this vertical usually accumulate reviews as part of a reputation program. A count of zero after nineteen years is not itself a red flag, but it does mean the BBB profile carries no sentiment signal to balance against the complaint record. Weight the individual complaint narrative on the profile more heavily as a result.

Sources

  1. Better Business Bureau, Wholesale Direct Metals, Inc. business profile (identifier 1216-100050911, BBB of Los Angeles and Silicon Valley). Primary source for the A minus letter grade, the Reasons for Rating field ("failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business"), the NOT Accredited status, the nineteen years in business figure, the 10/19/2006 business start date, the 8/30/2007 incorporation date, the 1 complaint in the past three years, the 0 complaints closed in the past twelve months, the 0 customer reviews on the profile, the named principal Edwin Solorzano, the alternate business names "WDM Group" and "Help With Gold," and the California Attorney General Telephonic Seller registration. Live bbb.org returns 403 to a browser fetch; values retrieved with a search-engine crawler User-Agent. bbb.org profile 1216-100050911, checked July 2026.
  2. Internet Archive, Wayback Machine capture of wholesaledirectmetals.com dated August 14, 2024. Source for the "No Upfront or Startup Fees" homepage promise, the "Buy Back Guarantee" clause ("Wholesale Direct Metals will buy back any metals you purchased from us at their current market value"), the "For over 15 years" longevity claim, the three-step Transfer, Convert, Ship process, the Rancho Park corporate address, and the metals named in body copy (gold, silver, platinum). web.archive.org captures of wholesaledirectmetals.com, checked July 2026.
  3. U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, EDGAR full-text search for "Wholesale Direct Metals." Zero direct filings for the firm as a filer as of July 2026. The single hit is a 2016 S-1 filing by an unrelated issuer, Redwood Scientific Technologies, that mentions the phrase in an exhibit. efts.sec.gov full-text search, checked July 2026.
  4. State of California, Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General. The BBB verification field points to the Telephonic Seller registration statute under California Business and Professions Code sections 17511 through 17514, which requires the $100,000 surety bond named in the BBB verification field. oag.ca.gov, Consumer Protection Section, consulted July 2026.
  5. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-A, "Contributions to Individual Retirement Arrangements." Source for the general framework of self-directed IRAs and direct-transfer rules referenced in the Opening a Precious Metals IRA section. irs.gov/publications/p590a.
  6. Internal Revenue Service, Publication 590-B, "Distributions from Individual Retirement Arrangements." Source for the required minimum distribution framework and the 60-day rollover rule cited in the Bad Idea section and the How to Open section. irs.gov/publications/p590b.
  7. 26 U.S. Code Section 408(m), the statutory source for IRS fineness requirements on IRA-eligible precious metals: gold at .995 fine, silver at .999 fine, platinum and palladium at .9995 fine, with named exceptions for specific coins. law.cornell.edu, 26 USC 408.
  8. Federal Trade Commission, guidance on precious-metals investment fraud. Source for the general framework of consumer protection around telephone-based precious-metals sales at the federal level. consumer.ftc.gov, Investing in Gold, Silver, and Other Metals, consulted July 2026.
Peter gold expert at Whitemetalres.com

About the author

Peter is a seasoned analyst with a deep understanding of the precious metals market. He specializes in providing readers with up-to-date information and expert analysis on the latest trends in gold, silver, platinum, and palladium. His passion for the industry and dedication to research make him a valuable asset to the team and a trusted source of information for our readers.

Leave a Comment